Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

dvd/cd drive not recognized

This is a discussion on dvd/cd drive not recognized within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. i have a hp dv6747nr which does not recognize the cd/dvd drive. when i go to device manager it does


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-21-2013, 12:33 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: male
Posts: 6
OS: windows vista home premium


Evil

i have a hp dv6747nr which does not recognize the cd/dvd drive. when i go to device manager it does not list a cd/dvd drive but when i press f10 in start-up mode the cd/dvd drive is listed.

__________________
ronbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 12:51 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26,070
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Boot into Setup (Bios) on the first page, is your CD/DVD drive listed by manufacturer? If so, Try the Microsoft Fix it: Your CD drive or DVD drive is missing or is not recognized by Windows or other programs

spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 03:51 PM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,819
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, from Spunk's link you will find a suggestion to remove upper and or lower filters from the registry, this is what the fixit is supposed to do, however from experience we find it often does not work (UAC problem). To make it easier for you run this cmd first to see what's there, then we can give you one to remove what's not supposed to be there, save's you going into the registry.

Go to start, search and type:-cmd, right click on the returned cmd.exe and select "run as administrator" at the prompt type(copy paste)

Code:
reg query "HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}" > 0 & notepad 0
press enter, please post the notepad outcome here.
__________________

jenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 05:21 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: male
Posts: 6
OS: windows vista home premium



HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}
Class REG_SZ CDROM
ClassDesc REG_SZ @%SystemRoot%\System32\StorProp.dll,-17001
(Default) REG_SZ DVD/CD-ROM drives
IconPath REG_MULTI_SZ %SystemRoot%\System32\imageres.dll,-30
Installer32 REG_SZ storprop.dll,DvdClassInstaller
EnumPropPages32 REG_SZ storprop.dll,DvdPropPageProvider
SilentInstall REG_SZ 1
NoInstallClass REG_SZ 1
LowerFilters REG_MULTI_SZ PxHelp20

I HOPE I REPLIED CORRECTLY AS THIS IS ALL NEW TO ME - THANK YOU FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0000
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\Properties
__________________
ronbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 08:02 PM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,819
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, copy and paste ALL below in the code box into notepad, then in notepad go to the "File" menu select "save as" in the save box call it filter.reg and save it to desktop. Locate the saved file and double click it, agree to add to registry. Restart computer, try cd rom drive now.


Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}]
"LowerFilters"=-
__________________

jenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 05:08 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: male
Posts: 6
OS: windows vista home premium


Cry

I followed the procedure but it did not fix the problem - perhaps I have a bigger problem? Do you have any other ideas? Thanks for your help
__________________
ronbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 02:18 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26,070
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
Boot into Setup (Bios) on the first page, is your CD/DVD drive listed by manufacturer?
If not, then the CD/DVD drive is either not plugged in or it has failed.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 06:56 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: male
Posts: 6
OS: windows vista home premium


Cry

I AM NOT SURE WHAT YOU MEAN BY "BOOT INTO SETUP BIOS" BUT WHEN I RESTART COMPUTER AND HIT F10 UNDER SYSTEM CONFIGURATION, BOOT ORDER, ATAPI CD/DVD ROM DRIVE IS LISTED IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING USB FLOPPY.
THE LIGHT LIGHTS ON THE DRIVE AND IT SPINS BUT I SUPPOSE THERE COULD BE A PROBLEM WHERE IT COMMUNICATES TO THE SYSTEM. IT JUST IS VERY PERPLEXING AS I AM ANYTHING BUT A GEEK! PERHAPS I SHOULD JUST TAKE IT IN TO BEST BUY OR SOMEWHERE & PAY.
THANK YOU AGAIN FOR ALL YOUR HELP.
__________________
ronbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 02:01 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26,070
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


By Boot into Setup (Bios) I mean press F2 at bootup. In the First page it lists the Time, HDD and CD/DVD, if it is recognized. The CD/DVD spinning up, is a sign that the power plug is plugged in, but you may not have the Data cable plugged into the drive or the motherboard.
Pressing F10 gives you the boot order of what drive the computer looks for to boot from, but this shows even if the CD/DVD drives data cable is not plugged in.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 02:31 PM   #10
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,819
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, go back to my post #3 and run the reg cmd again, please post the notepad outcome here.
__________________

jenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 04:04 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: male
Posts: 6
OS: windows vista home premium



HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}
Class REG_SZ CDROM
ClassDesc REG_SZ @%SystemRoot%\System32\StorProp.dll,-17001
(Default) REG_SZ DVD/CD-ROM drives
IconPath REG_MULTI_SZ %SystemRoot%\System32\imageres.dll,-30
Installer32 REG_SZ storprop.dll,DvdClassInstaller
EnumPropPages32 REG_SZ storprop.dll,DvdPropPageProvider
SilentInstall REG_SZ 1
NoInstallClass REG_SZ 1
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0000
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\Properties
__________________
ronbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 04:43 PM   #12
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,819
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, that is how it should be, Open a cmd as admin(as shown) and copy paste :-

Code:
wmic cdrom get Name, Drive, Volumename /Format:List >0 & notepad 0
press enter, this will tell us if windows recognizes the drive. A notepad will open if it is empty we know windows does not see the drive.
__________________

jenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:14 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: male
Posts: 6
OS: windows vista home premium



It opened Notepad which did not surprise me since device manager does not even list my cd/dvd player
__________________
ronbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 05:52 AM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 9
OS: windows 7



if still problem not solved, the you need to consult a computer expert or the manufacturer company...
__________________
Julia00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 12:56 PM   #15
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26,070
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
Boot into Setup (Bios)by pressing F2 at bootup. In the First page it lists the Time, HDD and CD/DVD, if it is recognized.

spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Vertical menu
Hi, I am looking for a good way to create a nice code that will achieve the result as shown in the attached picture. The HTML code I came up with has the following: <p> <b> <span class="links"><img border="0" src="images/white-dot.png" width="14" height="16">Header 1 </span>
Acer2000 Web Design & Development 30 06-03-2013 03:50 PM
need to replace hard drive in wifes computer need some advice
Okay, Last week I accidentally dropped the wifes laptop and the hard drive is dead now. The hard drive that was in the laptop is a Toshiba mk5056gsy-- 500 gig, 7200rpm, 16mb cache, sata 3.0gbs... I have to purchase this new replacement from Newegg because of funds. I have to use my...
tony8404 Hard Drive Support 3 12-12-2011 10:11 AM
Hard Drive not properly recognized?
Hello, today I came across a rather interesting problem which is beginning to annoy me a bit. I have, or it seems I had a slave drive where I would keep files like music, photos, etc. there is no operating system on it so I'm able to use the computer without the slave drive. The problem is...
comp20 Hard Drive Support 3 07-26-2011 11:05 PM
Adding hard disk in system
My pc (XP OS) has 2 internal hardisk 250 GB (all windows file are in this disk) n 1 TB recently i formatted my pc after removing 1 tb disk. Now i want to add this 1 TB harddisk again. It has a lot of data in it. how can i do this without affecting any of my data Kindly help me with this.
gourmand Hard Drive Support 6 06-12-2011 02:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts