Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

[SOLVED] Dell PC will not power up

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Dell PC will not power up within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Have a 7 year old Dell Windows XP PC that will not turn on. The computer when i push the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2010, 09:01 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Massachusetts United States
Posts: 29
OS: Win XP



Have a 7 year old Dell Windows XP PC that will not turn on. The computer when i push the power switch a yellow light blinks, but will not turn green and power up. The yellow light continues to blink, and no power to key board etc. I tried unplugging and different plug and nothing. Tried holding down power switch and nothing, only yellow light located next to power button blinks. Is there somthing else i can try, like some kinda power reset or process. Any advise would be greatly appreciated. Can this kind of issue be repaired.. Help

__________________
Car121 is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 09:13 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
shotgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,897
OS: Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


Model of the dell?

Power supply may be bad...see if you can borrow one to try

__________________
Please post your System specs
CPU-Z - GPU-Z - Speccy - PSU Info and Selection - How to Bench Test - Test your PSU - Memtest86
Do or do not, there is no try -yoda-
shotgn is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 09:42 PM   #3
a bit alien
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Babylon 5, Epsilon Eridani
Posts: 17,463
OS: win7pro/win10/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

it does sound like a power supply issue, one thing you can try first, open the case, make sure it is dust free, and make sure all cables and cards are plugged in properly.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:57 AM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



When you power on the computer does the fan on the power supply spin up?
__________________
Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 11:59 AM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



Highly likely the PSU has failed. Any OEM PC over 2 yrs. old is a good candidate for PSU failure.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 06:29 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Massachusetts United States
Posts: 29
OS: Win XP



The model is a Dell Dimension 2400. I checked all connection and all appeared secured. The fan does not turn on only the yellow blinking light. Although I opened the case and could see a small green light on which is near the mother board. I removed the power supply and tried plugging it in to and still nothing. If the power supply was good , should the fan spin when plugged, even if it's tested unattached on pc. I don't have and extra power supply so I ordered one online the same one for 40.00 with ship. When this arrives do I just install and try powering up, or is there something else I have to do before powering? Ok thanks all.
__________________
Car121 is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 10:00 AM   #7
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



Carl, if you remove the power supply and plug it into a wall outlet, it won't automatically start up. You would have to place a load on the PS, like a fan or hard drive, and jumper 2 wires to test it.

Since you've already ordered a new one, mount it in your case, carefully connect all your plugs and fire it up.
__________________
Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 11:47 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Massachusetts United States
Posts: 29
OS: Win XP



Thanks Fred... Wow i figured it would start up out of the pc.. I'm not to much of a tech person, so i dont know how to jump it with wires.. I hope it's the power supply, since i already ordered it. Can't wait for it to arrive, so i can test to see.. I'm going to check at my employment and see if they have any old pc's laying around that are not needed. Can I use one from another dell, does it have to be a 2400. what if it doesn't have all the plugs mine does. I have about 6 plugs that hook up inside. I was also thinking of adding another memory card. My PC has two spots and it only has a 256Ram. I was told to buy a 1gb and plug on other spot. Then i would have the 256ram and the 1Gb. Can I do that? Well first I'll wait to see if this power supply solved my first issue.. thanks all for the valuable help.. You guys are great...
__________________
Car121 is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 11:53 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
shotgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,897
OS: Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


Mixing ram is really not a good idea...problems tend to pop up. If you get it working with the new psu, Go to cruial.com and run the system scanner.
http://www.crucial.com/
Crucial is the best memory for OEM pc's like dell,hp, etc. Then compare the prices at an etailer like newegg or tigerdirect, etc.
__________________
Please post your System specs
CPU-Z - GPU-Z - Speccy - PSU Info and Selection - How to Bench Test - Test your PSU - Memtest86
Do or do not, there is no try -yoda-
shotgn is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 01:27 PM   #10
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



Carl, since you've already ordered a PS, I didn't bother explaining how to bench test it. What is it you want to remove from an old work PC? RAM or a power supply? Don't get too far ahead - wait to install the new PS. If you ordered the correct replacement PS, it will have all the necessary plugs.

If you want to add additional RAM to your computer, it looks like the largest memory stick you can add is 512MB, so the max memory you can install in that PC is 1Gig. 256 is the bare minimum to run Win XP, so adding more memory will be a drastic improvement. If you can find a 512K chip from a computer at work for free, do it. Or even buy 1 or 2 512K sticks. Mixing and matching won't be a problem, as long as they work and match your PCs specs.

I'm basing the max memory info off a quick search on your PC, you'd have to verify this is correct. Dell says your PC uses PC2100 (266-MHz) or PC2700 (333-MHz) DDR SDRAM (non-ECC) memory.
__________________
Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 09:51 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Massachusetts United States
Posts: 29
OS: Win XP



Ok.. No luck with used parts. I'm going to wait for the psu to arrive and see if this solves issue. Then I will order two 512 memory cards and see how it works. What next if the psu doesn't solve power up? Just getting prepared if there is another problem. Thank you for your guidance...
__________________
Car121 is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 08:43 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Massachusetts United States
Posts: 29
OS: Win XP



Still waiting for part, should be here on Wednesday . Can't wait to test it out ...
__________________
Car121 is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 04:59 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Horusrogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 663
OS: Windows 7 64 Professional, Slitaz Linux 2.0, Xubuntu 9.10, Mythbuntu 11.10, Windows XP32 SP3


Send a message via AIM to Horusrogue Send a message via Yahoo to Horusrogue

Since you cannot reach BIOS at all, it wouldn't help to reset everything to failsafes, so until the PSU comes in, I wouldn't touch anything.

I would try to buy RAM off somewhere like Craiglist as DDR prices are through the roof. Again, maybe a store online will be clearing out its aging stock, so you may be lucky.

Its amazing you are even surfing the web properly with 256mb PC 2700. :P
__________________
I troubleshoot problematic intercourse with your computational devices.
Horusrogue is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 05:17 PM   #14
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,515
OS: Win7



Dell's also have 4 diagnostic lights, when you get the new PSU, install it clear the CMOS by removing the coin cell battery on the motherboard while you are installing the power supply, if it still won't start take a look at the Diag lights and see what code they are giving you.

Diag> http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...n/advtshoo.htm

Motherboard layout> http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...ov.htm#1105465
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-14-2010, 09:07 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Massachusetts United States
Posts: 29
OS: Win XP



So I need to remove the small battery inside after or before i install the psu. And these diagnostic lights you mention, where are they located.
__________________
Car121 is offline  
Old 09-14-2010, 09:10 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Malabar
Posts: 32
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate, xp SP3, kubuntu & Windows Vista


Send a message via Skype™ to Derreem

check the switch behind the power supply and change it to a diffrent voltage and see what happens
__________________
Derreem is offline  
Old 09-15-2010, 01:10 AM   #17
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,515
OS: Win7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Derreem View Post
check the switch behind the power supply and change it to a diffrent voltage and see what happens
No the switch is set to the voltage that is used in the country you live in, changing it to 115v if you live in Europe will burn the PC up.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-15-2010, 01:13 AM   #18
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,515
OS: Win7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Car121 View Post
So I need to remove the small battery inside after or before i install the psu. And these diagnostic lights you mention, where are they located.
The lights are located on the back panel near I/O ports.
I would remove the battery while you swap the supply but it makes no difference when.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-15-2010, 10:15 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Massachusetts United States
Posts: 29
OS: Win XP



Wrench, i kinda thought the same thing as far as changing the voltage. Thanks for catci g that.... Now I'm new at this stuff . What is the IO ports not sure what they look like and where located, sorry . The psu should arrive in a few hours. I will remove battery, connect psu, install battery and plug pc. Should I connect computer screen and all other components like keyboard etc. Or just plug pc in outlet and see if it turns on?. And if it works then turn off and plug all other components?.
__________________
Car121 is offline  
Old 09-15-2010, 10:52 AM   #20
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,515
OS: Win7



Input/Output ports where all the wires connect to the rear.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Dell2400 rearview.JPG
Views:	41
Size:	57.1 KB
ID:	78480  

Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts