Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

Gateway 838GM - Memory Rejected

This is a discussion on Gateway 838GM - Memory Rejected within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've recently been trying to upgrade the memory in an 838GM, and so far it's rejected all of it. On


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2010, 03:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
OS: XP



I've recently been trying to upgrade the memory in an 838GM, and so far it's rejected all of it. On startup it will give the three beeps indicative of a memory error, and fail to POST. I have only been using PC3200 that was specifically recommended for use in an 838GM, and have tried pairs of 256mb, 512mb, and 1gb sticks thus far, so there shouldn't be any compatibility issues. Also tried updating the BIOS, but the latest version is from 2006, and I found that this PC already has that version.

So what are my options now? Are there any BIOS or jumper settings I'm overlooking? I've done a bit of research on the 'net, and it seems like nobody has ever had any problems upgrading the memory in their 838GM PCs.

__________________
nonegrade is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 03:34 PM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


What brand RAM are you trying to add? Post the part number

Try the new RAM alone with just one stick. Does it work?

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 04:27 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
OS: XP



Right now I've got two sticks of Black Diamond M-400-1024BD10, and two sticks of KINGMAX MPXB62F-38KT3R. Had some PNY sticks as well, but have returned those.

Yes, I've tried one stick at a time.
__________________
nonegrade is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 04:48 PM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


The memory that you linked is ECC. Try non-ECC RAM

Go to Crucial website and run memory advisor.

http://www.crucial.com/index.aspx
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 04:53 PM   #5
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 48,893
OS: Win7



They both appear that they should work, but I've run into it before with OEM machines especially Dell and Gateway, Now for that reason I only use Crucial in them > http://www.crucial.com/store/listpar...Media%20Center

If your sure you have them fully seated (don't rely on the clips that they are fully in the socket) then I would return them and get the Crucial sticks.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 01:38 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
OS: XP



Thanks for the input, guys. I'll try some Crucial memory.
__________________
nonegrade is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 01:55 PM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,004
OS: XP Pro-7



You can't beat Crucial for compatibility with OEM units.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts