Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

PSU question?

This is a discussion on PSU question? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My son's Vostro 230 psu gave up on him this morning.I contacted Dell.ca and they didn't have one in stock


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-23-2012, 02:20 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 16
OS: win7



My son's Vostro 230 psu gave up on him this morning.I contacted Dell.ca and they didn't have one in stock at this time.Can this psu be substituted for something else?They told me I couldn't install a more powerful type.Here is the exact type of one I'm talking about.
Dell Vostro 230 Mini-Tower 300 Watt Power Supply KF76H | eBay

__________________
chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 02:27 PM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,330
OS: XP Pro-7



If it's not a proprietary unit you can substitute any brand.
The one you linked to says it's for the Model you have so it should be OK.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 02:33 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 16
OS: win7



The desktop is not a mini.It's full size.Does that make any difference?
__________________
chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 02:42 PM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,330
OS: XP Pro-7



If it's full size then you can use an ATX PSU and get good quality.
If only Onboard Graphics are used this is the best good quality bang for buck: Newegg.com - XFX ProSeries P1-450S-X2B9 450W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Core Edition V2 Full Wired Power Supply
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 03:34 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 16
OS: win7



He has a 512 mb video card.Is that what you mean by onboard graphics?
__________________
chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 05:54 AM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,330
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckman View Post
He has a 512 mb video card.Is that what you mean by onboard graphics?
Yes.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 10:53 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 16
OS: win7



Do you still recommend the psu you previously mentioned
__________________
chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 11:32 AM   #8
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 658
OS: W7 x64, W8 x64, OSX 10.8



Onboard graphics (built into the mobo) and discrete video cards are two different things. Going by the specs. here, I believe the system has the Geforce G310 512MB video card installed (pretty weak, TDP=30W).

However, given the overall specs., the above suggested (XFX 450W) PSU will do just fine!
__________________
Happy to help!
ReviverSoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 01:43 PM   #9
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,330
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckman View Post
Do you still recommend the psu you previously mentioned
Yes.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick PSU Question
I'm having an issue with a computer I'm currently working on. The system boots up just fine, but there seems to be an issue with the fan on the PSU not running. I've made every attempt to clean the dust bunnies away from the fan without opening the actual PSU itself. Unfortunately, that did not do...
x86computing RAM and Power Supply Support 8 06-17-2011 07:05 AM
Question about psu I am about to receive
I bought a RAIDMAX HYBRID 2 RX-730SS. After reading a lot of reviews I am now worried about putting this into my desktop. I'm primarily using to power a Radeon HD 6870, and I don't want to fry any hardware as I could not afford to get anything new. Just some general input please. I also don't...
ScootJeefers RAM and Power Supply Support 6 06-13-2011 03:38 AM
Re: Is this PSU compatible with this GPU??
Hello! This is my first post here so I didn't want to make a new thread before using the search function. This thread seems related to my problem so... here goes: I7 920 @2666 MHz - no OC, stock cooler 6GB DDR3 triple-channel Kingston Memory 666.7MHz(PC3-10600) - 6 x 1GB WesternDigital...
Dygon Building 8 04-10-2011 08:22 PM
new PSU won't turn on.
Is there something I must do for a brand new PSU to turn on? Like simply plugging in the power cord, wait a few minutes or so till enough power is collected in the psu? Well I just plugged in my PSU earlier today after receiving it a few days ago after plugging in the power cord. I've tried several...
heyitskin RAM and Power Supply Support 8 01-01-2011 08:03 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts