Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

USB drive as extra RAM in XP

This is a discussion on USB drive as extra RAM in XP within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hey everyone, this might be a stupid question but I thought I would pose it anyway. I have an HP


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2008, 12:00 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 59
OS: Windows XP Media Center Edition 2002 SP2



hey everyone, this might be a stupid question but I thought I would pose it anyway. I have an HP Pavillion PC with AMD Athalon 64 Processor 3800+ 2.39GHz and 1 GB of RAMm it's 2 years old (well technically 960MB because integrated grahics) and I'm finding it's being incredibly slow lately, even after spyware scans and uninstalling unused software...

I have a 2 GB flash drive and I was wondering if it's possible in XP SP2 to use that as RAM. And if it's possible is it safe and can it be undone if I wanted to use the flash drive for something else.

__________________
CrystalRaine is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 02:21 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,392
OS: Win7 x64, Vista Ultimate x86, Server 2K3 Enterprise x86, Ubuntu Lucid Lynx x64, OSX Snow Leopard x86

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

you could probably go in and map it as page file....

__________________
magnethead is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 02:27 PM   #3
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 17,208
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

see the following article about using usb drive as ram.

http://ask-leo.com/can_i_use_a_usb_r...em_memory.html

a couple of points to remember, it will run slower since usb is slower than system memory in addition, reading and writing on the flash drive is even slower. IMO, you will not gain anything by using the drive, in fact you may lose even more speed.

Your best bet would be to do some computer cleanup and add another gig of real ram.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 02:36 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 59
OS: Windows XP Media Center Edition 2002 SP2



Thanks :P I was hoping that their be some way around having to buy actual RAM, as I have no money. The trials of being a poor college student. I guess I'll have to wait until I get some cash and buy some RAM.
__________________
CrystalRaine is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 02:40 PM   #5
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 17,208
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

In the meantime, try a little computer cleanup. Get rid of all the temporary files on your computer, uninstall any programs you do not use, get rid of any startup that you do not need or can be started manually when needed. IMO, you need about 10-20 percent free space on your drive )depending upon the drive size). Do a defrag.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 03:17 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,392
OS: Win7 x64, Vista Ultimate x86, Server 2K3 Enterprise x86, Ubuntu Lucid Lynx x64, OSX Snow Leopard x86

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

agreed with sobeit. clear up some of the crap files and free up some general resources. Can you post a screenshot of the performance tab of task manager?
__________________
magnethead is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 10:22 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 59
OS: Windows XP Media Center Edition 2002 SP2



__________________
CrystalRaine is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 07:21 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,392
OS: Win7 x64, Vista Ultimate x86, Server 2K3 Enterprise x86, Ubuntu Lucid Lynx x64, OSX Snow Leopard x86

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

That's a fairly high peak level- 1297784. that's 1.23 GB. You have 1 GB of physical ram and 1.23 GB of hard drive page file/virtual memory, i take it?

I would suggest putting a pair of matched 1GB sticks in the computer.
__________________
magnethead is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 09:46 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
MyKobalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 270
OS: Windows Vista 64-Bit SP2

My System

Send a message via AIM to MyKobalt

I know in Vista, under the "properties" of any usb stick you plug in, there is an option called "ReadyBoost" to use it as memory. Is there anything like that in XP?
__________________
MyKobalt is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 05:43 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,392
OS: Win7 x64, Vista Ultimate x86, Server 2K3 Enterprise x86, Ubuntu Lucid Lynx x64, OSX Snow Leopard x86

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

not that i know of
__________________
magnethead is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:26 PM   #11
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belfast N.I.
Posts: 1,551
OS: Puppy Linux 4.12



look here:http://www.downloadsquad.com/2008/02...or-windows-xp/

__________________
belfasteddie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts