Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Firefox does not close when I leave the Internet

This is a discussion on Firefox does not close when I leave the Internet within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have recently been having a problem with Firefox. When I close down the Internet, and then go back and


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2013, 03:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 114
OS: Win Vista Home Premium 32-bit



I have recently been having a problem with Firefox.

When I close down the Internet, and then go back and click on the Firefox icon to restart the browser, a screen comes up that says:

"Firefox is already running, but is not responding. To open a new window, you must first close the existing Firefox process, or restart your system."

[Image of this message below.]

Since I don't know how to "close the existing Firefox process," I am having to restart the computer.

Can you please help me resolve this?

Thanks so much,

cashcqshel
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Firefox message.JPG
Views:	33
Size:	90.2 KB
ID:	143777  

__________________
cashcqshel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 04:42 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 10,903
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



Three finger salute>Start Task Manager>Applications>Choose FF and End Task

__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 02:44 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,677
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
When I close down the Internet
By closing down the internet, are your disconnecting from the internet or just closing Firefox? If you are disconnecting from the internet but not closing Firefox first, it will remain in cache and if you try to start it again, it will say it is already running. Follow Corday's suggestion and if it's not listed under the Applications tab, go to the Processes tab and End the Process.
To not have to do this each time, close Firefox First before disconnecting from the internet.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 02:51 AM   #4
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 16,770
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

it is going to be listed under the processes tab as firefox.exe*32

It happens to me quite a bit ;-)
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 07:21 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 114
OS: Win Vista Home Premium 32-bit



What is the difference between closing down the Internet and closing Firefox???

I thought that when I clicked on the "X" in the upper right hand corner of an open web page, that I was closing the Internet. If I am only closing Firefox by doing that, then how do I close the Internet first????

And/Or where do I find the Processes Tab?

I might mention that this is a problem that started recently. I did not have this issue previously. ???

Thanks for the replies!

cashcqshel
__________________
cashcqshel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 01:17 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,677
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
What is the difference between closing down the Internet and closing Firefox
That was my initial question to you. If you have limited internet and do not have an always on connection, like a Dial-Up connection that must be closed then you would want to close Firefox first before closing the internet.
If your internet connection is always on, then when you press the Red X in the Firefox browser you are closing Firefox, but your internet connection stays on.
To get to the Processes tab, you follow the instructions that Corday gave In post #2: Press CTRL+ALT+DEL at the same time and start the Task Manager, or you can Right click the Task Bar and start the Task Manager and go to the Processes tab find Firefox.exe *32 and End the Process, before starting another instance of Firefox.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 03:50 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 114
OS: Win Vista Home Premium 32-bit



I believe that I have an "always on" internet connection: AT&T DSL.

The method outlined above is now resolving the matter: Contol + Alt + Delete > Task Mgr > Processes tab, under which I close out Firefox.exe.

May I ask WHY IS THIS HAPPENING??? It is a quite new issue, and don't know that I have begun doing anything differently.

AND, is there more permanent solution, so that I do not have to resort to Task Mgr. on each occasion (which seems now to be every time I use the internet)?

Thanks so much to all of you for your very kind replies!

cashcqshel
__________________
cashcqshel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 03:55 PM   #8
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 16,770
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

Quote:
Originally Posted by cashcqshel View Post
I believe that I have an "always on" internet connection: AT&T DSL.

The method outlined above is now resolving the matter: Contol + Alt + Delete > Task Mgr > Processes tab, under which I close out Firefox.exe.

May I ask WHY IS THIS HAPPENING??? It is a quite new issue, and don't know that I have begun doing anything differently.

AND, is there more permanent solution, so that I do not have to resort to Task Mgr. on each occasion (which seems now to be every time I use the internet)?

Thanks so much to all of you for your very kind replies!

cashcqshel

it could be one of the addons (extensions) or toolbars that is keeping it active. sometimes the addons cannot keep up with firefox updates so it may not be completely compatible. You can try disabling all of them and see if it helps. You can also try deleting the cookies and cache to see if it helps. finally you can try resetting the browser to default.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 04:00 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,677
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Here is more info: firefox stays as active process after being closed as application | Firefox Support Forum | Mozilla Support
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 04:15 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 114
OS: Win Vista Home Premium 32-bit



Thanks to all of you for the very helpful information; and the links to Mozilla.

For some odd reason, it has stopped happening!?

If the issue occurs again, I will try the mozilla + safe mode solution.

Wishing all of you a truly Happy Thanksgiving!

I am grateful that I always receive such expert help for all of my computer problems here at techsupportforum!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Turkeys roasting a pilgrim.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	120.9 KB
ID:	144641  
__________________
cashcqshel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 07:37 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 114
OS: Win Vista Home Premium 32-bit



Thanks for your help, and HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

__________________
cashcqshel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Luhe.Sire.A infection
I tried to download both programs you advice to download and run, but each time I tried the pc wouldn't allow the download or even to run them direct...A pop up window said 'Item cannot be downloaded as it contained a virus'. when clicking on a tab within the message which said "Learn More" a...
Aw-Naw Resolved HJT Threads 43 06-06-2013 01:37 AM
Rootkit Issue
I recently downloaded two small utility programs and they both did their job. After I had, my default browser page became isearch.babylon and tried but failed to sort that. Then my superantispyware told me "A serious rootkit was detected on your machine" message and telling me I had to reboot to...
RayCee Resolved HJT Threads 19 10-04-2012 12:27 PM
Help with removing trojan please
Hello, I have followed the instructions, and have all required logs, all attached and pasted as requested. I do not have a boot disk as although the computer has a licensed copy it was not initially my computer. Data as requested
SimonAJ Resolved HJT Threads 29 01-04-2012 10:19 AM
Possible Virus/Trojan?
I'm having issues with ZoneAlarm not being able to activate anti-virus/anti-spyware. I've updated the a.v. database as well as the app itself to the latest versions but still cannot get av/as to activate. It remains disabled and the option to turn it on is grayed out. I'm also unable to get...
Dan V. Resolved HJT Threads 35 03-28-2011 08:29 AM
How to disable your security applications
Note: Those which do not have the instructions for re-enabling are usually re-enabled by a reboot. Once the scans are completed, be sure to Turn On "Real-Time Scanning". Adaware 10 Free/Pro Antivirus Open Ad-aware 10 Click on "Real-time Protection" in the left panel, and toggle it...
amateur Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 0 06-14-2010 01:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts