Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

High Pitched Whine

This is a discussion on High Pitched Whine within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So i just upgraded my computer Thrusday and now Saturday I am getting a high-pitched whine from my power supply.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2011, 04:46 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
OS: window 7 x64



So i just upgraded my computer Thrusday and now Saturday I am getting a high-pitched whine from my power supply. The noise also comes out of my 5.1 speakers if i turn them on/up.Here is a list of my parts

Core i7 2600k

Rosewill RP550V2-D-SL 550W ATX12V v2.01

CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

ASRock P67 EXTREME4 (B3) LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

2 x Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKX 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5"

MSI N460GTX CYCLONE 1GD5/OC GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16

Antec Twelve Hundred Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case

__________________
plantice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 06:09 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Windows Expert - IT Pro
Microsoft Support Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 402
OS: Win8.1 64-bit Professional

My System


High pitch sounds out of power supplies usually indicates the transformer windings or plates are vibrating - the resin used to bond them has broken loose. In minor cases, it is nothing but annoying. But in extreme cases, it can affect the electrical characteristics. But in any case, it should not manifest itself into something you can hear through the speakers - as that indicates there is some sort of electrical interference or improper crossover involved, and that is not good.

Rosewill does NOT have a reputation for making quality PSUs - and the specs on that as seen here indicate it is not one of their better supplies either - not with just > 72% efficiency.

So, what you need to do is swap in another PSU. This will confirm the problem noise is coming from the Rosewill PSU. It will also confirm if the sound from the speakers is caused by the PSU, and is not a problem with the speakers. Note too that noise from speakers can be caused by a number of things. One way to minimize is to ensure the speakers and your computer are at the same ground "potential" by ensuring they both are connected to the same wall outlet (facility ground). This of course, assumes the wall outlet is properly wired - which you can check with a good AC Outlet Tester. I recommend one with a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupt) Indicator as they can be used to test bathroom and kitchen outlets too. These testers can be found for your type and voltage outlet, foreign or domestic, at most home improvement stores, or even the electrical department at Walmart.

__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
2007 - 2015

Heat is the bane of all electronics!
Bill_Bright is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 07:11 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,536
OS: XP Pro-7



Rosewill PSU's are basically junk and 550W, even with a good quality PSU, is underpowered for the GTX 460 GPU.
You need to be at 650W with a good quality PSU. SeaSonic-XFX-Corsair (not the GS or CX Series).
What could you possibly need 16GB of RAM for?
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 08:01 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
OS: window 7 x64



wow thanks for the quick and detailed replies. I had a feeling that my psu needed an upgraded because this noise started when i installed my i7,16gb ram and new motherboard. I fear its being over worked. As for the speakers they were perfect up til I installed the new parts but both the speakers and everything else on the computer is on the same surge protector.

edit: the psu is about 3yrs old, so i contacted rosewill to see if I could get something better for free, if not I am not buying their stuff again.
__________________
plantice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 01:44 PM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,536
OS: XP Pro-7



Even if they gave you a new one you would still have a low quality PSU.
Why 16GB of RAM? There are no games and very few apps that can utilize over 3GB and filling all the Mobo RAM slots can cause Voltage issues.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 11:47 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
OS: window 7 x64



As of right now I dont have that much money so a better pos is still better than what i got. As for the ram, there was a good deal going so i bought it. What kind of voltage problems will I run in to? Do you think that the ram might be causing the my problems?
__________________
plantice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 06:01 AM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,536
OS: XP Pro-7



No Rosewill PSU is going to be any better than what you have.
A "good deal" doesn't mean you can get any use from the RAM.
If you remove two of the sticks you still have way more than enough and you avoid any concerns about Voltage issues.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 07:49 AM   #8
Microsoft MVP
Windows Expert - IT Pro
Microsoft Support Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 402
OS: Win8.1 64-bit Professional

My System


Rosewill does make some PSUs that are "okay". If you are stuck on Rosewill, insist on one that is 80-Plus certified. 80 Plus certification requires the PSU to maintain at least 80% efficiency across a wide range of loads. To achieve that, higher quality parts and better design are required. However, you still take your chances on assembly techniques, cable & connector quality and possibly other electrical characteristics - like ripple and overload/fault protection.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
2007 - 2015

Heat is the bane of all electronics!
Bill_Bright is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 09:43 AM   #9
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,536
OS: XP Pro-7



Rosewill sells some 80+ certified PSU's but they're made by the same supplier as the others.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 01:14 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
OS: window 7 x64



I am ending up getting rid of the rosewill via rma and getting some money back. I went and bought a 750w corsair: Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply
Hopefully this will solve my problems
__________________
plantice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 05:25 AM   #11
Microsoft MVP
Windows Expert - IT Pro
Microsoft Support Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 402
OS: Win8.1 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
I went and bought a 750w corsair
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
2007 - 2015

Heat is the bane of all electronics!
Bill_Bright is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 05:36 AM   #12
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,536
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by plantice View Post
I am ending up getting rid of the rosewill via rma and getting some money back. I went and bought a 750w corsair: Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply
Hopefully this will solve my problems
Even if it doesn't you will have a good quality PSU to help insure a longer life for your other components.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SONY Vaio making high pitched beeping noise
Hi, my friend's laptop is a SONY VAIO VGN-NS130D and it runs Windows 7 Home Premium (was upgraded from vista) and it makes a very high pitched beeping noise and the only way to fix it so far has been to mute the sound and then it works fine. But she needs the sound. I have tried plugging in...
jccr Laptop Support 2 06-24-2011 06:42 PM
High pitched noise coming from laptop
Recently my laptop had a BSOD after which it restardted my computer, it then kept asking for me to insert a boot disc. I turned it off because I had things to do and really didn't want to worry about my computer, later when I turned it on windows started up with no problem at all. However my...
metana BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 05-29-2011 08:38 PM
browser redirects and win upd blocked
Hi Guys, I have had a nasty virus on my PC for a few days. The symptoms include - no browsers will navigate to windows update - Firefox is redirecting to ad sites (such as stopzilla). - Generic Host Process intermittently crashing I have tried malware bytes and it did clean up some...
JCTJennings Resolved HJT Threads 44 04-25-2011 08:15 AM
High PF Usage
My page file usage has been EXTREMELY high recently, ranging from 800mb - 1.5GB. i have a Toshiba Portege M200 running Windows XP 2005 Tablet Edition with 1.99GHz processor speed and 1 GB ram. My PC is correspondingly VERY slow and dysfunctional. I have AVG free antivirus and service pack 3. I...
seattletechkey Windows XP Support 1 04-23-2011 08:33 PM
High Pitched Tone Acer Aspire 5536
I get a really high pitched tone when I turn my laptop on which persists until I plug something into the speaker plug or until I disable the RealTek High Definition Audio driver. I usually listen to things through the built in speakers in my laptop but I have recently bought Turtle Beach X11's...
CharleyLefebure Laptop Support 0 02-14-2011 06:23 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts