Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

Gets Power But Won't Start...Replaced CPU...HP m1195c

This is a discussion on Gets Power But Won't Start...Replaced CPU...HP m1195c within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Computer Model: HP Media Center m1195c Motherboard Model: ASUS P5KPL-AM CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad LGA 775 GFX: HIS Radeon


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-28-2012, 06:31 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 & Ubuntu


Evil

Computer Model: HP Media Center m1195c
Motherboard Model: ASUS P5KPL-AM
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad LGA 775
GFX: HIS Radeon HD 4670 IceQ 1GB DDR3
NEW 550W Logisys Power Supply That Replaced a 300W
1 SATA Hard-drive

So i cleaned the inside of my case with dry cotton swabs and soft paper towels, barley touching the chips. After that i couldn't turn on the computer and there was no light that i could recall. I was using a horrible PSU and since everything else was plugged in i thought that was the issue. I bought a 550W for $20 and now i get a solid green light near the front power button in on the mobo.

So we got power but still can't turn her on. Iv'e got the 4-pin, 24-pin, sata, and DVD drives all plugged in. I made sure the front power button was plugged in, it looks a little messed up though (like metal pieces might be missing), i'll post some pictures. The graphics card and RAM slots are all snugged in yet no power. So i am really stuck and can't figure out why my computer won't start.

The only thing i could think of is a fried MOBO - if it were the graphics or something else you think fans and drives would start up also. I just want to make sure of my problem before spending more money on fixing it.

Those pics are of the power button unplugged but i did try it with it in that was solely to show the connector.

Please help me diagnosis this problem i use my computer for a lot of business and would be great if i could get up ASAP. Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0196.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	155.5 KB
ID:	104289   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0197.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	242.5 KB
ID:	104290   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0198.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	287.9 KB
ID:	104291  


__________________
dylanpieper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:55 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 369
OS: windows 7



Well the low quality PSU is not going to help but the fact that you did change it and the solid LED on the motherboard points to a mobo issue.

__________________
efx8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 07:12 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 & Ubuntu



Yeah that's what i was thinking but i want to know for sure before venturing around getting a new MOBO. Also sorry my thread title meant to say PSU not CPU and for some reason i see no edit function on these forums. (It's on comments but not the original thread?)
__________________
dylanpieper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 01:03 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



550W Logisys does not have enough amps on the 12v line for the pcie system

put a quality 80+ 550w in

Power Supply Information and Selection - Tech Support Forum
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:45 AM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,353
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
550W Logisys does not have enough amps on the 12v line for the pcie system

put a quality 80+ 550w in

Power Supply Information and Selection - Tech Support Forum
Ditto ^
SeaSonic-XFX-Corsair (not the CX-GS-M Series) are top quality PSU's.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:46 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 & Ubuntu



Would something like Newegg.com - APEVIA 4 Pin PSU to PCI-E Power Supply Converter cable Model CVT46 help solve my problem? I have some 4-pins hanging around that i won't use. Also i seem to be having a hard to figuring out if there is a 6-pin PCI-E connection. If you look on the diagram you can't find one and the 4-pin even says 12v. It doesn't make sense cause my really bad 300w didn't have one and that graphics card ran just fine on that PSU for at least a year.

(I got the 6-pin idea/guide from Newegg.com - RAIDMAX HYBRID 2 RX-630SS 630W ATX12V V2.2/ EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Modular Modular LED Power Supply)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	12v wheres the 6.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	173.3 KB
ID:	104310  
__________________
dylanpieper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 10:03 AM   #7
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,262
OS: Windows 7

My System


no you need a quality make of power supply because its the most important part of your computer

xfx,seasonic and corsair (not gs or cs models) are what you want and you need 550w
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 02:03 PM   #8
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,353
OS: XP Pro-7



The Apevia PSU is no better than what you are using. It may resolve the issue temporarily but you need to be at 550W minimum with a good quality PSU like those have been suggested in Post #5 & #7.
Also, using adapters for power is never a good idea.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 04:22 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 & Ubuntu


This LOGISYS is a 550w power supply. I don't get why getting a new power supply is going to solve this issue. The 300w stock power supply lasted for the longest of time and now i put in a brand new 550w and it does the same thing, nothing, makes not one noise. I have a feeling if i get top tier power supply the problem will still remain. I am on very limited resources so i need to know EXACTLY what is wrong to insure a fix on the next hardware purchase.

I was reading on How to Fix a PC Which Won't Boot: 7 steps - wikiHow and might try testing the motherboard by removing components. If it's a component issue then i might be able to fix it with ease. If it's the motherboard i'll try finding a new one like my old one that doesn't cost $200.

I know you guys are used to fixing computers but please explain why i should drop the money on a new power supply. To me it doesn't seem logical and like i said i have very limited resources at the moment. Sorry if i sound a bit arrogant going against your ideas, just understand my position.

I followed that guide and guess what...the front usb connectors were causing all that issue. Such a simple fix, all i need now is a usb hub and i should be dandy.
__________________
dylanpieper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 06:51 PM   #10
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,353
OS: XP Pro-7



Glad you got it resolved.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 06:57 PM   #11
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,353
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by dylanpieper View Post
This LOGISYS is a 550w power supply. I don't get why getting a new power supply is going to solve this issue. The 300w stock power supply lasted for the longest of time and now i put in a brand new 550w and it does the same thing, nothing, makes not one noise. I have a feeling if i get top tier power supply the problem will still remain. I am on very limited resources so i need to know EXACTLY what is wrong to insure a fix on the next hardware purchase.

I know you guys are used to fixing computers but please explain why i should drop the money on a new power supply. To me it doesn't seem logical and like i said i have very limited resources at the moment. Sorry if i sound a bit arrogant going against your ideas, just understand my position.
A 'good quality" 550W PSU that can actually produce/sustain that power would be fine. Your LOGISYS is not good quality and can not produce the numbers on the label. Continuing to use that PSU is putting your other components at risk of damage.
The problems and damage that low quality/underpowered PSU can do/cause is endless. Your PC and your choice.
Power Supply Information and Selection
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 06:10 AM   #12
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,262
OS: Windows 7

My System


what he said ^

low quality manufacturerd power supplies often tend to say things like 550w or 650w but when you add up the amps it does not calculate to that figure. Also I could bet you a large chunk of my salary that a 450w seasonic unit versus a 650w logysis unit the seasonic would be more stable, have more power and be a more cleaner more efficient unit.

The power supply is the most important part inside a computer. There is no point in having a good computer with a crap power supply because your just asking for problems.

In the computing world especially with power supplies cheap = crap and low quality = crap. Cheap and crap usually go together.

__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD at about 31 celsius during gaming
· OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ? Windows 7 · x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? 64 bits · What was original installed OS on system? None - Clean harddrisk bought. · Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)?
StefanP BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 23 02-04-2012 04:05 PM
All you need to know to play the latest games on a Low End PC [updated:07/02/2011]
UPDATE: "3 games Benchmark Added: Dirt 3, Red Faction Armageddon, FEAR 3 NOTICE: I have Upgraded my CPU from a Dual Core E2200 to a Core 2 Duo E7400, so the old benchmarks are based on a Dual Core E2200, but starting from July 2011, all benchmarks will be based on the Core 2 Duo E7400 and the...
RockmasteR PC Gaming Support 2 11-12-2010 07:00 AM
How to Bench Test / Troubleshoot Your System
The purpose of this thread is to demonstrate an easy way to test your system prior to complete assembly. If you take the time to bench test your build prior to full assembly you will save yourself hordes of time in troubleshooting a faulty component. The most efficient way to minimize lost...
linderman Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 08-01-2007 04:15 PM
How to Bench Test / Troubleshoot Your System
The purpose of this thread is to demonstrate an easy way to test your system prior to complete assembly. If you take the time to bench test your build prior to full assembly you will save yourself hordes of time in troubleshooting a faulty component. The most efficient way to minimize lost...
linderman Building 1 08-01-2007 04:15 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts