Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Accidentally deleted a draft e-mail in Yahoo

This is a discussion on Accidentally deleted a draft e-mail in Yahoo within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello I have had the 'good fortune' today of deleting a LONG e-mail that I was composing to my brother


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2011, 12:20 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
KristyGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 13
OS: Vista



Hello

I have had the 'good fortune' today of deleting a LONG e-mail that I was composing to my brother in Yahoo Mail. I had started the e-mail and shortly after clicked on 'Save as Draft', which I typically do in long messages. I do know that Yahoo periodically resaves e-mails in draft format at regular intervals. I highlighted the info. in the message to simply enlarge the font and must have accidentally hit 'any key' because the message was gone. I went to my drafts folder and it was in there, but only the name of who I was sending it to and the title were remaining. Aaaarrrrrrggggghhhhhhhhh!!!! Ok, now that I've gotten that out of my system, I am wondering if anyone has had this experience and knows of a solution. I tried to see if the Edit, Undo option was available before I went to my draft folder and it was not. Yahoo had a form in its help section where it will attempt to help you restore your e-mails, but it doesn't specify if it's just your inbox ones, or all email folders, including drafts. I also wonder if it will give you the drafts from all time intervals saved. Just some thoughts. I did fill out the form with fingers, eyes and toes crossed. But if anyone has thoughts or suggestions, please share! I welcome them with open arms! Thank you in advance!!

__________________
KristyGirl is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 07:15 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,349
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


This is what Yahoo says

spunk.funk is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 07:18 PM   #3
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 17,261
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

if you were typing it online then it is gone since it was just a draft.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 09:58 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
KristyGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 13
OS: Vista



Well unfortunately that was what I was afraid of. But at least I know to be more careful in the future with regards to these lengthy emails. I am gonna try to redo the email tomorrow and who knows, it may be better than the original. An eternal optimist I am. Thanks for all of the input, it sure did help answer my question. God bless!
__________________
KristyGirl is offline  
Old 07-10-2011, 03:38 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Windows XP



Kristy, a similar thing happened to me today. I was adding information to an already existing Yahoo draft. I wasn't aware I'd done anything wrong or different. I closed everything out, shut down the computer, and then later today when I booted up to add more information to it, the entire content of the draft was gone; only the subject line remained. However, it still said that the size of the draft was 56kg. I was stunned. I looked online, saw your post, but didn't find any helpful information at all. In desperation, I brought up the draft, right clicked where the body of the draft should have been, and saw a few options. I chose "select all", then right clicked again and chose "view selection source." Believe me, I didn't know what I was doing. But a small window opened up at the top of the screen, and there was my deleted draft! The format was all messed up and there was a lot of added gobbledegook about fonts, etc. I'm now trying to clean it up to see if it's all there. If you still have your empty draft, maybe this can work for you as well. Good Luck.
Vicki

__________________
vicki59 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Infections / Malware / rundll32.exe error
My computer was last used by someone to download games and watch videos on the internet. The next thing I know, there were pop-ups. I am constantly getting these fake spyware removal pop ups. I tried going into control panel/add-remove programs and I get a 'rundll32.exe' error message. I used...
6one9 Resolved HJT Threads 54 05-16-2011 06:06 AM
Vista scurity 2011 virus
hello everyone, i dont know how i got this virsu as ii have not downloaded anything the past few days, but suddenly the vista secutiry 2011 popped up, disabling me from getting on the internet, except when i spam the tab button, i sometimes get a tab that works. anyways, i cant seem to get rid...
yaright35 Inactive Malware Help Topics 10 05-02-2011 06:43 AM
"Internet Protection" malware problem. Help
Hello I have a problem with my laptop which is running on Windows 7. I do not have access to the windows disc/boot disc. Two days ago a small window popped up with the title of "Internet Protection" and in the small window of it, it looked like this program was running a scan and finding...
poorscousertomy Resolved HJT Threads 11 04-17-2011 10:21 AM
google site gets redirected
IT usually takes forever to load any page. When i do a search on google it redirects me to another search engine. Sometimes loading pages is instant, and sometimes takes ten minutes. Here is my sytem info: running windows vista home premium edition HP Model:a6457c AMD Phenom(tm) 8400...
litomagik Resolved HJT Threads 14 04-15-2011 08:24 AM
"Antivirus Scan"
Hello. I have a Dell Inspiron E1505 with Windows XP. I recently got two viruses, the Anti malware doctor and antivirus scan. I was able to get rid of the anti malware doctor, but not the antivirus scan. When I turn on my computer, a fake program comes up saying that my computer is infected and...
willc38 Resolved HJT Threads 26 01-11-2011 11:11 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts