Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Dell laptop is Running slow

This is a discussion on Dell laptop is Running slow within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2011, 07:27 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
OS: winxp



Hello,
I have a Dell Inspiron Laptop1720 laptop with Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32-bit CPU is Intel Dual T2370 with 2GB RAM
The PC is very slow especially on the Internet, I’m using IE9. its slower than most other computers running WinXP with about 512 RAM
I ran CleanUp, CCleaner, MalwareBytes, and Avast ; I also defragged but it is very slow.
It never freezes, no error messages and no redirection problems, but it is still very slow.

Thanks in advance

__________________
lfine is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 08:05 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
TheGift73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lewes UK
Posts: 1,539
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate X64 and x86 SP1 & Windows XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to TheGift73

Hi lfine, can you try this:-

Window Key+R and type msconfig and hit OK.
Under 'Services tab', tick 'Hide all Microsoft Services' and then uncheck the remaining programs and 'Apply'
Then under 'Startup tab' - Uncheck anything not Microsoft related then 'Apply' and OK

Then reboot and see if that helps. Trying to see if a program or something else may be interfering.

Also, can you check you Device Manager for any warnings (yellow exclamation points) next to anything.
Right click on 'My Computer' and select 'Manage'. In the Computer Management window, select 'Device Manager' on the left and look for any warning signs.

__________________
TheGift73 is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 10:09 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
OS: winxp



Thank you for the reply
There are no warning signs in 'Device Manager I also turned off all the non-M$ services and startup items in Msconfig and the PC is a little faster but still does not seem to be as fast as it should on the Internet
__________________
lfine is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 10:21 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
TheGift73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lewes UK
Posts: 1,539
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate X64 and x86 SP1 & Windows XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to TheGift73

OK, go back into msconfig and recheck Avast, so it starts at boot.

Now download the Dell Diagnostics Utility and see if that spots anything after you run it.

Could you also download and run Speccy for me. Once the program has gathered the required information, go to the top of the Speccy window and do File>Publish Snapshot. Click Yes when prompted. Now copy and paste the URL address that it gives you to your next post. This way we will be able to see what Network drivers you are using and locate a possible updated one to see if that is the issue.

I take it you have tried using multiple browsers and the issue remains. Also, if you are wireless, does the issue persist when you are hard-lined.
__________________
TheGift73 is offline  
Old 06-29-2011, 07:22 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
OS: winxp



Ok I'm running the Dell Diagnostics Utility and here is the speccy info:
http://speccy.piriform.com/results/E...Tt3xd5KK3wlj7h
I have tried IE9, Safari and Chrome browsers.
I have not tried a wired connection, but I will as soon as I find a cable.
Thanks
__________________
lfine is offline  
Old 06-29-2011, 11:05 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
OS: winxp



I also found a cable and hard-lined the PC to the Internet and it is still very slow.
__________________
lfine is offline  
Old 06-29-2011, 04:48 PM   #7
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,533
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


Go to Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test and run a speed test. Since you are saying that it's your Internet that's slow, the first thing to check is your speeds. It's possible that there is something wrong on your ISP's side or with your cabling/wiring, modem, or other equipment from them.
__________________
Daifne is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 08:29 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
OS: winxp



The Dell diagnostics Utility found no errors with both the fast and full test
I used a USB drive to run the test.
The speedtest.net test shows very different speeds every time I run it?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1364696385.png


http://www.speedtest.net/result/1364698426.png

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1364854519.png
__________________
lfine is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 08:43 AM   #9
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,533
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


The third one might be OK, depending on the plan you are paying for. I would contact Comcast. Those first two test are exceptionally slow for cable service.
__________________
Daifne is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 08:48 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
DaChozenOnez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: watching you everywhere you go
Posts: 315
OS: microsoft windows xp professional service pack 3,windows 7 ultimate 32bit

My System


Pretty high upload you got there XD.
The First 2's download are waaaaayyy too low then the third ones okay.
__________________
DaChozenOnez is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 08:54 AM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
TheGift73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lewes UK
Posts: 1,539
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate X64 and x86 SP1 & Windows XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to TheGift73

Looking through your Speccy results, it looks like you also have McAfee installed, although most of it's services seem to be not running. Having more than 1 AV will cause system issues. Can you uninstall it via Add/Remove programs and then run the McAffee removal Tool. Reboot and see if that helps.
__________________
TheGift73 is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 09:55 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
OS: winxp



What if I remove Avast instead. would that be OK?
__________________
lfine is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 10:53 AM   #13
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,533
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


Avast is the better antivirus, so I would keep it. McAfee is known for being a resource hog and not very good at detection.

I still suggest that you also contact Comcast. Those speedtest numbers are not very good.
__________________
Daifne is offline  
Old 07-08-2011, 09:32 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
OS: winxp



Thank you very much for the suggestions

I removed Avast and Internet Explorer 9 and now the laptop is running great.
Now I'm using IE8 and Safari and both load the web pages extremly fast and download very fast, so I belive IE9 was causing the problem. Whatever it was everything seems to be fine now.


Thanks again for the help

__________________
lfine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Laptop is running too slow need suggestions
What is the best way to make my Dell Latitude D620 intel core 2 Duo with a :C and :D drive and Windows XP Professional operating system and Firefox as my browser run faster. I don't know how to make it run faster. I have deleted old programs and files and it still runs slow. Michael
leeone Laptop Support 2 09-04-2011 10:33 AM
Dell laptop power supply
I have a DELL INSPIRON 9400 CD1.66G/512M/60G/DVDRW+DL/M/N/WFBG/17IN. WXGA/XPH which needs a power supply. All the power supplies I have seen on Ebay and Dell, show a barrel connector that plugs into the laptop. The Dell that I have, has a different type of plug, NOT a barrel connector. The...
unclebobee Laptop Support 6 05-01-2011 09:03 PM
Unbelievable SLOW install of Win XP Pro on very old laptop (12 hours and counting ...
hi, on my very old laptop that i kept for compatibility reasons (to be able to run some old dos progs and games and win3 to win ME stuff) i am just trying to install win xp pro. the laptop has a Pentium I 233MMX and 128 MB Ram. the notebook model is the Mitac 5026. now i know xp...
7stone Windows XP Support 5 04-09-2011 02:14 AM
Dell Laptop - Expert advice requested.
Hi Forum Friends, Pls offer your expert advice on following. I have to buy a laptop and need your kind assistance in figuring out following: # I want to buy a Dell Laptop only (no other brands) Reason: It offers seamless international 3 years warranty # I would ideally love to buy i7 core...
sunandoghosh Laptop Support 2 03-30-2011 02:46 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts