Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Computer won't stay asleep?

This is a discussion on Computer won't stay asleep? within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. For the longest time, now, my computer has been unable to stay in sleep mode. Any time I put it


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-07-2011, 03:15 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7



For the longest time, now, my computer has been unable to stay in sleep mode. Any time I put it in sleep mode, it will stay asleep for maybe 3-5 minutes, and then it pops back on. It didn't do this at first, and I can't really think of anything I had installed or changed that would cause this to occur.

I had given up on solving the issue, because I just couldn't figure it out. But now it's annoying me again. Earlier today, I looked through some of my installed programs that run in the background, and I made sure to close all of them, thinking one (or more) of them might be causing the computer to continually wake up, but nothing changed...

I don't suspect I have any kind of malware, as I've had this issue for a long time, now, and I haven't had any other problems or issues (not to mention, I do frequent virus scans on my machine). I just can't figure out what it keeps doing this...

__________________
indestructible is offline  
Old 10-07-2011, 04:09 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



I would guess at a software program running in the background or maybe an update service for a piece of software. Is your mouse getting moved while the computer's asleep? Go into Control Panel and Power Options and recheck your settings for sleep and hibernation.

__________________

Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 10-07-2011, 04:34 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7



Nope, the mouse doesn't get moved, and Power Options appears to be fine.
__________________
indestructible is offline  
Old 10-07-2011, 04:49 PM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



When you don't need the computer for a little while, try disconnecting it from the internet and see if it sleeps.

You could also try booting it into Safe Mode and just leave it on so it goes to sleep. Power on the computer, keep tapping the F8 key, then select Safe Mode.
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 10-08-2011, 12:24 AM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,987
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, when it comes out of sleep go to start search, and type:- cmd, right click on the returned cmd.exe and select "run as administrator" at the prompt type:-


powercfg -lastwake (press enter)
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 10-08-2011, 09:13 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi, when it comes out of sleep go to start search, and type:- cmd, right click on the returned cmd.exe and select "run as administrator" at the prompt type:-


powercfg -lastwake (press enter)
I did that, but it didn't really show me anything useful.
__________________
indestructible is offline  
Old 10-08-2011, 03:19 PM   #7
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,987
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, do it again this time (copy paste):-

Code:
powercfg -lastwake>0 & notepad 0
paste the outcome here.
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 10-08-2011, 04:24 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7



This?

Wake History Count - 1
Wake History [0]
Wake Source Count - 0

That's all it shows. Doesn't seem like much...
__________________
indestructible is offline  
Old 10-08-2011, 05:38 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
OS: Vista Premium



I had the same problem with Vista a couple of years ago but was able to correct it in Device Manager. Expand Network Adapters, then bring up their properties, and on the Power Management tab uncheck "allow this device to wake the computer".

And if you live on the west coast of Californie, you may want to do the same adjustments to your mouse properties. :-)

__________________
Morty100 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] help!!!! guy gone crazy with bluscreans!!!:@:@
i have an intel dh55hc motherboard in my pc i built my pc during summertime and at that time i got the patriot ram ... the whole stock had problems .. (they work with onestick bt the pc wont boot with 2 sticks) so i had a stick of 2gigs of that ram .. then i upgraded it with a kingston ram ..and...
avok95 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 21 11-17-2013 06:14 AM
Computer won't stay started.
My computer won't stay started. It is a 3 year old PC and was built by a person that has since moved away. I was not given any of the software or driver CD/DVD's or manuals to get any information about the computer other than the Windows XP OS CD and its COA sticker. I just know that it was...
newbie12345 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 12 09-30-2011 05:01 AM
System Tool Infection - please help
I seem to have acquired a virus (?) called System Tool on my new laptop and would very much appreciate your help. I'm afraid I do not have much technical knowledge, so please bear with me! I have visited the Virus/Trojan/Spyware Removal Help forum and am working my way through the "New...
Rosie Rabbit Resolved HJT Threads 31 02-20-2011 06:35 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts