Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Driver Support

wireless adapter not present/unplugged

This is a discussion on wireless adapter not present/unplugged within the Driver Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hello all. newbie here. so far from reading other posts i see many having same issues. like many others i


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-08-2011, 11:00 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
OS: xp sp3



hello all. newbie here. so far from reading other posts i see many having same issues. like many others i too had to restore my acer aspireone model # AOA150..if im looking at the right info under laptop. os is windows xp and service pack 3.

after restoring tofactory settings most isworking fine. right now on internet via ethernet.

my problem is that i cannot get wireless internet going. i have tried to reinstall the atheros driver,which i think is the correct driver for this wireless connection. when i click install get a message "atheros 802.11.a/b/g wireless adapter...device may not be present or could have been ejected/unplugged from the system. insert or reinsert now".

i tried different drivers like from acer website but same results. the device does not show under device manager. been going at it for days. thought id ask for some advice. thanks in advance for any assistance i can get.

__________________
fhorta is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 11:16 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,775
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi and welcome to TSF did you install the chipset first then audio,video,lan,then wif and then any others Acer Support: Downloads & Support Documents - Netbook / Aspire One / AOA150

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 07:10 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
OS: xp sp3



i installed chipset,audio & video & LAN from the acer erecovery folder on desktop. but wouldnt lan alrready ben installed since ethernet connection is working? wehn trying to install camera it asked to insert device. but camera is internal. anyway tried to install atheros wireless lan and got same results..when you say install wifi, is this same as wireless lan? thanks for reply.
__________________
fhorta is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 07:47 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,775
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Yes that is correct,is it still under warranty
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 09:58 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
OS: xp sp3



No. No warranty. Are you thinking wirless card is damaged? Is this card an actual hardware device that van be installed or unplugged? Sorry not very tech savvy.
__________________
fhorta is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 10:06 AM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,775
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi that was my thought but if this is the correct service manual that may not be as simple as I first thought http://www.dalekeller.net/Other/Comp...isassembly.pdf
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 04:36 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
OS: xp sp3



thanks for the manual. don't look easy but seems doable. before taking that route is there some sort of test or something that will let me know that the wirless card is damaged and no other alternative but to swap it out? thanks again.
__________________
fhorta is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 04:59 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
OS: xp sp3



.....also tought idmention that the little wireless indicator light on the bottom right hand side does not turn on; but when i push switch get message that "wilreless lan enabled/disabled". so iguess the switch works, but it doesnt sem to activate or disactivate wirless device..just mention it in case it means something.
__________________
fhorta is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 05:10 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 97
OS: windows xp



Try to re-install the wireless adapter with the help of driver cd or even you can uninstall and then restart the computer and it will install the driver and the adapter automatically.
__________________
hcltouch is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 06:42 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
OS: xp sp3



By wireless adapter you mean the driver or the actual device? I don't have cd nor does laptop have cd or dvd drive. Thanks.
__________________
fhorta is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 08:01 AM   #11
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,775
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi check the service manual and see if there is a FN + F key combo that may switch it on and off
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 10:20 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 97
OS: windows xp



1) Check device manager & expand the option that says network adapters.
2) If you see the option of wireless network card either with a yellow ? or yellow ! mark ? then you need to install device drivers and
3) If you do not find your wireless adapter there then it means that it means your wireless network card has gone bad.

post the results
__________________
hcltouch is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 07:41 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
OS: xp sp3



Yeah as I explained on first post the device does not appear under device manager so I guess this means card is damaged. Being charged $29 for replacement. Is it possible that card became unplugged only maybe if laptop was dropped.
__________________
fhorta is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 08:21 AM   #14
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,775
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi did you look at the service manual ? was it dropped
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 01:57 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
OS: xp sp3



I looked at manual you posted on how to disassemble. I'm being told it was dropped. The system restore fixed most everything. Just having problems with wirless.
__________________
fhorta is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 02:01 PM   #16
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,775
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi do you have a usb wireless dongle you could try out ? if memory serves this machine has a small board for wifi so it could well have been damaged
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 06:25 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
OS: xp sp3



No I don't have on of those dongles. Thinking I will replace card and hopefully fix problem. Ill post results.
__________________
fhorta is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 08:17 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 97
OS: windows xp



The only option left with us is to replace the wireless adapter.Therefore contact your laptop manufac. tech support for options.
__________________
hcltouch is offline  
Old 04-13-2011, 04:43 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
OS: xp sp3



ok. seems getting to talk to computer manufacture will be difficult. laptop is out of warranty and they will not advice. does anyone know how i can go about purchasing a replacement wirless card for laptop? i googled but cant seem to find anything. thanks for the help....
__________________
fhorta is offline  
Old 04-13-2011, 04:58 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
OS: xp sp3



......new info...i was just told by a computer tech that with thiese little acers it has been very common for wirless network to lose configuration after a virus or being dropped. this loss of configuration makes it to where computer will not detect wireless device.......so, does anyone know how to go about reconfiguring wireless network/device...the computer tech lives aboout 2 hours away. hoping i could do this my self with some guidance...thanks again for any help/advice i can get.

__________________
fhorta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless lan adapter - "Media disconnected" [moved from Vista/ Windows 7]
Dear All, I kindly need your support to understand what kind of trouble I'm into. I am not able to connect wifi network on my new HP Probook 4320s (with 802.11 b/g/n standards), running Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit. I found many thread on this forums..applied still and not solved.. I'm using...
sirpavel Networking Support 4 06-14-2011 12:06 PM
[SOLVED] Wireless connection keeps failing repeatedly
Hi i am having problems with my wireless internet. I am using windows 7 64-bit OS and am connected to a WRG614v6 Netgear router. I will be on the internet and will have superb connection then my connection will drop, when i view the network it says that i have lost IPv4 connectivity. Pulling the...
Stimson Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 22 03-24-2011 05:57 PM
[SOLVED] Wireless networks not showing.
I am connect via Ethernet cable, but when I disconnect it, there is a red X on my network icon. The button is "On", and my other computer does get the wireless signal. Microsoft Windows Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. C:\Users\abraham>IPCONFIG/ALL Windows...
pbkrew Networking Support 15 03-22-2011 09:35 AM
can connect dir 615 with adsl modem
hi guys, recently i got a dlink dir 615 router from a friend. i'm using adsl modem now. i want to connect the modem to the router so that i have a wireless at home for my laptop and iphone. i have follow the step in the router manual but it did not work. i just cannot conect to the router page...
agni115 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 15 02-08-2011 10:36 AM
[SOLVED] Internet (Browsing) only works in safe mode
Hi all, Yesterday I picked up a laptop of a friend of mine which had some problems with the Internet connectivity. Turns out, Internet only works when booted in Safe Mode, however, it does ping in Normal Mode so there is connectivity. Tried IE and Firefox, both do not work in Normal Mode and do...
swriezebos Networking Support 2 01-25-2011 07:49 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts