Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

What kind of RAM do I need?

This is a discussion on What kind of RAM do I need? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have an HP Pavilion with an AMD Sempron 2800 1.6 ghz and this information in relation to my motherboard:


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2011, 12:17 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
OS: windows XP home edition service pack 3



I have an HP Pavilion with an AMD Sempron 2800 1.6 ghz and this information in relation to my motherboard: Board: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD MS-7253 1.00
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG 07/03/2006
I currently have one 512MB stick and would like to upgrade to 2 1GB sticks if possible.

__________________
moonreader28 is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 01:05 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,107
OS: Win 7

My System


Can you give us the model of your HP?

__________________
hhnq04 is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 01:11 PM   #3
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,359
OS: Win7



Use the ram manufacturers configuration utility Crucial has a good "Scan Your PC" applet that will tell what ram to use. Corsair , Crucial , OCZ
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 03-13-2011, 11:54 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
OS: windows XP home edition service pack 3



Hp pavilion a430n
__________________
moonreader28 is offline  
Old 03-13-2011, 12:08 PM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,587
OS: XP Pro-7



Hp pavilion a430n- Supports PC2700/PC2100- Maximum memory size is up to 2GB, 1GB per slot.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird hardware failure. (Computer randomly reboots/shuts down possible RAM issue)
System: Windows 7 RAM (2 sticks): Corsair DDR2 XMS2 800MHz 2038MB MB: Asus M4A785-M CPU: AMD Athlon II X4 620 HD: W.D. Caviar Black WD5002AALX 500GB PSU: Logisys 550w PS550A_BK About a week ago, my computer just randomly went black, it randomly restarted itself, it continued to do so...
SnowBum Motherboards, Bios & CPU 11 04-06-2011 09:21 PM
Corsair Ram issues
Hello all. Im new to this site and have been literally trawling the net and a lot of forums looking for anyone with my problems or similar. I feel I have gone as far as I can go with this and it has brought me here. I would be very grateful if I could be advised but I will warn that this may...
sparky05084 RAM and Power Supply Support 4 03-12-2011 07:40 PM
Half of the Ram detected by PC
Greetings fellow gamers, tech guys (staff members and amateurs). Now this will be normal post and a normal problem, identified by many users. I just bought this 1GB DDR1 Ram stick. I had once a stick of 256 MB of Ram (DDR1) and then added one more stick of 256 MB of ram (DDR1). After a time I...
Tech Amateur RAM and Power Supply Support 14 02-12-2011 09:22 AM
Adding Slightly different RAM
Hi guys, Firstly, the stuff you need to know... Motherboard: Gigabyte EP43-DS3 RAM: 2x1gb of DDR2 Corsair CPU: Intel Quad Core Q6600 @2.4ghz Windows 7 32bit. http://i54.tinypic.com/2ngg1p0.jpg
Jelinski619 RAM and Power Supply Support 8 01-30-2011 02:52 PM
RAM Heat Spreader
Hello! Am I taking a chance by not getting a heat spreader? Are heat spreaders just eye candy? I would like to upgrade my RAM from 1G to 2Gs. I often am running grid computing software (BIONC, etc.) and a web browser, which uses up all my RAM continuously. I don't mind this as I'm usually...
GeoMoon5 RAM and Power Supply Support 4 01-18-2011 12:34 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts