Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

Can't wait to put it together

This is a discussion on Can't wait to put it together within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So, having given my dad my old OCZ psu, I ordered this to replace it: PSU And I ordered this


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2009, 03:03 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Hack7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 121
OS: XP pro



So, having given my dad my old OCZ psu, I ordered this to replace it:

PSU

And I ordered this case X-Supra G to replace my monster sized Chieftec.

I still have the same Gigabyte mb with the Athlon 3800+. Hope to upgrade soon probably to an Intel 8500 or 8600 and a new Gigabyte board. I run 2 dvd drives, 2 hard drives, 3 led 120mm fans.

Will this run the new nVidia cards okay like the 260 or 280? If not I will probably just go with a 9800.

__________________
Hack7 is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 03:14 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,230
OS: XP Professional



Nice case and great power supply. If you are going to run a single card in there, this baby should pull most single cards without any problems.

That is my opinion on this issue.

__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 05:20 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 145
OS: MS Windows XP Pro



I agree with tumbleweed,

That is a great power supply brand and plenty of power for sure.
__________________
Moto_Terminator is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 06:07 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Hack7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 121
OS: XP pro



I got it yesterday and hooked it up in my old rig for now. I like it, although, the two molex connectors connected to the floppy line are dead. The floppy plug powers the drive but the othe two won't power the hard drive or fan I hooked them to. I hooked the fan and hd to a different string of molex connectors and they worked. Considering I still have left over connectors I don't need I wasn't going to worry about it. It took a week to get it because of the holidays and I really don't want to ship it back. Shouldn't pose any problems should it?
__________________
Hack7 is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 06:57 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,230
OS: XP Professional



You may want to communicate that to the company and they might be willing to cross ship you one, so you get it before you ship back. I would at least ask.
__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 07:12 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Hack7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 121
OS: XP pro



Thanks. That's a good idea.

__________________
Hack7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts