Sad Day

This is a discussion on Sad Day within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently built a computer (mid Nov.) and it had ran perfectly until about a month later when it would


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-30-2012, 10:19 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



I recently built a computer (mid Nov.) and it had ran perfectly until about a month later when it would randomly shut off (all lights, keyboard, mouse, fans everything) then after a few seconds kick on again. At first it would be about twice a day now its more like an hour (sometimes more) and sometimes before I even get to the welcome screen when rebooting.

This all happens without warning and without blue screening, and seems to have no pattern sometimes at idle, or surfing, others at high loads.

I've checked all the the temps Cpu never gets above 52C (idle 27-40), gpu never above 82c at full load (idle 37c)

I thought it might be a bad Din slot switched the sticks and still died, I've flipped my psu to see if it needed better airflow and no change

I'm thinking its the psu but I have no idea how to check, if anyone needs more spec info please let me know

I'd really appreciate any help available, thank you all for your time :)


Specs
CPU- 2500K (stock clock) - corsair H60
MOBO- Gig. ud3p
Ram- Corsair Ven. 2x4 (1600)
Hdd- 120g intel ssd (Sata 2)
GPU- MSi 560 ti Hawk
PSU- Antec 850w 80+ Gold HCP
Case- Bitfenix Colossus
OS- Windows 7 H.P.

__________________
TheButcher1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 12:07 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,024
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

sounds to me like a bum power supply / the only option there is replace it :(

Corsair TX 850 or better yet Seasonic AX 750

__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 01:58 PM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,053
OS: XP Pro-7



Same as linderman. Sounds like a power issue and the Antec PSU would not be above suspicion.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 07:16 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Being that its new would you suggest RMAing it? I spent a pretty penny on it for exactly this reason :(
But having to pay shipping would sure suck
__________________
TheButcher1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 07:21 PM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,053
OS: XP Pro-7



I understand that you paid a premium price and RMA'ing would be the most economic option but bear in mind you will only be replacing it with another just like it.
That unit is 80+ gold certified but it's not the best quality out there.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 07:21 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,024
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

do you have the original proof of purchase to be eligible for an antec RMA / another reason why I dont sing their praises?
__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 07:23 PM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,053
OS: XP Pro-7



Great point linderman. I haven't used any Antec PSU's for so long I forgot about that issue.
That's why you get the big bucks!
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 07:33 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Your talking about an invoice right? then yes
ya I'm alittle torn, I'd like to get a decent modular corsair but I wish there were still Christmas sales goin round
__________________
TheButcher1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 05:32 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,024
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

if you have your proof of purchase then fill out an RMA with antec and they will replace the unit
__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 05:57 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Thanks alot guys I'll post in a while when its sorted

__________________
TheButcher1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] windows 7 batch getting day of week (Moved from Vista/7)
I've seen many methods of getting the day of week in a batch program. The following almost works while most of the others are for older systems. for /f %%i in ('wmic path win32_localtime get dayofweek') do set wd=%%i Does get the day of week but overrides it with space before it exits the loop....
kdkingst Programming 6 10-24-2013 08:09 PM
Mystery: Netbook keeps disconnecting from router, especially during the day
So usually either I or my husband have no problem figuring out IT related problems (he's a Sys Admin), but neither of us can figure this one out: Our laptops/netbooks, and especially my netbook keep getting disconnected from the router, in spite of the signal strength being very strong wherever...
claireb78 Networking Support 4 07-13-2011 05:06 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts