Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

C:\Windows\system32\config\systemprofile\Desktop

This is a discussion on C:\Windows\system32\config\systemprofile\Desktop within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys: Vista wont pick up this folder says try looking on disk or network for it. I went to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-28-2009, 07:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



Hey guys:

Vista wont pick up this folder says try looking on disk or network for it.

I went to user account and copy pasted the desktop folder into systemprofile

rebooted and everything looked good, but not for long!

The system then started dumping every program 1 at a time until i ended up blue screened.

HELP please, 2 days messing with this and its doing my head in.


__________________
BradDark is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 08:39 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,921
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86, VISTA SP2 x64 & x86, Windows XP SP3

My System


Welcome to TSF.
I don't know if I can help but why are you trying to do this? I don't believe that Desktop belongs in that folder.

__________________
Lead3 is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 08:53 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Lead3 View Post
Welcome to TSF.
I don't know if I can help but why are you trying to do this? I don't believe that Desktop belongs in that folder.
Ok, I have read on other forums that you just copy your desktop folder from your user folder and paste it into the systemprofile folder, the mistake I made was I didnt tell it to remember the older INI file, so now i have the new desktop folder in there.

From what I have read I believe it belongs there? But I really have no idea.

Do you know where it is suppost to be?

Cheers Brad
__________________
BradDark is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 09:10 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,921
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86, VISTA SP2 x64 & x86, Windows XP SP3

My System


What purpose did the other forums say would be accomplished by coping this folder there? I'm just trying to understand what they are trying to do.

Paul
__________________
Lead3 is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 09:28 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Lead3 View Post
What purpose did the other forums say would be accomplished by coping this folder there? I'm just trying to understand what they are trying to do.

Paul
Hey Paul:

Take a peek at this post
http://forums.techguy.org/windows-vi...32-config.html

I did this, except I didnt set the INI file correctly so now I think Im screwed.
__________________
BradDark is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 10:00 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,921
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86, VISTA SP2 x64 & x86, Windows XP SP3

My System


Hi Brad,
Thanks for the link.
I didn't see that folder because in x64 it is in C:Windows\SysWOW64\config\...

Have you tried a system restore point before all the bad stuff happened?
__________________
Lead3 is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 11:24 PM   #7
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 6,053
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, this is one area where chkdsk is most helpful, if you cannot boot to windows (even safe mode) then use the vista dvd and run repair my computer option select command prompt. The command you want to run is chkdsk /r .
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 03:12 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi, this is one area where chkdsk is most helpful, if you cannot boot to windows (even safe mode) then use the vista dvd and run repair my computer option select command prompt. The command you want to run is chkdsk /r .
Nup, didnt fix , problem started after I installed norton , dagnangit!


What to do now ?
Major prob if I have to re-form the dang thing. So exhaust all avenues first.

__________________
BradDark is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts