Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

Added more Ram - Timings out? HELP!

This is a discussion on Added more Ram - Timings out? HELP! within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, newbie at the memory timings etc so please bare with me, Im trying to get my head round it!


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-22-2011, 05:51 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 15
OS: Vista Home Premium SP2



Hi, newbie at the memory timings etc so please bare with me, Im trying to get my head round it!

Had the following set up but wanted to add another 4gb:

Intel Core2 Quad q8300 @ 2.50ghz 1333.3mhz FSB
Motherboard Asus P5N-D (Latest BIOS revision 1401)
4GB Corsair PC2-6400 CM2X2048-6400C5DHX 1.9v
Windows Vista 64-bit

I purchased what I thought was the same 4GB RAM to add to this. However I seem to have got Corsair CM2X2048-6400C5 (minus the 'DHX' also 1.8v) and it is slightly different, although the timings and frequency should be the same. After adding this, my windows score for RAM decreased to 5.5 from 5.9 and I noticed no performance increase when using multiple programs. I also noticed the frequency should run at 800mhz and timings at 5-5-5-18, I have checked up on this using CPU-Z and found the following:

DRAM Frequency: 400.0mhz
FSB: DRAM: 5:6
CL: 5.0
tRCD: 5
tRP: 5
tRAS: 31
tRC: 22
CR: 2T

Slot #1
2GB DDR2
PC2-6400 (400mhz)
Corsair CM2X2048-6400C5DHX
JEDEC#1
Frequency: 270.0mhz
CL: 4
tRCD: 4
tRP: 4
tRAS: 13
tRC: 15
Voltage 1.80v
JEDEC#2
Frequency: 400.0mhz
CL: 5
tRCD: 5
tRP: 5
tRAS: 18
tRC: 22
Voltage 1.80v

Slot #2
2GB DDR2
PC2-6400 (400mhz)
Corsair CM2X2048-6400C5
JEDEC#1
Frequency: 270.0mhz
CL: 4
tRCD: 4
tRP: 4
tRAS: 13
tRC: 15
Voltage 1.80v
JEDEC#2
Frequency: 400.0mhz
CL: 5
tRCD: 5
tRP: 5
tRAS: 18
tRC: 22
Voltage 1.80v

Slot #3
2GB DDR2
PC2-6400 (400mhz)
Corsair CM2X2048-6400C5DHX
JEDEC#1
Frequency: 270.0mhz
CL: 4
tRCD: 4
tRP: 4
tRAS: 13
tRC: 15
Voltage 1.80v
JEDEC#2
Frequency: 400.0mhz
CL: 5
tRCD: 5
tRP: 5
tRAS: 18
tRC: 22
Voltage 1.80v

Slot #4
2GB DDR2
PC2-6400 (400mhz)
Corsair CM2X2048-6400C5
JEDEC#1
Frequency: 270.0mhz
CL: 4
tRCD: 4
tRP: 4
tRAS: 13
tRC: 15
Voltage 1.80v
JEDEC#2
Frequency: 400.0mhz
CL: 5
tRCD: 5
tRP: 5
tRAS: 18
tRC: 22
Voltage 1.80v

Now, Im pretty baffled. This goes beyond my knowledge. I need help. Do these figures look right? If not, can I adjust the timings and/or the voltage in BIOS so that they run at full potential? Or have I bought the wrong RAM which is pointless?

The system was freezing when I first installed the RAM, but after a fresh install of windows it seems to be stable.

PLEASE HELP!

__________________
nmarshall0 is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 06:01 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,353
OS: XP Pro-7



Mixing RAM often cause problems and filling all the RAM slots can cause problems. No game and very few apps can utilize over 3GB of RAM.
Try using only the two newer sticks to be certain they are OK.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 06:08 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 15
OS: Vista Home Premium SP2


Roll Eyes

Is there that much difference? the frequency, timings, etc etc are all the same just the product code is missing 'DHX' off it whatever that is?

All the timings etc are set to auto in BIOS. Would setting these manually not sort it? If I knew what I was doing I would try it?

Thanks for the reply
__________________
nmarshall0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Computer unbelievably slow, will more RAM fix it?
My computer is extremely, extremely slow, for example opening the Windows Calculator can take 30 or more seconds, so just imagine how slow doing actual work is. When I built the computer I intentionally built it with too little RAM to save money to upgrade it later which I still have never done....
aab1 RAM and Power Supply Support 24 07-01-2011 01:07 AM
[SOLVED] RAM upgrade causes failure to boot with ANY RAM
RAM Failure, Lost Cause? Computer: Dell E521 AMD Athlon 64 Nvidia GeForce 6150LE with ATI Radeon 256MB Video card upgrade. Was running Vista with 1GB ram (2x512MB DDR2) and decided to upgrade to 2GB. Got Kingston 2x1GB DDR2-800 after consulting with Crucial. Tried to upgrade and would not...
aweather RAM and Power Supply Support 12 05-23-2011 12:05 AM
RAM problem : Will this work?
I currently am using a p35 board and running 2 x 1G 800Mhtz, using 2 of 4 ram slots. Now I wish to increase the amount of RAM in my computer. I have 2 questions. 1)Is it ok for me to add 2 X 2G RAM 800Mhtz in the remaining ram slots, ending up with 6G RAM? or 2)must I add 2 x 1G RAM 800MHtz...
KrizQoo RAM and Power Supply Support 2 03-30-2011 06:51 AM
Corsair Ram issues
Hello all. Im new to this site and have been literally trawling the net and a lot of forums looking for anyone with my problems or similar. I feel I have gone as far as I can go with this and it has brought me here. I would be very grateful if I could be advised but I will warn that this may...
sparky05084 RAM and Power Supply Support 4 03-12-2011 06:40 PM
Adding Slightly different RAM
Hi guys, Firstly, the stuff you need to know... Motherboard: Gigabyte EP43-DS3 RAM: 2x1gb of DDR2 Corsair CPU: Intel Quad Core Q6600 @2.4ghz Windows 7 32bit. http://i54.tinypic.com/2ngg1p0.jpg
Jelinski619 RAM and Power Supply Support 8 01-30-2011 01:52 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts