Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

DDR 400 CL 3 vs DDR 333 CL 2.5

This is a discussion on DDR 400 CL 3 vs DDR 333 CL 2.5 within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Can I add - 2 (1GB), DDR 400 CL 3, 184 pin memory to my desktop which is currently using


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2010, 05:56 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
OS: xp



Can I add - 2 (1GB), DDR 400 CL 3, 184 pin memory to my desktop which is currently using a 512MB, 184-pin, DIMM, DDR333, PC2700m CL 2.5?

__________________
Damita625 is offline  
Old 06-14-2010, 06:10 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,281
OS: XP Pro-7



You can't use DDR RAM on a DDR3 Mobo. Best option for adding RAM is using a matched pair and only those two sticks. Mixing RAM brands/specs very often cause issues.
If we know your PC specs we could advise you.

Prebuilt- Brand Name & Model Number
Custom Build- Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics- PSU

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 06-14-2010, 06:49 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
OS: xp



Here is the specs for my emachine T5026. Thanks.

Specifications
CPU : Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 519
Operates at 3.06GHz
1MB L2 cache and 533MHz FSB
Operating System : Genuine Microsoft® Windows® XP Home
Chipset : Intel® 915GV chipset
Memory : 512MB Dual Channel DDR
Expandable to 4GB
Hard Drive : 160GB Serial ATA 7200rpm, 8MB cache
Optical Drives : DVD±RW, 16x Multi-Format double layer
CD-ROM drive - 48x max write
Media Reader : 8-in-1 digital media manager
Video : Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 900 w/DirectX® 9 support
Up to 224MB shared video memory
Sound : Intel® High Definition 6-channel audio (5.1)
Network : Intel® PRO 10/100Mbps integrated Ethernet
Modem : 56K ITU v.92-ready Fax/Modem
Peripherals : Premium multimedia keyboard, 2-button wheel mouse, amplified stereo speakers
Ports/Other : 7 USB (1 in Media Manager, 2 in front, 4 in back), 3 IEEE 1394 Firewire (2 in front, 1 in back), 1 VGA external connector, 1 serial, 1 parallel, 2 PS/2, 5 audio (2 in front, 3 in back)
__________________
Damita625 is offline  
Old 06-14-2010, 08:08 AM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,281
OS: XP Pro-7



My apologies for misreading your OP. I mistook DDR33 for DDR3!
IF the 3200 stick is compatible and added with the 512MB 333 stick it will run at the 333 speed. Your best option would be to remove the 512MB stick and use the 2X1 GB ddr400 sticks by themselves.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 06-14-2010, 10:38 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
OS: xp



Thnk you. As per CRUCIAL's diagnostics, it is compatible so, I will remove the PC2700 and add the PC3200 instead. :)

__________________
Damita625 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts