Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

Fried power supply

This is a discussion on Fried power supply within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Im a little sad, moved to my homecountry of new zealand, unpacked computer and set it up. I think the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2010, 06:39 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 25
OS: Vista


EEK!

Im a little sad, moved to my homecountry of new zealand, unpacked computer and set it up. I think the following equation explains what happened next:

canadian computer + new zealand power outlet - common sense = fried power supply

Anyways, I was wondering where i should buy a new power supply. I'm not sure what kind of motherboard i have but i know these specs:

fsp 300-60(tha) is the model number of the power supply. Im fairly sure the output is 300v

nvidia 9400 1 gb gpu

some form of amd 2.7 ghz processor.


I would give you far more details but i cant turn it on and I've looked all over the inside of it and i saw nothing.

Price low as possible, must ship to new zealand. Thanks for any help!

-Content_Dog

(P.S, it must be compatible with new zealand power outlets. Thanks!)

__________________
Content_dog is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 08:52 PM   #2
Moderator hardware team
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 6,206
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Look for a standard ATX power supply. Buy it local. If your computer case is a small form factor or a mini, compare dimensions with the current one to be sure it will fit.

Quote:
Im fairly sure the output is 300v
That would be 300 watts not 300 volts

__________________
gcavan is offline  
Old 01-01-2011, 08:01 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,353
OS: XP Pro-7



Local shops tend to carry some pretty low quality PSU's. DO you have a place to shop on line?
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 01-01-2011, 04:25 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 25
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by gcavan View Post
That would be 300 watts not 300 volts
thanks, im a total newb with this kind of thing xD
__________________
Content_dog is offline  
Old 01-02-2011, 05:23 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 507
OS: W7 Professional 64bit



Don't know where you moved from but check the PS to make certain that the voltage is set correctly on it. I live in the US and from time to time I see folks with a PS set to 230/240 volts which won't boot and just moving the switch fixes the problem
__________________
rgsalinger is offline  
Old 01-03-2011, 01:15 AM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



nz

http://www.impc.co.nz/products/kt_cm...mpaign=shopbot

it mat be cheaper from australia depends on the shipping cost and exchange rate

http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?...h=354#getprice
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 01-03-2011, 01:24 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 25
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
nz

http://www.impc.co.nz/products/kt_cm...mpaign=shopbot

it mat be cheaper from australia depends on the shipping cost and exchange rate

http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?...h=354#getprice
The problem is, im not sure if i live in rural new zealand or not. I live about 3-5 minutes from hamilton but im fairly sure i still count as rural. Will the australian one ship to my house? I put in my postal code for the shipping estimate and it said 12 dollars which is pretty good.
__________________
Content_dog is offline  
Old 01-03-2011, 07:20 PM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



shipping should not be a problem

the price seems iffy

phone them and check it as it costs me a lot more than that to ship from nsw to wa
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 01-04-2011, 12:40 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 25
OS: Vista


Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
shipping should not be a problem

the price seems iffy

phone them and check it as it costs me a lot more than that to ship from nsw to wa
Alright, im currently looking at buying the australian one. Are you sure it will work with my motherboard? I dont want it to show up for me to find it doesnt work with my motherboard xD

Edit: Turns out that company doesnt ship to new zealand. Looks like im going with the really expensive one :(

Ok, well i bought the new zealand one, should be here in 5ish days. Thanks everyone for the help! I appreciate it.

Thanks again!
Content_dog
__________________
Content_dog is offline  
Old 01-04-2011, 06:58 PM   #10
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



they are the same psu worldwide only the power lead is different

let us know how you go

__________________
dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts