Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

Dell Dimension E520 Power Supply Replacement.

This is a discussion on Dell Dimension E520 Power Supply Replacement. within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey Guys, I have a Dell Dimension that is a couple years old. It came with a 305W Power Supply


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-18-2012, 04:03 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 40
OS: 7



Hey Guys, I have a Dell Dimension that is a couple years old. It came with a 305W Power Supply (Model H305N-00). It didn't come with a dedicated graphics card. I recently bought one and installed it. After about 3 months my computer refuse to boot. I get a flashing power light and nothing else. I am thinking about changing the power supply. I was wondering if it's possible to put an upgraded power supply instead of the 305W to compensate for the new Graphics Card. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Andrew

__________________
lornaevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 05:43 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



Is your PC is not a slim case model then you can use a standard ATX PSU.

We need to know the Model Number of the GPU to suggest a suitable PSU.
Hopefully the GPU wasn't damaged from using the underpowered PSU or the PSU failure.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 06:36 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 40
OS: 7


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree
Is your PC is not a slim case model then you can use a standard ATX PSU.

We need to know the Model Number of the GPU to suggest a suitable PSU.
Hopefully the GPU wasn't damaged from using the underpowered PSU or the PSU failure.
It's not a slim case. I don't have the gpu model at hand. I will report back with it later on today.

Thanks for your response.
__________________
lornaevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 12:17 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 40
OS: 7


Ok this seems to be the model that I have.

http://www.msi.com/product/vga/R5450-MD1GD3H-LP.html
__________________
lornaevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 06:54 PM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



550W minimum good quality PSU.
Best bang for buck: Newegg.com - XFX Core Edition PRO550W (P1-550S-XXB9) 550W ATX12V 2.2 & ESP12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply

620W for a few more dollars: Newegg.com - SeaSonic M12II 520 Bronze 520W ATX12V v2.3 / EPS 12V v2.91 SLI Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 05:28 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 40
OS: 7


Thanks for responding. And this will fit my dimension?
__________________
lornaevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 05:29 AM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



That PSU is a standard ATX and should fit in your case with no problems.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 07:18 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 40
OS: 7


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree
That PSU is a standard ATX and should fit in your case with no problems.
Thanks.
__________________
lornaevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 08:52 AM   #9
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



You're welcome.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:02 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 40
OS: 7


Would these work for my case?

http://www.microcenter.com/search/se...l?N=4294966654
__________________
lornaevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:31 AM   #11
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



Are you asking for a recommendation from that source?
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 12:12 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 40
OS: 7


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree
Are you asking for a recommendation from that source?
Yes. That's exactly what I'm asking.
__________________
lornaevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:15 PM   #13
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



There's not much quality to choose from there: Micro Center - Corsair Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650 Watt ATX Power Supply CMPSU-650TXV2

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
usb maximum available power
hi everyone.i would like to order a high capacity "3800mw" wifi adapter that is usb powered.can the usb port supply enough power to feed the adapter without damaging the computer?
normy1430 Other Hardware Support 2 03-20-2012 06:43 PM
BSOD Dell Laptop - Latitude E6510
Windows 7 x64 SP1 laptop. BSOD an various times. Please advice. Enclosed is report. Note: Could not complete "perfmon /report" to generate Performance Monitor Report... According to BlueScreenView by NirSoft: BUG CHECK STRING: DRIVER_VERIFIER_DETECTED_VIOLATION - ntoskrnl.exe...
Allan1702 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 03-20-2012 05:41 AM
HP DV9000 No Power
Have a client who brought me this laptop. It was the power on for 10 seconds then nothing. I swapped motherboards but now the blue light around the dc connector comes on and the light saying the battery is charging is on but nothing happens when I try and power on the laptop! Any ideas?
graystarr Laptop Support 1 03-19-2012 01:29 PM
Dell Inspiron 1300, need help upgrading
Hey guys, I've just bought a Dell Inspiron 1300 with the intentions of upgrading (my first upgrade project). Now to date I've upgraded the RAM from 1gb to 2gb and upgraded to WIN7 from XP. The laptop is still horribly slow, I'm thinking about upgrading the CPU, at present it has Pentium Celeron...
Deerhunter82 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 9 03-19-2012 11:19 AM
Replacing a power supply
So my power supply crapped out today. I'm not too knowledgeable with them so I was looking for some advice. I've got an rosewill rg430-2 and I'm looking for something similar or a little better. Any suggestions?
Partner420 RAM and Power Supply Support 4 03-18-2012 01:32 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts