Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

Power Supply Connection problem?

This is a discussion on Power Supply Connection problem? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've bought myself a power supply 750w name: Win POWER PLUS OCUK Swift 750W Silent Power Supply [PSU-7022] I've installed


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-26-2011, 12:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 27
OS: Vista



I've bought myself a power supply 750w name: Win POWER PLUS
OCUK Swift 750W Silent Power Supply [PSU-7022]

I've installed it and it has turned on, but the lights at the front go on and off again. The moniter does not seem to respond. I'm pretty sure I need to connect the 4 pin cable on the motherboard, but the power supply only seems to have 6 pins minimal. Is there a converter i can buy? or must i completely buy a new power supply?

Old Power Supply: Fujitsu siemens S26113-E517-V50

Is the PSU too advanced for the motherboard??

-Thanks in advance

__________________
Intoxicateduchi is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 12:48 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 714
OS: Windows 7

My System


I would advise getting a new PSU because that one is just downright junk.
What are your system specs?

__________________
Markgg88 is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 12:49 PM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,488
OS: XP Pro-7



Same suggestion as Markgg88.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 12:57 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 27
OS: Vista



Which PSU would you reccomend I have a budget of £35, All i know at the moment is Its a fujitsu siemens that came with only 1gb of ram. Factory made ofc. I have no power supply to check. There is no stickers on it besides the windows XP sticker and an AMD athalon 64x2
__________________
Intoxicateduchi is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 01:00 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 714
OS: Windows 7

My System


Sorry, you'll never find a decent PSU for anything less than £70. We only recommend good quality PSU's.
__________________
Markgg88 is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 01:01 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 27
OS: Vista



Well regardless, is there such thing as a 6-pin to 4 pin converter? if so, where would i be able to find one?
__________________
Intoxicateduchi is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 01:06 PM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,488
OS: XP Pro-7



Look at the 6 pin wires. One is probably a 4+2 (Black & Yellow wires) and can be separated.
Edit: The Description of the PSU in the link you supplied says: 4 Pin + 12V Power Connector X 1
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 01:13 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
KD5EEJ350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 196
OS: XP Pro



Quote:
- Universal 20+4 Pin Main ATX Power Connector X 1
- 4 Pin + 12V Power Connector X 1
Are you sure you're not trying to jam your PCIx power into your board?
__________________
KD5EEJ350 is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 01:26 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 27
OS: Vista



there is no 4 pin + 12V Power Connector. Seems like some False Description.

And no, there is no separatable 4+6 wire...
__________________
Intoxicateduchi is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 01:30 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
KD5EEJ350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 196
OS: XP Pro



Is there an 8pin plug?
__________________
KD5EEJ350 is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 01:35 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
KD5EEJ350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 196
OS: XP Pro



8-PIN


4-PIN


It is possible to use the 8-PIN in a 4-PIN but you have to pay attention to what you are doing.

It's just four 12v wires and 4 grounds instead of 2 each.
__________________
KD5EEJ350 is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 01:36 PM   #12
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,488
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Intoxicateduchi View Post
there is no 4 pin + 12V Power Connector. Seems like some False Description.

And no, there is no separatable 4+6 wire...
Can you post a pic of the connections on your PSU?
If there is not a 4 pin or separable connectors you need to get a different PSU.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 01:44 PM   #13
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,264
OS: Win7



Make sure that 8 pin is not a 4+4 but with only 1 sata power connector I find it hard to believe it has a eatx 8 pin and not atx 4 pin plug.

Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with router Belkin F5D7234-4 V5 losing internet connection
Hello everyone, I've had this router for about a year, and it has been giving me this problem from day 1. I am getting really fed up with it, and now that I found this website, I am hoping that someone might be able to to shed some light on this. WHat happens is, every 30 minutes or so while I...
Asya2785 Networking Support 9 11-03-2011 08:29 PM
Power supply questions
Hey folks, This is my first post here. I've got a question about power requirements with multiple video cards. I'm going to use three nVidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2Gb video cards in one system. The specs at the nVidia web page for those cards read, "Minimum Recommended System Power (W): 500...
Tim Enchanter Video Card Support 12 02-11-2011 02:30 AM
ASUS 9800GT - what power supply adapter to get for the fan?
Hey guys, Okay, here's a little story :) We recently bought an ASUS Nvidia 9800GT (1GB, PCI-E 2.0, ...) over the net, second-hand. I'm currently running on a Dell Dimension 9150, which is around 4 years old by now. Not sure about the specs, probably something like a Dual Core, 2GB (+2GB we...
Neorro Video Card Support 9 01-18-2011 08:09 AM
Fried power supply
Im a little sad, moved to my homecountry of new zealand, unpacked computer and set it up. I think the following equation explains what happened next: canadian computer + new zealand power outlet - common sense = fried power supply:upset: Anyways, I was wondering where i should buy a new power...
Content_dog RAM and Power Supply Support 9 01-04-2011 06:58 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts