Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Driver Support

[SOLVED] looking for e system 3086 drivers

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] looking for e system 3086 drivers within the Driver Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi all, just had to reinstall windows xp had my pc has lost the sound drive and the display drive,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-09-2009, 11:59 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
OS: windows xp



hi all,
just had to reinstall windows xp had my pc has lost the sound drive and the display drive, anyone got any ideas, thanks

__________________
astra73033 is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 01:24 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,123
OS: Windows



http://support.thetechguys.com/layout.aspx?ID={f5b84604-c746-4a12-a363-a3cb65c2f771}&CatID={1255dbbc-f489-4db3-af22-1a2162f514f9}

These are for a 3086 laptop

__________________
hitech is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 05:46 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
OS: windows xp



many thanks techguys for that link. i've got the displaysorted out but still no sound.loaded in realtek ac97 sound drivers for windows but still no joy. checked the system and it said that there were no drives in the multimedia section, any ideas, many thanks, mick
__________________
astra73033 is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 05:51 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
Can you post all the errors you have in the Device Manager (Click on View>Show Hidden Devices)
Post all the errors you have.
Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 06:48 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
OS: windows xp



hi bill,
all i know is what i can see when i run belarc, i'm a new starter with pc's. the drives it say that are not detected are the network, which i'm not to bothered about as the laptop is wireless and the multi media which i believe is the sound. other than that the laptop seems fine. thanks for your help, mick
__________________
astra73033 is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 06:54 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
We need to know the errors you have in the Device Manager
Go to Start>Right Click on My Computer>Properties>Hardware Tab>Device Manager
A Window will open
At the top of the window you should see "View"
Click on "View" and then click on show HIDDEN DEVICES.

Post what errors you have (yellow ! or Red x)
Especially look at the System Devices, you may see an error for a PCI Device.
Please post the errors you find.

Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 08:37 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
OS: windows xp



hi bill,
this is what has come up under other devices,
audio device on high definition audio bus,
ethernet controller,
modem device on high definition bus and
sm bus controller,
thats all that i can see mate,
thanks for your help,
mick
__________________
astra73033 is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 08:55 AM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,123
OS: Windows



if there are any sound drivers in add/remove programs. uninstall them. reboot and cancel any new hardware found. install the chipset drivers, that will take care of the sm bus controller. then try the sound again.
__________________
hitech is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 11:40 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
OS: windows xp



hi there,
got rid of the realtec ac97 sound drivers and rebooted, no new hardware found. now, for me, the tricky bit, what are the chipset drivers?
i am very limitted with pc's so please make it as easy as possible for me. again many thanks for any help, cheers, mick
__________________
astra73033 is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 12:54 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,123
OS: Windows



Go back to the link I gave you and in downloads you will see chipset. download it and install it. then you can install the sound and what ever you want to download and install.
__________________
hitech is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 02:20 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
I agree with Hitech.
You need to install the Chipset driver first.

This controls (among others) How the rest of the drivers install.

Go to this link:

Drivers


Install the CHIPSET DRIVER first.

Then the Ethernet Controller (Intel® PRO 100/1000 LAN drivers)

You may need this driver UAA:
http://geekswithblogs.net/lorint/arc.../11/81540.aspx
Scroll down to Q888111 and select the proper driver for your OS

Then the Audio Driver: (Realtek AC'97 sound drivers for Windows XP)
Then the Modem Driver: (Agere Systems AC'97 modem driver)

Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 02:47 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
OS: windows xp



hi bill,
did as you asked and still no sound. on the hardware three are still in yellow, audio on high definition audio bus, ethernet controller and modem device on high definition bus, the sm bus controller sorted. i dont know if this has anything to do with it the windows i have put in is the service pack 3. you would have sorted this out by now and it must be frustrating for you knowing that you have a novice trying to do as you say. again many thanks, mick
__________________
astra73033 is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 03:47 AM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi Mick,
Was SP3 downloaded?
I do not install SP3 until I know all the drivers are working correctly.
Are you able to remove SP3?
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/950249

Also these files you are downloading are ZIP files.
Are you EXTRACTING these files to a folder and then running the setup exe file?

Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 02:02 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
OS: windows xp



hi bill,
the sp3 was downloaded and all the drives were working before installing it. the files have been extracted.this is coming up when i try to load intelr pro 100/1000, no intel r pro adapters are present in this computer, cant install drivers. it must be me bill. at least the laptop is working thank to you i can live without the sound. thanks for all your help, mick
__________________
astra73033 is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 02:56 AM   #15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,123
OS: Windows



Hi mick,
If you want to try and get the sound working. since you have sp3 installed, you want to uninstall the drivers but this time install the KB835221.exe in the uaa link that Bill gave you then install your sound.
hitech
__________________
hitech is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 04:33 AM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
Go to the Device Manager
Post what you have in errors (Yellow ! or Red x)
Also on these errors Right Click>Properties>Details Tab
Post the info you see under Device Instance ID for each error.

Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 06:22 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
OS: windows xp



hi bill,
result, the sound is back on. did what you said, got into device manager, found the ones in yellow clicked properties and it said that drivers not installed wouldilike to reinstall so i clicked yes on the audio and bingo. it has give me the same option for the ethernet driver and the modem device on high defination bus. now i am glad where we are now but if i clicked on install for these items would it do any harm to what wehave got? many,many thanks bill for your help, time and patience, take care,mick
__________________
astra73033 is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 06:36 AM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


No, If the driver is not installed it needs to be.
See if XP will find the driver and install it.
Let me know how you make out.
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 08:13 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
OS: windows xp



hi bill,
tried to install but it says that xp can't find them so i think i'll quit with the results we have, thanks again, mick
__________________
astra73033 is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 06:31 PM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


HI,
I do not want you to give up!
If you have errors in the DEVICE MANAGER, you will run into an issue down the road.
I would rather spend the time now to help you.

Go into the Device Manager
Post The errors you have (yellow ! or Red x).
Also on these errors:
Right Click on the error>Properties>Details Tab
Post the info you find under Device Instance ID.

This info will help me help you.
I am going to do my BEST to help you.

I will not be happy unless you are.
I WILL walk you through this!

Thanks,
Bill

Thanks,

__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts