Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

[SOLVED] Can I use DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) RAM on my laptop?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Can I use DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) RAM on my laptop? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have an Acer TimelineX 3820T-6480 and it has an Intel Core i3 i3-380M processor with 4GB of DDR3 1066


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-20-2011, 07:10 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 35
OS: win7



I have an Acer TimelineX 3820T-6480 and it has an Intel Core i3 i3-380M processor with 4GB of DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) RAM. I have seen my brothers install RAM with a higher frequency than what is suggested with no problems. So I was wondering if I could do this upgrade, I found this on Newegg and wanted to buy some for the cheap price:

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Laptop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-8GBSQ

Here is the info for the processor from Intel's website:

Intel® Core)

__________________
desolator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 06:23 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,536
OS: XP Pro-7



Do you have a need for 8GB of RAM in a laptop?
If the RAM is acceptable to the Mobo, you can check Crucial's site to be certain (http://www.crucial.com/) you're not going to see any performance increase with the 1333.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 10:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 35
OS: win7



I need it because I often multitask with heavy applications like audio editing software for example. I looked up what you suggested on Crucial's website and this is what I got:

4GB, 204-pin SODIMM, DDR3 PC3-10600 upgrades for Acer Aspire 3820 TimelineX Laptop/Notebook, CT2152211 from Crucial.com

It says that the memory module supported would be PC3-10600. But the one I purchased off of Newegg happens to be PC3-10666, would there be something wrong if I installed this RAM on my computer?
__________________
desolator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 02:36 AM   #4
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 658
OS: W7 x64, W8 x64, OSX 10.8



Some motherboards can be very picky about memory brands.
So I would suggest going in for a memory kit from Crucial or Kingston.

Quote:
would be PC3-10600. But the one I purchased off of Newegg happens to be PC3-10666
What's important are the timings and voltage requirements.

Quote:
I have seen my brothers install RAM with a higher frequency than what is suggested with no problems
Yes, there wouldn't be any.

However, if your motherboard only supports upto 1066Mhz, the system will automatically downclock the 1333Mhz sticks to run at 1066Mhz.
__________________
Happy to help!
ReviverSoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 05:07 AM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,536
OS: XP Pro-7



Follow Crucial's guidelines and use their product to avoid any incompatibility issues.
You can't get any better RAM for OEM and lower tier Mobo's to avoid compatibility problems.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 03:28 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 35
OS: win7



Yeah I read about the downclocking of the RAM, I will try out the PC3-10666 since it is already on its way . I will come back to this thread and let you know whether things go good or bad. Thanks.

__________________
desolator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
laptop ram question
Hello all, I'm fairly confused as to the type of ram i need to purchase for this laptop i recently purchased. It is an IBM Thinkpad R40. Type is 2681. I've read around and keep finding more then one answer:4-dontkno
jwhitwort3 RAM and Power Supply Support 5 03-19-2011 07:08 PM
Odd laptop motherboard/RAM issue
Hello all, I'm a new member here looking for some assistance with an HP laptop that I have. I posted my issues in another forum, so please forgive me for copying and pasting my problem. ORIGINAL ISSUE: Alright, well I've got a really strange laptop problem that I'm looking for some...
bobbylx Laptop Support 1 03-06-2011 10:18 PM
New RAM keeps crashing my laptop.
Hi everyone. I decided a while ago that I needed to upgrade my laptop so I went and bought some RAM. My laptop (HP Pavilion zv5000 running XP) was running on a pathetic 256Mb until today when I installed the new 1Gb RAM and, at first, it ran so smoothly, everything was better but every half an hour...
Renold RAM and Power Supply Support 3 02-19-2011 10:51 AM
[SOLVED] Ram upgrade on laptop
Hi, i'm wanting to upgrade the ram on my Dell Latitude E6400 from 2gb to 4gb. I run windows 7 32 bit, Intel Core 2 Duo P8600 @ 2.4ghz 2.4Ghz. It has 2 ports,1 of which is already taken by the standard 2gb that came with the laptop. It is capable of 8gb, i'm aware it will only see around 3.5 or...
jrg1989 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 10 01-23-2011 07:17 PM
Laptop doesn't recognize ram..
Just purchased some Memory Master DDR2-5300 Ram, Two (1) GB Sticks. I have a hp pavillion dv6000 series which came with a 512mb stick. I took the one out and replaced with them two. When I go to turn the laptop on the screen stays black and beeps 3-4 times, then nothing... I know my laptops...
bolandt RAM and Power Supply Support 3 01-04-2011 12:06 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts