Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

Difference between Pc5300 and Pc5400

This is a discussion on Difference between Pc5300 and Pc5400 within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just wanted to know whats the difference between a 667 DDR2 Pc5300 and Pc5400 cuz i'll buy 2 gb


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-26-2007, 06:00 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 21
OS: XP



I just wanted to know whats the difference between a 667 DDR2 Pc5300 and Pc5400 cuz i'll buy 2 gb ram soon of this bus speed. anyone ?=

__________________
Trains is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 06:16 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Terrister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,132
OS: Windows 7 & 8, Mac OS-x



Very little difference. This explains it better than I can.
http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=49992

__________________
Terrister is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 09:58 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 21
OS: XP



do they work as dual channel is one is Pc5300 and the other one is Pc5400? if not, do they work together at all ?
__________________
Trains is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 03:24 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt

Hi,

PC5300 operates at 667 MHz and has a bandwidth of 5333 MB/s. PC5400 operates at 675 MHz and has a bandwidth of 5400 MB/s.

They will only work as a dual channel pair if you have two identical PC5300 DIMMs or two identical PC5400 DIMMs. If you mix the two together, they will likely operate in single channel or possibly the computer will not boot because of incompatibility issues.
__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 11:56 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 21
OS: XP



I bought a 512 ddr2 few months back...how do i find out if it is pc5400 or 5300 ?=S
__________________
Trains is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 02:21 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
MaverickUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cheshire, England.
Posts: 914
OS: XP Home

My System

Send a message via MSN to MaverickUK

There will be a model number on the module, just look it up on google.
__________________
MaverickUK is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 01:49 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt

Also, it will usually tell you either the speed (look for DDR2 667 MHz or DDR2 675 MHz) and/or the bandwidth (look for PC5300 or PC5400) on the sticker.

__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts