Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

emachine EL1358G-51W new power supply without buying new case

This is a discussion on emachine EL1358G-51W new power supply without buying new case within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello and thank you! I found this site because I was researching power supply upgrades for an emachine EL1358G-51W. So


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-22-2011, 09:46 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
OS: win 7



Hello and thank you!

I found this site because I was researching power supply upgrades for an emachine EL1358G-51W. So far, I haven't found any recommendations for a new power supply that don't require purchasing a new case. Can anyone recommend a power supply that doesn't need this step? I've already purchased a new video card, ATI HD 5570, and it works in my husband's computer so we know it's not the card.

Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated!

The power supply in the computer is a Delta DPS-220UB

Thanks!

__________________
Kismetjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 10:33 PM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



delta are low quality

always buy case and psu as separate items


this one is on special and cheaper than the 520w model

Newegg.com - SeaSonic S12II 620 Bronze 620W ATX12V V2.3 / EPS 12V V2.91 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply

__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 07:26 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,587
OS: XP Pro-7



A PSU with sufficient power for a dedicated GPU will not physically fit into your small form factor case. Your I/O plate is also not removable from the case so you would also need to purchase one to match your Mobo.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 08:38 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
OS: win 7



We've never moved a computer's components from one case to another. But we have installed new ram/hdd/and once a new power supply when it went bad.

How hard is it to move to a new case? How do we find the one that's right for what we already have?

Thank you again!!
__________________
Kismetjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 10:18 AM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,587
OS: XP Pro-7



Moving to a new case is not difficult but your I/O plate is not removable so you would need to get one from the PC/Mobo manufacturer.
Make a list-draw a diagram-take pics before moving anything from the old case for reference.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply Connection problem?
I've bought myself a power supply 750w name: Win POWER PLUS OCUK Swift 750W Silent Power Supply I've installed it and it has turned on, but the lights at the front go on and off again. The moniter does not seem to respond. I'm pretty sure I need to connect the 4 pin cable on the motherboard,...
Intoxicateduchi RAM and Power Supply Support 12 04-26-2011 02:44 PM
Basic computer troubleshooting
This is intended to be a cumulative message to help people follow basic troubleshooting and as a reference for other threads. This is NOT the definitive answer, but is a good starting point. Administrators feel free to add/modify as necessary. Note: These are based on the assumption your...
c_robertson Motherboards, Bios & CPU 0 01-18-2011 10:53 AM
No Power to Mobo After Case Switch
I switched computer cases recently for my desktop and since I moved everything into the new case, it will NOT turn on. I have everything hooked up correctly, I checked everything with the manual to the nForce 680i SLI I have. The Power Supply - a OCZ 700W - gets power because I can hear it...
bgallz Motherboards, Bios & CPU 54 01-18-2011 09:00 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 04:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts