Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Get Rid of HP Battery Warning

This is a discussion on Get Rid of HP Battery Warning within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. When I turn on my computer, the first thing that comes up is a message from hp that my battery


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-02-2011, 06:30 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 89
OS: vista



When I turn on my computer, the first thing that comes up is a message from hp that my battery should be replaced: "HP Battery Alert
The system has detected the storage capacity of the battery stated below to be very low.
For optimal performance, this battery may need to be replaced.
Primary (internal) Battery (601)
ENTER - Continue Startup"

Is there anyway to get rid of this without buying a new battery?

__________________
cpu1 is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 02:59 AM   #2
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,620
OS: Windows 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Take the battery out - does message still appear?

jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 05:09 AM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,937
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, if you right click on the task bar and select properties then under "notification area" you uncheck "power". This will not alert you to the possibility of a sudden shutdown, should your battery fail if you are running on battery, could lose data.

In control panel under powers settings you can use advanced to change the alert frequency for battery warnings and don't forget some systems also warn about low battery for keyboard\mouse wireless as well.
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 10:39 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 89
OS: vista



I just started without the battery in and there is no message.

What I want to do is to be able to leave my battery in and start-up without the message. Although it doesn't hold a changer long, I like to be able to un-plug and move from one spot to another.

Thanks for any help.
__________________
cpu1 is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 10:55 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 89
OS: vista



Put the batter back in and the message is back. So that's definitely the cause.
__________________
cpu1 is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 11:23 AM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,644
OS: windows 7

My System


have you tried the suggestions in post 3?
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 06:25 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 89
OS: vista



When I go into Cpanel, I click on Power Options, but there is no "advanced" suggestion. I disabled the batter icon in the notification area, but the message still comes up.

I don't think this is a Windows issue, though, since it only comes on right when I push the power button and gives an HP link.
__________________
cpu1 is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 06:58 AM   #8
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,620
OS: Windows 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Hi -

Download SysInternals AutoRuns from Microsoft TechNet - SAVE to Documents -

http://live.sysinternals.com/autoruns.exe

RIGHT-click on autoruns.exe, "Run as Administrator"

Click on "start-up" tab; look for HP-related items; un-check the box.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

`
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 03:31 PM   #9
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,937
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, when you go into your power settings select the plan you are on then "Change Plan Settings" look for "Change advanced Power settings" expand the boxes next to Battery make your changes and apply OK out.

Autoruns should show any HP additional so good idea to check that as well (JC).
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 05-12-2011, 03:38 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 89
OS: vista



Sorry for getting back to you guys so late.

Jenae, thanks for the clearer instructions. When I look in that section, it gives me options for alerts that occur in the system tray when the charge is low.

My problem is a screen that comes up as soon as I push the power button....even if I'm plugged into an outlet.

jcgriff2,

I actually have autoruns installed and when I pull-up the logon tab, this is what it shows:

These are the only things running. Pretty much the same as the startup tab in msconfig.
__________________
cpu1 is offline  
Old 05-12-2011, 04:09 PM   #11
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,620
OS: Windows 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Quote:
Originally Posted by cpu1 View Post

My problem is a screen that comes up as soon as I push the power button....even if I'm plugged into an outlet.
The screen shows up before Windows loads?

Check BIOS - see if there is some setting related to battery.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 05-12-2011, 04:23 PM   #12
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,937
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, as this is a HP take the battery out after you disconnect the mains and boot from the mains with the battery out, then simply pull the mains connector so your laptop shuts down. Replace the battery and plug the mains back reboot see how you go. There is a known issue with HP's quick launch buttons this believe it or not appears to be the solution.
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 05-15-2011, 05:44 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 89
OS: vista



Thanks a lot for your info, Jenae!

Could you clarify something for me, though? What do you mean by "Mains"? Is it the power-cord, plug-into-the-wall power?

Thanks.
__________________
cpu1 is offline  
Old 05-15-2011, 09:20 PM   #14
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,937
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, a laptop can run on the battery or the main Power supply (ie from your wall socket) the mains is connected via a transformer or directly this is a plug in cable (power cord) remove this plug in cable.
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 05-16-2011, 07:03 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 89
OS: vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi, a laptop can run on the battery or the main Power supply (ie from your wall socket) the mains is connected via a transformer or directly this is a plug in cable (power cord) remove this plug in cable.

Hey, thenaks a lot for your explanations. I have one more question before I try your method. You say to boot with the plug connected and the battery removed, then pull out the plug and reboot with the battery in.

Well, when should I pull the plug out to shut it down? During the boot, or after it has completely loaded?

Thanks again.
__________________
cpu1 is offline  
Old 05-16-2011, 05:07 PM   #16
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,937
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, wait till it has loaded , give it a minute or two make sure you have no open programs then pull the plug. With the plug out add the battery and then put the plug back in your computer will be off (after you pull the plug) so now simply restart it.
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 05-18-2011, 09:19 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 89
OS: vista



OK, I tried that and it didn't work. I even disabled the HP wireless assistant and Quicklaunch buttons from running on startup and that didn't work either.
__________________
cpu1 is offline  
Old 05-18-2011, 02:08 PM   #18
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,620
OS: Windows 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Quote:
Originally Posted by cpu1 View Post
When I turn on my computer, the first thing that comes up is a message from hp that my battery should be replaced: "HP Battery Alert
The system has detected the storage capacity of the battery stated below to be very low.
For optimal performance, this battery may need to be replaced.
Primary (internal) Battery (601)
ENTER - Continue Startup"

Is there anyway to get rid of this without buying a new battery?
That message appears to me to occur before Windows loads.

Check BIOS - any settings for battery?
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 05-19-2011, 07:12 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 89
OS: vista



I had checked the BIOS once and didn't see anything, but I'll check again to make sure.
__________________
cpu1 is offline  
Old 05-20-2011, 02:20 AM   #20
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,620
OS: Windows 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Can you post a screenshot of the message?

jcgriff2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD, atikmpag.sys
Hi! Since I installed Win7 on my new computersystem, i get these BSOD every first time on a day i start my computer. first some specs · OS - Windows 7 Ultimate · x86 · Windows 7 Ultimate · OEM · 1/2 year
emddummi BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 03-06-2011 02:55 AM
[SOLVED] Yet Another Antivira Av Virus :(
so I've gotten this virus Antivira Av that will pop up and say that I'm under attack... obviously fake. right now I'm in safe mode as i can't open anything other than the internet without Antivira closing it out. I couldn't find a save button for the Gmer log, so if necessary i can run it again...
chuckles3 Resolved HJT Threads 22 03-05-2011 10:39 PM
BSOD Problems, IQRL_Not_Less_Or_Equal; PFN_List_Corrupt; Ntfs.sys etc.
Over the past 2 months I've been having problems with BSOD's. First I tought it was just a one time thing but after five times I started to think different. I used Ccleaner and Comodo cleaner to clean up the registry but nothing helped. The one thing I did noticed was that the BSOD's were different...
Pytrik BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 9 02-28-2011 04:41 AM
computer freezes redirects to different sites on google
Please help. My computer has been running slow and many times when I upload a page it says it is not responding. The other issue is that when I do a search on google and click on the correct search,it directs me to another soliciting site. I have tried to run GMER both ways and it just will not...
lubo1 Inactive Malware Help Topics 8 02-21-2011 09:28 PM
Windows 7 BSOD - Memory management
Been getting BSOD. Sometimes twice a night, sometimes none. This hass been for weeks. Sometimes I get stuck in a reboot loop, sometimes it wants to run Repair, sometimes it wants me to choose safe mode/no safe mode. Pulled out two 1GB sticks of old dell memory yesterday when it was stuck in a...
dj-anakin BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 7 02-21-2011 03:27 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts