Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Computer Stalling When Playing Media

This is a discussion on Computer Stalling When Playing Media within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. *Warning: I am a heavy writer, this post risks being very long in order to insure that no details are

Closed Thread

Old 08-20-2012, 09:33 AM   #1
Registered Member

*Warning: I am a heavy writer, this post risks being very long in order to insure that no details are missed*

Hello,

I would like to seek help regarding an issue that I've started having a couple months ago but could not as of yet remedy. As mentioned in the title, the issue is a large drop in frame rate whenever viewing any kind of active media.

The problem began upon reconfiguration of a video game, specifically Tribes: Ascend, which I did in order to better fit my system specifications (will be posted at the bottom). I had been playing around with settings to get the best balance of performance and aesthetic pleasure, but overall decided that the lowest possible graphical settings were the only way to enjoyable play the game. However, after changing this, I noticed heavy frame rate drops whilst in-game. I would be able to play a few minutes of the game regularly followed by a massive drop down to 1-2 FPS.

Originally, I thought the issue was specific to this game. Thus I began inquiries and found that the game isn't optimized very well, creating strain on the CPU. But this did not explain why the problem started at the time it did, considering it was running fine for several months prior, nor did it give me a solution.