Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

[SOLVED] PC turned off...Overheating or PSU???

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] PC turned off...Overheating or PSU??? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Gateway GT4010 which is about 5 years old. Yes, I know I'm do for an upgrade, but


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-10-2011, 03:49 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 809
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to Techie19

I have a Gateway GT4010 which is about 5 years old. Yes, I know I'm do for an upgrade, but for now it does its purpose.

So yesterday I was online. Was also running MS Office excel. All of a sudden my PC shut off. I thought it was another power outage, which happens sometimes around my way. Sometimes I'll wake up in the morning and find my computer turned off. Also my microwave, coffee maker, and other small appliances. This tells me there was a power outage in the middle of the nite.

So being that there's a history of power outages, I'm thinking that the PSU is going bad (due to yesterday's episode). The same happened about 2 weeks ago, while I was using the computer it just turned off.

I haven't opened up the case and cleaned the inside in about 3 months or so.

You guys think its overheating or the PSU going bad?

__________________
Techie19 is offline  
Old 05-10-2011, 04:20 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,470
OS: Windows 7

My System


probably... Can you switch the pc on? can you get into the BIOS?

If you can please post the voltages and temps, if your BIOS is locked and you cant see those readings please download CPUID hardware monitor and post the cpu temps and voltages from there.

You should try cleaning the pc out with compressed air aswell.

__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 05-10-2011, 06:05 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,325
OS: XP Pro-7



Power outages are very hard on PSU's and especially OEM units.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 05-10-2011, 05:22 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 809
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to Techie19

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenbrucelee View Post
probably... Can you switch the pc on? can you get into the BIOS?

If you can please post the voltages and temps, if your BIOS is locked and you cant see those readings please download CPUID hardware monitor and post the cpu temps and voltages from there.

You should try cleaning the pc out with compressed air aswell.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	temps.JPG
Views:	33
Size:	249.5 KB
ID:	91598  
__________________
Techie19 is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 03:21 AM   #5
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,470
OS: Windows 7

My System


That isn't what I asked for. If you can get into the Bios (thats the bit when you first switch on the pc and it says press del or press f1 to enter setup) please post the temps and voltages from it.

If your BIOS is locked please download CPUID hardware monitor and post the information from that.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 04:53 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 809
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to Techie19

I know how to get into the BIOS. I posted the information I did because I figured it was the same as what you asked. But I will go into the BIOS and post the information I get from there. Will I be able to do a print screen image of the BIOS?
__________________
Techie19 is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 05:28 AM   #7
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,470
OS: Windows 7

My System


you will need a camera. I am specifically looking for the 12v 3.3 and 5v readings and the temperatures.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 05-12-2011, 10:40 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 809
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to Techie19

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenbrucelee View Post
you will need a camera. I am specifically looking for the 12v 3.3 and 5v readings and the temperatures.
Here's the info I was able to get from the BIOS...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BIOS Temps.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	179.9 KB
ID:	91705  
__________________
Techie19 is offline  
Old 05-21-2011, 02:22 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 809
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to Techie19

PC shut off today again. It was on as always and I put a dvd in the optical drive and all a sudden it just shut off.
__________________
Techie19 is offline  
Old 05-21-2011, 03:17 PM   #10
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,325
OS: XP Pro-7



Your Voltages are within specs. Your CPU temp is a little warm but not enough to cause issues.
Any 5 yr. old OEM PSU is certainly a prime candidate for failure.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 05-21-2011, 06:44 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 809
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to Techie19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
Your Voltages are within specs. Your CPU temp is a little warm but not enough to cause issues.
Any 5 yr. old OEM PSU is certainly a prime candidate for failure.
I guess I'm due for a new computer. Will keep all my data backed up so the day the power supply goes I can just restore all my data to the new system.
__________________
Techie19 is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 05:17 AM   #12
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,470
OS: Windows 7

My System


why not just buy a new power supply? (just make sure its agood make).
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 05:35 AM   #13
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,325
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by greenbrucelee View Post
why not just buy a new power supply? (just make sure its agood make).
Ditto. When lower quality PSU's fail it is not uncommon for them to damage other components.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 05:43 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 809
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to Techie19

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenbrucelee View Post
why not just buy a new power supply? (just make sure its agood make).
I just figured my computer is 5 yrs old now. But you make a good point. The power supply for my PC is BTX, so I just gotta look for one. They're not as common as the ATX form factor ones.
__________________
Techie19 is offline  
Old 09-10-2011, 05:09 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 809
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to Techie19

Hello there all. Sorry for not replying sooner, but just been crazy busy with work and school. I searched for BTX power supplies and they're kind of expensive compared to ATX. Supply and Demand I guess, being that BTX never really took off. I don't' think it's worth the money, again, being that my computer is 5+ yrs old. Been using my laptop.

I did open up the case and there was quite a good amount of dust in it. So I cleaned it out with a can of compressed air. Closed the case back up and plugged everything back. Turn it on and had no problem with it shutting off. That is until I plugged in a flash drive to the USB port in front of the case. As soon as I plugged it in, it turned off.

I removed the flash drive and turned it back on. This time booting off a Ubuntu Linux CD. I left the computer running all day off the Ubuntu disc and it never turned off.

Can this new information help in confirming that it is the PSU or something else causing the PC to turn off? Bad RAM? Bad Mobo?

Thx to everyone that has posted and helped with this.
__________________
Techie19 is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 02:49 AM   #16
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,470
OS: Windows 7

My System


a bad psu can cause problems with the ram, motherboard and everything else. You should start with replacing that first.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 08:55 AM   #17
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,325
OS: XP Pro-7



As above^
Your PSU needs to be replace so that would be the place to start.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 10:45 AM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 809
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to Techie19

Thanks again guys for your help.

Just curious as to why when running the computer off the Linux boot disc the computer never shut off?
__________________
Techie19 is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 10:52 AM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 809
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to Techie19

Also, was checking newegg and came across this PSU:

Newegg.com - KINGWIN ABT-650MM 650W ATX 12V v2.2/ BTX SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Power Supply

What do you guys think?

I don't want to spend much money because I might just end up selling the computer. I doubt that I'll be able to sell it to someone without a PSU, or a faulty PSU.
__________________
Techie19 is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 10:55 AM   #20
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,325
OS: XP Pro-7



Very poor quality PSU.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuse blows when PSU is turned on
Whenever I flick the switch on my PSU the fuse blows. Just to try i turned the fuse back on having my computer plugged in and keeping the switch on. This worked and I didn't have any problems what so ever. The computer functioned normally, and switching it on and off did not cause any trouble. When...
afghafgh Other Hardware Support 7 03-07-2011 06:41 PM
New PSU won't POST; old PSU works
I'm trying to upgrade a 250W Bestec PSU with OCZ 600W SXS. The motherboard takes 20-pin without -5V pin. Bestec PSU has no -5V pin, and the system runs fine. I put in OCZ PSU, and fans (CPU, PSU and case) run, there is power to CD-ROM and hard drive, but motherboard won't POST -- no video signal...
flybone RAM and Power Supply Support 6 01-27-2011 05:31 AM
Computer completely dies? Does this have to be a PSU problem?
I have a perplexing problem here. I am working on a machine that is having some strange issues. So, get the PC in, XP machine, for office use. Using onBoard graphics, 512MB RAM, 3.00Ghz Intel cpu. Mobo is a PM800-M2 rev. 1.0. It came in with a 550w iBest Gold PSU switching 20pin. ...
ATiLaptops RAM and Power Supply Support 1 01-20-2011 05:46 PM
Desktop fried, bought new PSU, won't start. Help??
I'm kinda stuck here - my homemade rig is kaput and need help getting it started again. Original problem was that after moving it and hooking it up again I would hit the power switch and get absolutely no response. Opening the case I saw the mobo LED solid-on. If I hit the rocker switch on the...
korbitz Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 01-08-2011 02:03 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts