Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

CD-ROM Boot Priority No Medium

This is a discussion on CD-ROM Boot Priority No Medium within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. The thread title basically sums it up I am having this message pop up on boot also with a black

Closed Thread

Old 11-26-2009, 05:18 PM   #1
Registered Member

The thread title basically sums it up I am having this message pop up on boot also with a black screen. I am not very tech savvy so bear with me. I have also Googled my problem but have not found a solution. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 11-26-2009, 05:54 PM   #2
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team

OS: Windows Server 2008 (x64)/Windows 7 Home Premium (x64)

If I'm understanding you correctly, when you try to boot, your computer tells you that there is no CD to boot from?

If this is the case, you need to go into your BIOS and change a setting. To access your BIOS, when you first boot up your computer, a message somewhere on screen will say "Press [key] to enter setup" or something similar. Often times, it's the delete key.

Once you do this, a blue screen will come up that you can navigate around. This is your BIOS. Since BIOS menus vary from motherboard to motherboard, you'll have to do a bit of searching on your end, but you're looking for a a setting that refers to "Boot Priority" or "Boot Sequence." When you find this, you need to move your primary hard drive to the top of the list. Save your changes and exit, whereupon your computer will automatically reboot. Your hard drive will now be the first thing your computer tries to boot from. Please note, if you ever need to boot from a CD or DVD in the future (your Vista installation disc, for example), you will need to go back and change this setting. Hope this helps, let us know how it goes.

Old 11-26-2009, 07:05 PM   #3
Registered Member