Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Driver Support

[SOLVED] USB driver hangs during installation

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] USB driver hangs during installation within the Driver Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am trying to install a USB driver for a Nord G2 synthesizer. I follow the usual procedure: Plug in


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2010, 11:13 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 93
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate x64



I am trying to install a USB driver for a Nord G2 synthesizer. I follow the usual procedure: Plug in the device, point the installation wizard at the driver files, wait for it to finish.

When I install this driver on one USB port, it works fine. When I install it on another USB port on the same machine, it gets as far as starting to copy a file (ClaviaUSB.sys) into c:\WINDOWS\System32\drivers, and then hangs so badly that I cannot even use ctl-alt-del to get into Task Manager. I have to hard-reset the machine.

The installation doesn't hang if I run it in safe mode, but it results in a driver installation that hangs the machine when I try to use it on that port.

Any idea how I might go about finding the source of the problem?

bump.

__________________
arkoenig is offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 10:44 PM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



see if this throws any light onto the problem

http://www.nordkeyboards.com/downloa...er%20Guide.pdf

__________________
dai is offline  
Old 06-18-2010, 07:48 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 93
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Nope -- all it does is detail exactly the procedure I've been following.

The trouble is that when I do it on one USB port, it works fine; when I do it on another on the same machine, it hangs.

The Nord folks wonder whether some other driver on the same port might be conflicting with it; I wonder how it is possible to determine all the USB drivers installed on a particular port so I might answer that question.
__________________
arkoenig is offline  
Old 06-19-2010, 03:47 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



try a usb reset

in the device manager click on view at the top and in the dropdown
show hidden devices
then uninstall all listed usb items
turn the computer off
unplug usb plugs
reboot twice
replug in the usb plugs
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 06-19-2010, 06:34 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 93
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Do you include "USB Root Hub" entries in that, or just actual devices?
__________________
arkoenig is offline  
Old 06-19-2010, 09:25 AM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



anything that is plugged into usb on the computer
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 06-19-2010, 09:42 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 93
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Thanks for the suggestion. I'm about to go out of town for a while, but will try it when I return.

By the way, what is special about restarting twice?
__________________
arkoenig is offline  
Old 06-19-2010, 08:51 PM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



it clears out what is already there and windows reinstalls the drivers

then it recognises what is plugged in
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-15-2010, 01:03 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 93
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate x64


I have tried uninstalling what USB devices I could find and tried again to reinstall the Clavia driver, with varying degrees of luck. At one point I had it working on two out of the three USB ports on my machine, but in trying to get it working on the third, I seem to have broken it on the other two again :-(

I have no difficulty installing the driver in Windows Safe Mode, but as soon as I try to use the device in normal mode, it hangs the machine so badly that I have to power-cycle it.

I remember seeing that there is a log file somewhere that describes what happens during installation, but I don't remember where that might be.

Is there a way to completely clean out all dregs associated with a particular driver so that I can start again with a clean slate?

A little more information:

After installing the driver in Safe Mode, I rebooted and tried to connect the device to one of the USB ports that had previously had the device successfully installed on it. The machine hung. After I restarted it, the following text had been appended to C:\Windows\setupapi.log:

[2010/07/15 16:57:06 4548.605]
#-198 Command line processed: "C:\WINDOWS\system32\mmc.exe" C:\WINDOWS\system32\devmgmt.msc /s
#-148 Loading coinstaller modules for "Clavia 32-bit USB Driver".
#E360 An unsigned or incorrectly signed file "C:\WINDOWS\system32\CtCoInst.dll" for driver "Clavia 32-bit USB Driver" will be installed (Policy=Ignore). Error 0x800b0100: No signature was present in the subject.
#E360 An unsigned or incorrectly signed file "C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvnusbaudio_coinst.dll" for driver "Clavia 32-bit USB Driver" will be installed (Policy=Ignore). Error 0x800b0100: No signature was present in the subject.
[2010/07/15 16:57:21 4548.609]
#-198 Command line processed: "C:\WINDOWS\system32\mmc.exe" C:\WINDOWS\system32\devmgmt.msc /s
#-148 Loading coinstaller modules for "Clavia 32-bit USB Driver".
#E360 An unsigned or incorrectly signed file "C:\WINDOWS\system32\CtCoInst.dll" for driver "Clavia 32-bit USB Driver" will be installed (Policy=Ignore). Error 0x800b0100: No signature was present in the subject.
#E360 An unsigned or incorrectly signed file "C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvnusbaudio_coinst.dll" for driver "Clavia 32-bit USB Driver" will be installed (Policy=Ignore). Error 0x800b0100: No signature was present in the subject.
[2010/07/15 16:57:44 4548.611]
#-198 Command line processed: "C:\WINDOWS\system32\mmc.exe" C:\WINDOWS\system32\devmgmt.msc /s
#-148 Loading coinstaller modules for "Clavia 32-bit USB Driver".
#E360 An unsigned or incorrectly signed file "C:\WINDOWS\system32\CtCoInst.dll" for driver "Clavia 32-bit USB Driver" will be installed (Policy=Ignore). Error 0x800b0100: No signature was present in the subject.
#E360 An unsigned or incorrectly signed file "C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvnusbaudio_coinst.dll" for driver "Clavia 32-bit USB Driver" will be installed (Policy=Ignore). Error 0x800b0100: No signature was present in the subject.

When it hangs, it is showing a "Found New Hardware Wizard" dialog box saying

Please wait while the wizare installs the software...

Clavia 32-bit USB Driver


ClaviaUSB.sys
To: C:\Windows\System32\drivers

The little "copying files" moving icon is moving.

The moment I select any other icon on the screen with my pointing device, the "copying files" icon stops moving and I can no longer do anything with the keyboard.

I tried installing the device on a USB port that had never been used for any other device, and it hung anyway.

Any suggestions? I would really like to be able to use this device with this laptop.
__________________
arkoenig is offline  
Old 07-15-2010, 10:56 PM   #10
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



try running it in compatibility mode
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 07:02 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 93
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Sorry -- running what in compatibility mode? And how do I do this? This same driver works fine on my desktop machine, and they're both running WIndows XP.
__________________
arkoenig is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 08:20 PM   #12
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



are they both running sp3

http://www.clavia.se/downloads/manua...on%20(eng).pdf
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 08:55 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 93
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Yes. Moreover, the machine that is hanging used to run this driver just fine in the past. What happened was that I plugged the device into a port that did not already have the driver installed, the system tried to autoinstall it, and hung. After that, nothing was quite right.

I am thinking seriously about reinstalling everything from scratch on a clean disk, on the basis that it used to work, something has therefore gotten screwed up, and despite the effort, I may be better off recreating everything than trying to find the problem.

By the way, I cannot run the driver mentioned in the PDF file you mention -- I am using OS 1.62 on my G2, which requires driver 2.14 or 2.16.

One other thought. A copy of the .inf file for the driver appears (on this particular machine) in c:\windows\inf\oem69.inf.

A search through the registry reveals that the name oem69.inf appears a handful of times. Most of those times are in keys with names like HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Class\{4D36E96C-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\001B\InPath.

A quick online search suggests that 4D36E96C-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318 is associated with the Windows HD audio drivers -- why those would be specifically connected with the Nord G2, I don't know.

However, one mention of oem69.inf appears in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet008\Control\Network\{4D36E974-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\{EE55C6C1-7ACD-4627-866C-45BCA9D1EA77}\InPath.

In the Description part of this same key, it says "Symantec Network Security Intermediate Filter Driver."

What I am wondering, therefore, is if Symantec Network Security has somehow gotten tangled up with this particular driver? If so, I wonder whether there is any way of untangling it? What would happen if I were simply to delete this oem69.inf file and the corresponding .pnf file?

Obviously I don't want to try anything that might convert my computer into a doorstop. I suppose I could try uninstalling Norton completely, then seeing if that affects my ability to install this driver.

Your thoughts?
__________________
arkoenig is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 10:54 PM   #14
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



norton is known to cause problems try uninstalling it
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-17-2010, 09:19 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 93
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate x64


I tried completely uninstalling Norton (using the "Norton Removal Tool" -- took about half an hour to run) and then tried installing the driver again.

It hangs the same way it did before. Sigh.

By the way, when it hangs, what happens is that the animated "copying file" icon just keeps going after it says it's going to copy the (tiny) ClaviaUSB.sys file. If I try doing anything on the keyboard, the icon stops moving and the entire maching hangs.

If I have Windows Device Manager open while installing, the point at which it hangs is just after all of the installed drivers vanish from its display and before the new ones are displayed, so the Device Manager window is blank.

I am thinking that something is interfering with information about actions coming from the keyboard -- perhaps an IRQ has gotten messed up or something. Is there any straightforward way of testing that theory?
__________________
arkoenig is offline  
Old 07-17-2010, 08:48 PM   #16
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



see if the mini dumps throws anything useful up

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f217...ns-452654.html
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-17-2010, 10:33 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 93
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate x64



I'm afraid there's no blue screen -- the machine hangs and I have to power-cycle it. Also, I'm running XP SP3, not Vista or Win7.
__________________
arkoenig is offline  
Old 07-18-2010, 12:31 AM   #18
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



as far as i know it is the sane it is the link they gave us for referral

the dumps are located here

C:\Windows\Minidump\Minidump.dmp
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-18-2010, 07:39 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 93
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate x64



There are no recent dumps there -- the last one is from 2009.

My understanding is that these dumps occur only if the system halts with a blue screen, and my system is not halting with a blue screen.
__________________
arkoenig is offline  
Old 07-18-2010, 09:59 AM   #20
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
model
wattage

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them

__________________
dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts