Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Blurry/White horizontal line on display

This is a discussion on Blurry/White horizontal line on display within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. The computer is a Dell Inspiron 1525 Laptop Computer running Windows Vista. Last night a small white line randomly appeared


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2010, 09:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista


Mistake

The computer is a Dell Inspiron 1525 Laptop Computer running Windows Vista.
Last night a small white line randomly appeared underneath the taskbar, bumping it up a millimeter and then it grew and covered the whole taskbar and parts above it as shown in the pictures (attatched).
This white line shakes a bit and reflects the actions of the mouse (Pic 2).

I restarted the computer to see if it would fix it but instead, i got a BSoD when the computer turned back on.

Can you please tell me the resolutions to this and if you need any further info ill post it.
Nick
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo0084.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	140.3 KB
ID:	84535   Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo0085.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	79.7 KB
ID:	84536  

__________________
nrjensen is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 11:04 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,208
OS: Windows 7 SP1



If possible go ahead and send a crash dump over. Though honestly that looks like the backlight on the monitor has gone crazy, or perhaps a video problem, so the bsod may be unrelated. Still doesn't hurt to try.

At least from the pictures that looks like it's a physical light being emitted from the back (kinda like the monitor went bonkers there on the bottom) and less of a software predicament. Again though, best to test out software possibilities before considering it hardware.

__________________
VirGnarus is offline  
Old 01-01-2011, 02:54 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista



Sorry, never had this problem before, how do i send a crash dump?
__________________
nrjensen is offline  
Old 01-01-2011, 08:34 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
 
reventon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5,177
OS: Windows 7 x64, XP, Fedora



Hi,

Please follow the http://www.techsupportforum.com/f217...ml#post2545708 to get the crash dumps to us.

Attach the .zip file to your next post in this thread.
__________________
reventon is offline  
Old 01-02-2011, 03:36 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista



Heres the info for BSoD attached - I think i have to add this but i wasnt sure of all the questions.

·
OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ? Vista
· x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? 32 bit
· What was original installed OS on system? Vista
· Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? Pre-Installed
· Age of system (hardware) 2 years approx
· Age of OS installation - have you re-installed the OS? N/A
· CPU ???
· Video Card ???
· MotherBoard ???
· Power Supply - brand & wattage Dell 65 Watt Charger
Attached Files
File Type: zip Results.zip (2.35 MB, 15 views)
__________________
nrjensen is offline  
Old 01-03-2011, 01:39 AM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus
 
reventon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5,177
OS: Windows 7 x64, XP, Fedora



Hi,

Graphics driver is out of date, it could be a factor here:
Code:
igdkmd32.sys Thu Jan 03 05:48:24 2008 (477BC058)
See if you can find an update - http://support.dell.com/support/inde...=us&l=en&s=dhs

However, re-reading the original post and looking at the images, this does appear to be a hardware problem, most likely with the screen.

Connect an external monitor if possible and see if the same problem occurs.

Regards,
Reventon

BUGCHECK SUMMARY
Code:

Built by: 6002.18267.x86fre.vistasp2_gdr.100608-0458
Debug session time: Sat Jan  1 05:57:49.978 2011 (GMT+13)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:10:02.730
Probably caused by : ntkrpamp.exe ( nt!CmpGetValueKeyFromCache+119 )
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x8E
PROCESS_NAME:  WmiPrvSE.exe
Bugcheck code 1000008E
Arguments c0000006 84ab2053 c133ab04 00000000
¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
__________________
reventon is offline  
Old 01-03-2011, 03:34 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista



Hey a quick message, i used the main computers monitor and it is fine on that. I guess this means I need to physically replace something?
Will I have to replace the screen or something inside it and how can i find out?
This is almost solved so thanks guys :)
__________________
nrjensen is offline  
Old 01-04-2011, 01:27 AM   #8
TSF Team Emeritus
 
reventon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5,177
OS: Windows 7 x64, XP, Fedora



To me it looks like either a screen, backlight or inverter problem. I will ask our resident laptop experts to come take a look.
__________________
reventon is offline  
Old 01-04-2011, 02:43 AM   #9
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,089
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Hello nrjensen,

Are you willing to take your laptop apart???

It is going to be necessary to troubleshoot the rest of your issue.

The issue here is looking like it is likely a cable or LCD panel issue. The first thing we need to do is check the cable.

Here is a link to the service guide for your review...

http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...n/SM/index.htm

You will need to remove the display, split the bezel, and reseat the cable at both ends to start.

GZ
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 12:09 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista



Ok, I can take it apart, can you tell me what to do exactly please.
__________________
nrjensen is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 09:44 AM   #11
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,089
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Before you disassemble anything,

Open the laptop's lid to it's furthest open position.
Slowly close it and reopen it. look for changes in the display.
Apply light torsional pressure to the upper right corner of the display and note any change.
Let us know of any change.

The first thing to do... using the service manual as reference, is re-seat the cable's motherboard connection. Remove the connection check the socket for damage or dirt build up and reconnect it, making sure it is properly seated.
Also, check to be sure the cable is not pinched in the hinge area
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 07:46 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista



ok, opening and closing the lid slowly doesn't show any changes and applying pressure does nothing either.
Also, the line constantly 'jumps' a few millimeters every 3 seconds.

Ill open the laptop and reseat the cable cconnection.
__________________
nrjensen is offline  
Old 01-13-2011, 07:57 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista



Hey everyone, i didnt want to open up my computer for a while so i dealt with it. Luckily for me, the problem has reduced to being only about 2mm high so i can barely notice it. The rest should also disappear soon im guessing.

Thanks for all your help

__________________
nrjensen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts