Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Dell Inspiron 530 - Factory Restore

This is a discussion on Dell Inspiron 530 - Factory Restore within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey Forum, So recently I have been trying to reset my PC to Factory Settings and i've googled upon tons


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-06-2011, 08:31 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Vista



Hey Forum,
So recently I have been trying to reset my PC to Factory Settings
and i've googled upon tons of searches and I found out how to
So I hold down F8, it takes me to 'Advanced Boot'
and I go onto 'Repair PC' after that, it just
loads up my PC normally, as if I have just switched it back on.

My PC is :
DELL Inspiron 530 Vista (32-bit)



Full PC Specifications:
Operating System
MS Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit SP2
CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2.00GHz
Conroe 65nm Technology
RAM
2.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 332MHz (5-5-5-15)
Motherboard
Dell Inc. 0RY007 (Socket 775)
Graphics
RZ15LA70 (1024x768@70Hz)
Intel(R) G33/G31 Express Chipset Family
Hard Drives
244GB Seagate ST3250820AS ATA Device (SATA)
Optical Drives
HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GSA-H31N ATA Device
Audio
Realtek High Definition Audio


Thanks,
Ryan Williams.

__________________
Partian is offline  
Old 07-06-2011, 09:07 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Vista



bumpZZZZZ

__________________
Partian is offline  
Old 07-06-2011, 09:09 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Phou's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA-RI
Posts: 607
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit



If you right click "Computer" and select manage, under Storage>Disk Management do you still see more than 1 partition beside C: ?
__________________
Phou is offline  
Old 07-06-2011, 09:10 AM   #4
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,898
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

It's not F8 . . usually F12 on newer Dells

If you have the Dell System restore ( not all Dells do ) you can use that and you will not need a install CD

Dell - Technical Support

If not, You can get a reinstallation guide specific to your Dell here

You can request a replacement instalation cd here:
Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-06-2011, 09:10 AM   #5
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 11,076
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



Dell usually supplies an OS disc. Just use that instead of the partitioned version. Backup needed files first.
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 07-06-2011, 09:36 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Rich View Post
and welcome to the Forum

It's not F8 . . usually F12 on newer Dells

If you have the Dell System restore ( not all Dells do ) you can use that and you will not need a install CD

Dell - Technical Support

If not, You can get a reinstallation guide specific to your Dell here

You can request a replacement instalation cd here:

Unfortunately, I can't request for another re-installation disc due to my PC being VERY old, 5+ years old to be exact, and it is out of warranty.

I searched Google for my specific model '530' and it told me to hold down F8 and it went fine then it started my pc up normally..
__________________
Partian is offline  
Old 07-06-2011, 09:39 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Phou View Post
If you right click "Computer" and select manage, under Storage>Disk Management do you still see more than 1 partition beside C: ?
It won't let me right clcik it :o
:(
__________________
Partian is offline  
Old 07-06-2011, 09:41 AM   #8
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,898
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Partian View Post
Unfortunately, I can't request for another re-installation disc due to my PC being VERY old, 5+ years old to be exact, and it is out of warranty.

It does not have to be in Warranty . .

I searched Google for my specific model '530' and it told me to hold down F8 and it went fine then it started my pc up normally..


Google lied . .
Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-06-2011, 09:43 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Rich View Post
Unfortunately, I can't request for another re-installation disc due to my PC being VERY old, 5+ years old to be exact, and it is out of warranty.

It does not have to be in Warranty . .

I searched Google for my specific model '530' and it told me to hold down F8 and it went fine then it started my pc up normally..


Google lied . .
Fine, i'll try your way.
Also, I can't get a new disc because i'm in the UK, and it won't let me change the country, it only has AMERICAN STATES.
__________________
Partian is offline  
Old 07-06-2011, 09:45 AM   #10
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,898
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Partian View Post
Fine, i'll try your way.
Also, I can't get a new disc because i'm in the UK, and it won't let me change the country, it only has AMERICAN STATES.
I missed that in your original post . . see this:

How To Request Backup CDs for Your Dell Computer | Dell

Any chance you can either borrow antoher Dell Vista installation disc, or install Windows 7
Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-06-2011, 11:33 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Rich View Post
I missed that in your original post . . see this:

How To Request Backup CDs for Your Dell Computer | Dell

Any chance you can either borrow antoher Dell Vista installation disc, or install Windows 7
No can do, sorry :(

also it wasn't F12 so you lied.
it lads Boot First menu
__________________
Partian is offline  
Old 06-14-2012, 01:44 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 34
OS: Win 7 HP SP1



Hi Partian,

I understand that you have a Dell system, Inspiron 530 Vista (32-bit) and you wish to run a factory image restore on your system. I do understand your concern and would personally look into the matter and resolve it to the best of your satisfaction.

In order to run the factory image restore on your system, I would request you to kindly follow the steps mentioned below:

Remove all external peripherals that are not required to operate the system. This may include, but is not limited to:
Network cable
Modem cable
Printers
Scanners
External drives
Third-party devices

* The data on your computer will be lost during this step.

* It is suggested that you back up your important data before performing these steps.

* Please remove all the external devices except Keyboard, Mouse, Monitor and Power cord.

1. Restart the computer.
2. Start tapping F8 when you see the Dell Logo.
3. Select REPAIR YOUR COMPUTER.
4. Click NEXT on System Recovery Options.
5. Click on OK to confirm the Administrator Login and Password [Leave the password blank if none is set by you].
6. Click on Dell Factory Image Restore.
7. Click on NEXT.
8. Check on 'YES, Reformat hard drive'. Click NEXT.
9. The process will take 10-15 minutes to complete.
10. Once done, click on FINISH to conclude.

The computer is ready to be used as new as from Dell.
In case you still have any questions or queries, please feel free to revert back to this post.


Glad to Help.

Thanks,

Abhishek

Dell | Social Media Outreach Professional | Global Social Media & Community

__________________
DELL-Abhishek V is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issues restoring dell inspiron 1750 to factory settings
I have a Dell Inspiron 1750 that has a virus. I am trying to restore my computer to factory settings by hitting f8 while it is booting up. I hit repair your computer but it takes me to a screen that says other user and won't let me log in with any user name or password. How do I get around that to...
Courtneyreneee Laptop Support 6 06-28-2011 08:17 AM
[SOLVED] BSOD -- NETIO.SYS
I've been having these bluescreens for a little while now, and after numerous attempts at seeing if solutions for cases similar to mine would fix it, it keeps coming back. So, now I'm here. Anyway, here's the requested info: OS: Windows 7 32-bit The original OS was WinXP WinXP was OEM, the...
mackncheesiest BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 06-04-2011 06:35 PM
BSOD: BCCode 50
I'm experiencing bluescreens every 2 - 5 days with BCCode 50. I followed your recommendation using Driver Verifier and encountered a bluescreen on re-boot. Attached .dmp file was created. Will appreciate your assistance to resolve the issue. Thanks!
terrgood BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 7 06-04-2011 04:26 AM
[HELP]BSoD Error With Unknown Driver kskvhx.sys
051611-33571-01.dmp 5/16/2011 9:27:12 AM DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL 0x000000d1 0xbea77000 0x00000002 0x00000000 0x83e30ccb kskvhx.sys kskvhx.sys+4ccb 32-bit C:\Windows\Minidump\051611-33571-01.dmp 1 15 7600 145,888 This is my minidump after a BSoD :/ I can't find the driver for...
IzFluffy BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 05-18-2011 01:54 AM
Vista Dell factory image restore help
lately my dell has been giving my allot of problems, very slow, and most of all crashing randomly, sometimes an hour after using it but most of the time seconds after logging in or as soon as I log in. I wanted to restore it to format my hard drive but I couldn't because my OS was on my :C drive. I...
Lockedown Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 3 04-02-2011 02:58 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts