Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

Failing PSU symptoms

This is a discussion on Failing PSU symptoms within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I'm a novice technician and am just wanting to learn more about the wide variety of symptoms of failing

Closed Thread

Old 12-30-2010, 11:03 PM   #1
Registered Member

Hello, I'm a novice technician and am just wanting to learn more about the wide variety of symptoms of failing PSU's. Also, rare symptoms that do not often occur, but can be difficult to diagnose.

I'll begin with my methods of testing a PSU and what I already know (or think I know).

EQUIPMENT:
-I use a simple ATX power tester w/ LCD screen. 24pin capable like the one below.
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/re.../dp/B0017WP5IW
-If it simply doesn't power on at all and it's unclear if it's the PSU or the MB, I just swap it with a new one.

WHAT I KNOW (or think I know) -_O
-Never open the PSU casing unless I am an experienced electrician (I'm not) :(
-Some ATX PSU's will have a LED failure indicator that will illuminate or flash on the back of the PSU when it has failed.
-Swap it with a new one if it's suspected to be faulty or dead
-Use the ATX PSU tester to get a voltage readout for each connector.
**That's about all I know, and I'm not sure if any of that is wrong or not, I've never been taught to properly troubleshoot an ATX PSU, nor do I barely know anything about the electrician's subject and terminologies. Some enlightenment on understanding more about basic entry level electrical information would be of great help**
-I think I know that Wattage = Volts * Amperage. ex:(19V * 3.46a = 65.75W)