Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

Sony VAIO Laptop - Want to Upgrade RAM

This is a discussion on Sony VAIO Laptop - Want to Upgrade RAM within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Wow, did not realize how out of it I am technically................ I have a Sony VAIO laptop Model PCG-975L, which


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2010, 11:13 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
OS: XP



Wow, did not realize how out of it I am technically................
I have a Sony VAIO laptop Model PCG-975L, which is about 10 years old, and is operating quite slow. I have tried several things to speed it up (pagefile, ++ off main drive, cookie+ clean-up..... etc., and have decided that might be time to increase my RAM. I ran a program to check my RAM and get a whole lot of info..... but everywhere I look to check out prices, I see different specifications, so I end up not knowing if it is the correct one for my computer.
I currently have 256MB RAM, 2 sticks of 128MB in my computer now, want to replace at least 1 of those 128MB sticks with a 256MB. Looking at the RAM currently in the computer now, it looks like writing says MT8LSDT166HG-10EB1. and it says PC100 on it also.
I believe it also said SDRAM.
Also, I believe it is a 144 pin socket, but did not count the pins...... so would not bet my life on it.
Question is...... can I replace the 2-128MB cards with 1 512MB card, or replace 1 of the 128MB cards with a 256MB card?
Also, can I replace it with a PC133 card?
Finally is there any 1 identidy-specification that I can use to search around for a good price for this?
Also note that it appears that my PCG-975L is also known as/comparable to the FXA35/D system.
Thx.
Bob

__________________
bob6831 is offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 07:00 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,497
OS: XP Pro-7



Crucial is the best choice for OEM PC's. http://www.crucial.com/

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 10:19 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
OS: XP



What specific PC specs do you want?

Been looking around........ couple more questions: 1) can I replace my 2x128MB sticks with just 1-512MB stick? 2) Will PC133 work in my system (current RAM is PC100)?

I presume high-density will NOT work in my system, correct?
Thx
__________________
bob6831 is offline  
Old 06-18-2010, 05:18 AM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,497
OS: XP Pro-7



Crucial's site will have all of info for your PC.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts