Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

Are these two memories identical - Kingston KVR vs KTH?

This is a discussion on Are these two memories identical - Kingston KVR vs KTH? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am looking for memory upgrade for hp pavillion dv2415us. Kingston memory selector list very few options, pretty much only


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-25-2010, 12:33 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Win XP



I am looking for memory upgrade for hp pavillion dv2415us.

Kingston memory selector list very few options, pretty much only "KTH-ZD8000A/1G" at 1GB and 533MHz (link 1). But the ZD series are not very common, so I am thinking of buying another one, KVR533D2S4/1G, also from Kingston (2). It has the KVR designation, which probably stands for Kingston Value Ram. But why don't they list this on the website? Is it part of new marketing/rebranding which has not been uploaded to match older laptop models into database yet, or there are any differences between the two? Both appear to be 200pin SO-Dimm, DDR2, 533Mhz, 1Gb models.

Originally, hp came with two 512Mb sticks from Ramaxel.

1. http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/conf...submit1=Search
2. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134007

__________________
Amphibia07 is offline  
Old 09-25-2010, 12:43 PM   #2
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,294
OS: Win7



KVR is Value Ram

KTH is System Specific Memory, meaning it has been tested and guaranteed to work in your system along side the OEM ram.

Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-25-2010, 11:41 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Win XP



Thanks Wrench. I was thinking KTH stands for Kingston Technology, and KVR is simply a rebranding. There are probably more differences. But I am still having second thoughts whether this is simply "testing", and KVR wasn't tested on this particular HP model - which could be more for many reasons, including that these particular model series are not very popular, and Kingston simply didn't test on all older models. Or there could be actual differences in the form of RAM.
__________________
Amphibia07 is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 03:00 AM   #4
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,294
OS: Win7



Ram sticks have micro code to control trimmings, speed and voltages on the KTH sticks it's supposed to be "tuned" to model you have, Because OEM systems do not have the tunable bios settings that retail boards have the ram has to be tuned to a narrower spec.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 06:39 AM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,536
OS: XP Pro-7



The best RAM choice for upgrading OEM PC's is Crucial.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts