Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

PC shuts down when launching game

This is a discussion on PC shuts down when launching game within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My computer just turns off when loading into a game. It never shuts down by itself. Just when i start


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2010, 02:44 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
OS: windows XP Pro, SP3

My System


My computer just turns off when loading into a game. It never shuts down by itself. Just when i start the Mortal Online game. I thought the problem was in this game, but then PC turned off when i started Heroes V game.

I'm thinking not enough power?
PSU is 520 W, it has 30A on a 12V rail.

My PC is:
CPU: single core Athlon 4000+ (2.4 GHZ)
RAM: corsair 400Mhz CL2 (2 sticks, 1GB each)
VIDEO: GeForce 8800GTX

Temperatures:

Motherboards Southbridge MCP shows ~72 C at Everest program. But i think it already was like that for several years. There's no fan on Southbridge, just a heatsink.

CPU: Everest shows low temperatures of ~30 C, but BIOS shows CPU temp at ~50 C.

Any thoughts please.

__________________
everskelly is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 02:49 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 585
OS:

My System


Seems to be a power supply related issue.
upgrading to a Sea Sonic in the wattage of 650 would be a great investment.

What brand is your current PSU?

__________________
crucial09 is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 02:51 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
OS: windows XP Pro, SP3

My System


My PSU is "COLORS-it"
It's several years old and i think it didn't cause any problems so far.
__________________
everskelly is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 04:15 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 585
OS:

My System


I have never heard of that brand in my life. obviously if it is not a name brand and seven years old you should replace that before anything else.
__________________
crucial09 is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 07:31 PM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,244
OS: XP Pro-7



Believe the Bios Temp readings and replace the low quality PSU with a Seasonic or Corsair.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 08:58 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 585
OS:

My System


aside from buying a new PSU, you might want to reapply thermal paste with arctic mx-2, can be purchased from newegg.com, and reapply it to your cpu.

Also clean all dust out of your system.

__________________
crucial09 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts