Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

failed to connect to a windows service

This is a discussion on failed to connect to a windows service within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. every so often when i turn my pc on it takes a few extra minutes to boot up, and then


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-15-2011, 12:34 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7 sp1



every so often when i turn my pc on it takes a few extra minutes to boot up, and then im greeted with a notification which says:

'failed to connect to a windows service'

i then have no wireless connections available at all. the only thing that seems to fix it is by doing a system restore to the most recent restore point, everything works fine then. however im doing this every 2 or 3 days! what is wrong with windows!? why does it seem to just change things by itself all the time. its not like im even doing a lot on it, i only use it for uni work, CAD and a bit of internet browsing (no dodgy sites either!) its brand new as well, i've only had it 3 weeks!

im using windows 7 by the way, and i have full administrator rights, im the only user account set up.

__________________
thomashomer1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 01:18 PM   #2
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Raddy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 414
OS: Windows Server 2008 (x64)/Windows 7 Home Premium (x64)



When you get into Windows, hit Windows Key + R and type in "cmd". A command prompt will pop up. When it does type:
Code:
C:\Documents and settings\user>netsh winsock reset
And press enter. Reboot your computer and see if the problem persists.

__________________
Raddy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 01:47 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7 sp1



ok cheers will give that a try and let you know if it doesnt work!
__________________
thomashomer1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 02:18 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,641
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Raddys instructions are for Windows XP. In W/7 go to Start/Search and type CMD right click the CMD.exe icon in the Search Results and Run As Administrator.
In the Command Prompt type netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt and press enter.Restart the computer. or run the Microsoft FixIt Tool
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 03:53 PM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 6,055
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, well you do need to run as administrator as Spunk said, however as you can connect I doubt it is a tcp stack problem so to repair Winsock (Reg parameters rewritten), the command:-

Code:
netsh winsock reset
(press enter) is correct for Vista Seven. BTW netsh cmds take immediately no need to restart, although I always recommend it (good practice).
__________________

jenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 10:27 PM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 6,055
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, it is also possible that your network card needs new drivers, you can get them from the manufacturers web site, or post details here we will assist.
__________________

jenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 02:27 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7 sp1



im still having the problem, every few days my computer is taking longer to boot up and im greeted with this message:


the only way i know how to fix it is by doing system restore, but i dont want to keep doing this every few days! because when i do, my antivirus software is corrupted so it needs a reinstall. also windows usually has an automatic update which sometimes ends up reversing it!
i hate windows sometimes, why does it have to keep changing itself? cant it just work? it was working when i switched it off!

i appreciate the help i have been given so far, it seems to have made it last longer than 2 days, but still not removed the problem altogether.
__________________
thomashomer1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 02:29 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7 sp1



sorry forgot to mention that my network card drivers are up to date
__________________
thomashomer1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 05:09 PM   #9
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 6,055
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, go to start, search and type eventvwr.msc press enter tell us what references your problem in event viewer. Full message please.
__________________

jenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 11:20 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7 sp1



hi jenae thanks for replying. sorry i dont understand what message you want me to give you. i have the event viewer up, and am looking at the 'summary of administrative events' tab. with 4 options, 'error' 'warning' 'information' 'audit success'
which of these lists do you want?
__________________
thomashomer1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 03:54 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7 sp1



hi, i am still stuck with this problem, it still keeps happening. any help at all?
__________________
thomashomer1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 07:05 PM   #12
Tech Hardware Team
Game Team Tech
 
tyza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,306
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium X32 X64 Windows 8 X32 X64

My System


you can copy each of the troubled events out and paste them here .

windows logs > system > problematic events

she will be looking for warnings and most likely the error ones.

start with the red error messages , you might want to look for ones specifically related to
windows service

anyway , it is possible that you might be infected if you are continuously having your system settings changing by itself as you have pointed out ,

might want to go into detail as to what other settings you came across that has changed.
__________________
tyza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 03:55 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7 sp1



i've gone into windows logs > system > but cant seem to find any problematic events. there are over 23,000 events in total but all are 'information'



sorry if im being a total idiot here, but i dont really know what im doing and getting very frustrated with this pc!

also, ive got kaspersky antivirus, and regularly scan my computer, could it still be infected?
__________________
thomashomer1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 12:28 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7 sp1



hi there, i'm still stuck with this problem. i'm restoring it every other day!

apologies if i haven't given you enough information, but as said before i'm looking through the event log details and not sure if i'm looking at the section!

im getting very annoyed with windows 7 now, why cant it just work! i might go back to ubuntu lol.

i've got kaspersky antivirus and windows essentials, both are saying virus free.
__________________
thomashomer1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 03:52 AM   #15
Tech Hardware Team
Game Team Tech
 
tyza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,306
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium X32 X64 Windows 8 X32 X64

My System


go to the step where your picture is showing , (event manager)

click on the lvl tab until all the error's are stacked together at the top ,

expand the source a bit wider and making the date tab a bit smaller at the same time,

take another screenshot then.


pressing the level tab groups events of the same level type together
__________________
tyza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 09:02 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7 sp1



hi tyza, thanks very much for replying.



i hope that helps
__________________
thomashomer1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 02:26 AM   #17
Tech Hardware Team
Game Team Tech
 
tyza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,306
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium X32 X64 Windows 8 X32 X64

My System


Go to start > control panel > administrative tools > services ,

look for Network Location Awareness and set it to automatic and start it, reboot.

i want to see the description of the kernel power error if that is possible, you can just

repeat the previous step except take a screenshot of your cursor selecting the kernel-

power error.
__________________

tyza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:01 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7 sp1



hi tyza, thanks again for responding.



i checked the network location awareness and it was already set to automatic.

i hope that helps.
__________________
thomashomer1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 12:54 AM   #19
Tech Hardware Team
Game Team Tech
 
tyza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,306
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium X32 X64 Windows 8 X32 X64

My System


Quote:
i checked the network location awareness and it was already set to automatic.

i hope that helps.
was it started though ?


the error messages seems to be since 05 of Jan.

next step :

Quote:
Try this...

Start computer in safe mode.

logon on to administrator.

Click the start button

Search "cmd.exe"

Select it and then "ctrl - shift - enter" to allow elevation request

Type in - "netsh winsock reset" press enter

Then Restart your computer
credits:mark
__________________

tyza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 02:48 AM   #20
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 6,055
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, we have already tried a winsock reset and I said then I doubt it is the problem. I suspect your network card, the kernel error is the most important. What make is the NIC that you have, open a cmd prompt as admin and type:-

Code:
systeminfo> 0 & notepad 0
(press enter)

You can delete the windows updates from the notepad file, post the rest here.

__________________

jenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help..xp bsod when i run virus scan.
Hi, this is Troy, i have windows xp with sp3 and i everytime i run a virus scan and have run multiple kinds from windows to maleware bytes...you name it. I get to a point in the scan where i get a blue screen and then computer shuts down. When i run it with out doing a scan the computer stays on....
sootherlol Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 0 02-18-2013 06:31 PM
blue screen, laptop shuts down in safe mode help
Hello, For the last few days my computer shuts down in safe mode every time i wanna do a scan, i disabled reboot and blue screen appeared with message STOP-0x0000008E(0XC0000005,0X8054B0BA,0XEDF2B754,0X00000000) first time then second time this message pxtdrpow.sys , ...
armoni75 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 1 01-27-2012 11:44 AM
"System Fix" virus hijacked computer
Hello, I’ve got a computer infected with the “System Fix” Virus. I believe the OS is Windows XP Professional. Searching the Tech Support Forum lead me to this thread: http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f50/im-in-trouble-614906.html Since that thread is getting quite long, I figured...
SilentJim Resolved HJT Threads 48 12-02-2011 09:10 AM
Slow browsing
I've had somewhat slow browsing as of late. Here are my logs: . DDS (Ver_2011-08-26.01) - NTFSx86 Internet Explorer: 8.0.6001.18702 BrowserJavaVersion: 1.6.0_22 Run by marvin glick at 2:44:06 on 2011-11-02 Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.1.2600.3.1252.1.1033.18.1982.1173 . AV:...
sailor86 Inactive Malware Help Topics 0 11-02-2011 01:53 AM
Some kind of redirect on computer (Monster Marketplace)
I don't know how this happened, but something has gotten into my computer that constantly redirects anything I click on. If I enter a search in the box, that does OK, but whenever I click on anything, there's a high likelihood that what I've clicked on won't come up - quite often, Monster...
Calgirl Resolved HJT Threads 198 05-23-2011 07:01 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts