Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Computer keeps restarting on shutdown

This is a discussion on Computer keeps restarting on shutdown within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. ​I just built my first computer. It keeps restarting when I go to shut it down via windows, the actual


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2012, 11:12 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
OS: windows 7 home premium



​I just built my first computer. It keeps restarting when I go to shut it down via windows, the actual shutdown button, and even if I select to put it to sleep it wakes back up right away. I updated the bios, reset the cmos, checked to make sure that it should actually shutdown when I select shutdown in the settings, check to make sure I didn't have my reset and shutdown wires backwards in the motherboard. I'm kind of out of ideas on what to do. I'm not getting any errors and other than it restarting when I want to shut it down or sleep it works fine.

System is:
Amd fx6100
gigabye 970a-d3
g.skilll 12mb ram
galaxy gefore 430gt
585w x-power psu
windows 7 home premium 64 bit

__________________
ptw78 is offline  
Old 03-22-2012, 11:23 AM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


Check your PSU and the power cables. Your PSU might be faulty. Try another PSU to diagnose it.

__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 08-05-2012, 05:37 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
OS: Windows7 64bit



I have the same problem. My mb died and I replaced it with a gigabyte 970a-d3. Tried replacing the power supply, updating the bios, disabling any wake from LAN or mouse options in the bios and in my network adapter settings, changing the properties of the shutdown button, using the restart button as the power button (switched the wiring on the mb), and changing the system recovery options in settings. Nothing worked and tech support said I need to do a clean install, but I don't want to have to reinstall all my programs. I also updated the mb drivers and graphics card drivers. any suggestions anyone?
__________________
Rhino films is offline  
Old 08-05-2012, 10:04 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
OS: Windows7 64bit



OK I isolated the problem to an IDE controller card I'm using. The card doesn't even have to be connected to the hard drive ribbon cable - once it's in the slot, the restart problems continue. I tried a different PCI -Express slot and same thing.

Any ideas besides getting a new controller card?
__________________
Rhino films is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 06:50 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
OS: Windows7 64bit



Turned out to be a bad IDE controller card. Got a different one and now all is well. I hate computers.

__________________
Rhino films is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard behaves different (while it' still on USA (international) settings)
Hi, since a week or so my keyboards behave differently. I've got an Acer laptop (5715Z) with a wireless Logitech keyboard (K350). What's different is acctually the behavement of just one key, namely the '' and "" key. Before something (and I obviously don't know what) happened, if I tapped...
Twump Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 23 03-30-2012 07:27 AM
Computer Shutting Down Abruptly When Putting In A DVD Into The DVD Player
Hello, Whenever I put in a disc to play into the DVD player this causes my computer to shut off. This Doesn't happen everytime I put a disc in but it occurs more often than not. This is all types of discs that this occurs. Help! Thanks Dana
danamcafee Removable Media Drives 3 03-22-2012 04:51 PM
[SOLVED] Cannot access my Server from one laptop - ok on others
Hi My set up has been working fine for the last year or so: Headless server running WHS which streams wirelessly to MediaCentre PC (Windows 7) Laptop running Windows XP which connects wirelessly to the Server. The set up was to reconnect at login, by mapping 2 drives (X, Y) to particular...
cronshd Networking Support 11 03-22-2012 03:07 PM
Video card causing to freeze computer
I have a Evga gtx 3072mb pcie duh and when I use evga precision to up my video performance, I didn't really know what I was doing but I turned it up all the way. And then heftier my driver failed or my computer just straight froze and I would have to manually restart my computer. Evga gtx 3072mb...
Laxdrum Video Card Support 1 03-22-2012 09:24 AM
doubt on google DNS
hi i need a small suggestion i'd heard about google dns server with which our browsing speed can be increased,:rofl::rofl: my doubt is,:facepalm::facepalm: is it legal to use that google dns?:confused:
b.tulsirao Networking Support 3 03-22-2012 09:24 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts