Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

dell inspiron only works in safe mode

This is a discussion on dell inspiron only works in safe mode within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I don't know what happened exactly but my computer said that it was installling updates randomly and it started shutting


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2012, 07:48 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7 starter



I don't know what happened exactly but my computer said that it was installling updates randomly and it started shutting down. i let it do its thing and then when it rebooted it and i typed in my password and stuff and then when it goes to the desktop page it has a light blue color on the screen and none of the icons or the bar at the bottom with my icons down there or start button is there. it's completely clear. I was wondering if someone could help me with this problem so that i don't have to pay someone to come and fix it.

Thanks.

__________________
liveashlava is offline  
Old 05-12-2012, 08:03 AM   #2
Volunteer
 
Babbzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: India
Posts: 5,817
OS: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

My System


Hi Lava, I hope you get it fixed. I have to say, I'm not an expert.

First, give your PC specifications. And, it would be really helpful if you could attach a screenshot of what your desktop looks like now, 'cause I have no clue. By updates, you do mean Windows Update, right? Also, could you please give a more accurate description of your problem...

__________________

Submit New Articles Here

Linux User #565010

It's never about how good you are, it's about how much you can change lives.
Babbzzz is offline  
Old 05-12-2012, 08:18 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7 starter



My laptop is a mini- dell inspiron 1018. When i log in on my username, the screen comes on in a light blue color and stays that way. there aren't any icons on the screen just the color. and yeah i did mean windows update. Also when i try to shut it down i can't really access the start menu to shut it down properly so i have to press the power button to turn it off, which probably makes it worse. Then when i turn the computer back on, a screen comes up that says my computer didn't shut down properly and it asks if i want to go into a safe mode, safe mode with networking, or a safe mode with command prompt. Then below that it has an option to start windows normally. If i click start windows normally that's when the blue screen comes up and that's all you see.
__________________
liveashlava is offline  
Old 05-12-2012, 09:16 AM   #4
Volunteer
 
Babbzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: India
Posts: 5,817
OS: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

My System


Okay. Do you have any idea what update was installed? If not, go to Windows Update (via safe mode), and on the left pane, select 'View update history' and please post what updates were installed here.
__________________

Submit New Articles Here

Linux User #565010

It's never about how good you are, it's about how much you can change lives.
Babbzzz is offline  
Old 05-12-2012, 09:29 AM   #5
Volunteer
 
Babbzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: India
Posts: 5,817
OS: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

My System


Next time you boot windows, keep on tapping F8, as soon as you see the Gateway splash screen. Select advanced options or Repair Computer. Select you language then select Repair your computer. Then select system restore select a restore point before the Windows update was installed. Tell me this fixes the problem.

Give me an update.
__________________

Submit New Articles Here

Linux User #565010

It's never about how good you are, it's about how much you can change lives.
Babbzzz is offline  
Old 05-12-2012, 11:06 AM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,071
OS: XP Pro-7



Try a System Restore to a time before the updates.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 05-12-2012, 03:27 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,281
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


If you can start Windows in Safe Mode, as Tyree said, run a System Restore. Also at the Advanced Boot Menu (Safe Mode, Safe Mode with Networking etc) scroll down and as babbzz said choose Repair Your Computer. If that fails it will take you to the RE (Recovery Environment) here choose Command Prompt, type chkdsk C: /R and press enter. Check Disk will try and fix any file errors.

spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My notebook keeps booting. Can't use safe mode or run on CD
Hi I got an old Dell Inspiron E1505 here. I got a fake AVG popping up a trojan TR/ATRAPS.Gen5 a few days ago. I tried to remove it on safe mode but in vain. I must have deleted something accidentally while the notebbook was in safe mode. Now my notebook just keeps booting repeatedly. It started...
GHSC Windows XP Support 3 08-23-2011 01:51 PM
Only runs in safe, redirects even in safe, reboots in normal mode..no virus' found
I was browsing the internet the other day when I clicked on a link and my computer shut down. I immediately knew it was a bad link. My computer rebooted and it wouldn't let me on IE after that at all. I then did a restore to the previous day. I was about to get online so I went and downloaded...
KathyPem Resolved HJT Threads 9 06-29-2011 06:45 PM
ati drivers & safe mode
Hi, today i tried to install the latest ATI suite in order to update my drivers in the hopes of improving my framerate on World of Tanks. No idea if that would work but the latest drivers have to be good for something, right? The suite installed fine, all except the display drivers which came...
alanjames82 Driver Support 2 03-19-2011 11:59 PM
Dell XPS 15 vs. Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop
Inspiron 15R Laptop for 529: Intel® CoreTM i3-370M Processor (3M Cache, 2.4 GHz) 15.6" High Definition (1366x768) 1GB ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 550v 4096MB 1333MHz Dual Channel DDR3 500GB (5400RPM) Serial ATA Hard Drive Dell XPS 15 Laptop for 579: Intel® Core™ i3-370M (2.4Ghz, 4Threads, 3M...
cccap PC Gaming Support 3 01-13-2011 05:00 PM
Gateway hard drive in Compaq laptop; only works in Safe Mode
My Compaq laptop hard drive failed. The Gateway laptop motherboard failed. So, I put the Gateway hard drive (Vista) in the Compaq laptop (XP). The laptop will work in Safe Mode with Networking and has access online. It will not boot up regularly and the audio is not working. What drivers...
lobrien1216 Laptop Support 3 01-10-2011 03:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts