Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Computer starts to boot up then shuts off.

This is a discussion on Computer starts to boot up then shuts off. within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I run Vista Home Premium and am having the same problem. Removed RAM sticks and re-inserted...seemed to work for a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-22-2012, 04:56 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
OS: Vista Home Premium



I run Vista Home Premium and am having the same problem. Removed RAM sticks and re-inserted...seemed to work for a while. A few times has come up with
Warning!!!The previous performance of overclocking is failed, and the system is restored to the default setting,
Press any key except "DEL" to enter SETUP.
Do that and it boots and works for a few days...then probs again.

__________________
bfbir is offline  
Old 04-22-2012, 05:35 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,347
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Do not hijack someone else's thread. I have moved you to your own thread.
Boot into Setup (Bios) and if you tried overclocking, reverse it, set the Bios to Defaults.
Other then that, shutting down means it's either overheating or the Power Supply Unit is failing. Blow out all fans with compressed air, when you start the computer, make sure all fans are spinning. Look at the label of the PSU and report the make, model# and Wattage.

spunk.funk is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 03:48 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
OS: Vista Home Premium


Cry

Sorry...been a member for a while but new used the Forum before...lesson learnt.
__________________
bfbir is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 01:19 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,347
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
label of the PSU and report the make, model# and Wattage.
did you solve your problem? If not, can you please answer the question in the quote? Have you cleaned your computer out of dust?
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 03:57 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
OS: Vista Home Premium



ISO Switching Power Supply, Model:ISO-500. Max o/p power 350W.
All fans appear clean and are running. It has been booting up fine the last few day. I suspect the power ON Button might be suss (or the PSU itself) as a few times in the past the button appeared not to activate correctly. I have been into the BIOS and set all settings to Default.
__________________
bfbir is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 09:26 PM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


What is the make and model of your machine? If custom build brand and model of your motherboard and graphics card if you have one?
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 01:48 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,347
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


If you feel it is the power button on the PSU then replace the PSU. The PSU is the most important part of your computer, if it fails, it can take all of the hardware with it. Get a 550 Watt PSU.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 05-05-2012, 04:58 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
OS: Vista Home Premium



It is a Leader Visionary 6380 with an MSI 2600PRO mother board with ATI Teadon graphics on board. I have just ordered a 680W PSU and will se how that goes. Thanks.
__________________
bfbir is offline  
Old 05-05-2012, 09:49 PM   #9
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


What is the wattage and brand and model of you PSU. If your PSU is a Leader Visionary 6380 I can not find it on google. The Graphics card you have has a 600Mhz core GPU may as well be way to over powering for your current PSU.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 05-06-2012, 12:49 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,347
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
ISO Switching Power Supply, Model:ISO-500. Max o/p power 350W.
Jack, the OP listed his PSU in post #5

spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts