Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

upgrading ram

This is a discussion on upgrading ram within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I need to upgrade ram and I was wondering if I could get a pci card type device that will


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2011, 10:49 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
darcinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 574
OS: Windows 8 Pro



I need to upgrade ram and I was wondering if I could get a pci card type device that will expande my ram. Thanks a lot for any answers!

__________________
darcinator is offline  
Old 08-11-2011, 10:57 AM   #2
computer wizard
 
brobarapas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: planet earth/
Posts: 1,656
OS: windows 7 ultimate



scan your system with this link,it will tell you what you can upgrade too,you can only expand your ram if it has avaible banks to do so,you cant upgrade with a pci card

Orca memory Scanner

__________________
brobarapas is offline  
Old 08-11-2011, 01:13 PM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,053
OS: XP Pro-7



PC Specs?
PreBuilt--Brand name & Model Number
Custom Build--Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.
For an OEM PC, Crucial RAM is the nest choice for compatibility.
RAM Memory Upgrade: Dell, Mac, Apple, HP, Compaq. USB drives, SSD at Crucial.com
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 08-11-2011, 05:41 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
darcinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 574
OS: Windows 8 Pro


I have 256mb ram, windows xp service Pack 2 home edition 2002, Dell, pentium 4 CPU 1.7GHz 1.69 GHz. Is that all you need? Thanks for the help so far
__________________
darcinator is offline  
Old 08-11-2011, 06:04 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
darcinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 574
OS: Windows 8 Pro



Dell Dimension 4400

Please see below for the Memory ( RAM ) upgrade options available for the Dell Dimension 4400.

Your Scan Results
Your Unique Scan ID: 1030-0562-2164
We have detected that your Computer is a Dell Computer Corporation DIM4400, please see below for the memory options available. Your computer currently has the following memory configuration:
Total Memory Slots: 2
Spare Memory Slots: 1
Total Installed Memory: 256MB (1 x 256MB)
Slot 1: 256MB
Slot 2: Empty

If you have any questions regarding the details and information on this page, you can send us an email that will include your unique Scan ID number, this will enable us to access your scan results and assist with any queries that you may have, simply click here to send us an email.
Memory Details for the Dell Dimension 4400
Standard Memory : 128MB (Removable)
Maximum Memory : 1.0GB
Total Memory Slots : 2
Memory Type : 184-Pin PC2100 (266MHz) DIMM
Notes :

__________________
darcinator is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Computer unbelievably slow, will more RAM fix it?
My computer is extremely, extremely slow, for example opening the Windows Calculator can take 30 or more seconds, so just imagine how slow doing actual work is. When I built the computer I intentionally built it with too little RAM to save money to upgrade it later which I still have never done....
aab1 RAM and Power Supply Support 24 07-01-2011 01:07 AM
[SOLVED] Upgrading RAM & Video Card
Hi, I want to upgrade to 6-8GB (whichever is more stable) from 4GB ram. I provided the Newegg link for the current OCZ Platinum RAM. Also wondering if it's worth upgrading the GPU now or better to wait another 6 months? Thank you!:pray: My current system: CPU: i7 860 Mobo: ASUS...
deahamlet Building 12 06-23-2011 05:37 AM
Adding RAM and upgrading to Windows 7
I have a HP Pavillion dv9000, currently running Windows Vista. I bought more RAM and the upgrade for Windows 7. Which should I do first...add ram or do the system upgrade? I have tried to replace the ram. New ram i'm trying to use is: ddr2 pc2-5300 4GB (2x2G) Memory Master When I...
plisenbe Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 5 03-26-2011 09:25 AM
upgrading ram issues.
I have a Asus n-61 i7 740m with ati radeon hd 5730 video card. The unit came with .14 gigs of ram and I decided to go and buy patriot psd34g10662s sticks of ram, they are two 4gig pc3-8500@1066MHz cl9 now with the new Patriot ram I have a total of 8gigs verses 4gigs I had at when I first bought the...
Maqabyah Laptop Support 2 01-24-2011 02:53 PM
Question about RAM, OS & Upgrading Desktop PC
I have a Dell Inspiron 530 running 32-bit Windows Vista Home Premium (SP2) with 2Gb RAM, which is our 'home PC'. It has got noticeably slower since I bought it two years ago and so I've decided it's time to do some upgrading. The max memory is 4x 1Gb modules (it has two 1Gb modules at present), but...
Sussie RAM and Power Supply Support 7 01-24-2011 05:15 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts