Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Driver Support

[SOLVED] HELP! The driver detected a controller error on \Device\Ide\IdePort2.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] HELP! The driver detected a controller error on \Device\Ide\IdePort2. within the Driver Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Please help, this is driving me crazy!!! I did my first self build as below:- Vista Home Premium Asus P5B-MX/Wi-FI


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2008, 02:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 4
OS: Vista Home Premium SP1



Please help, this is driving me crazy!!!

I did my first self build as below:-
  • Vista Home Premium
  • Asus P5B-MX/Wi-FI
  • C2D E4400
  • 2 x 1gb PC-5300 RAM
  • Samsung SATA Spinpoint 250gb,
  • SATA DVD-RW
  • Arctic
  • Freezer 7 Pro

And every hour or so, usually on Explorer, Vista freezez. The 'busy' vista circle is swirling, window descriptions show "*** is not responding" sometimes the screen fades white.

Then after around 30seconds, every click that was made happens really fast, and everything goes normal again!

When I go into the event viewer, under windows logs > system, I have thousands of the following error messages:-

Log Name: System
Source: atapi
Date: 04/04/2008 20:53:58
Event ID: 11
Task Category: None
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: HomePC
Description:
The driver detected a controller error on \Device\Ide\IdePort2.

Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="atapi" />
<EventID Qualifiers="49156">11</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2008-04-04T19:53:58.055Z" />
<EventRecordID>64307</EventRecordID>
<Channel>System</Channel>
<Computer>HomePC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>\Device\Ide\IdePort2</Data>
<Binary>0000100001000000000000000B0004C004000000850100C00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000005100000</Binary>
</EventData>
</Event>

Before you ask:-

I had a floppy drive which I have disconnected.

I had a seperate graphics card which is now removed (using the onboard GPU - which actually runs Aero!)

I switched the SATA cables from the CD & HD

I changed the RAM from 2x512mb to 2x1gb

System is all at default settings - no OC.

I have updated the drivers for all hardware & software

I have flashed the latest BIOS for the mobo


HELP ME PLEASE!!!

Is it
dodgy MOBO
dodgy SATA cables
dodgy HD
dodgy CD
none of the above?

THANKS for any help....

Adam

__________________
admur is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 03:30 PM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



try moving the hard drive to another port

__________________
dai is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 03:03 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Vista



I had absolutely same problem with my P5B-MX mainboard. "Solution" is to disable Wi-Fi and uninstall drivers for integrated wireless adapter. In other words, you need to use gigabit lan (probably different wi-fi adapter will work, but i'm not 100% sure).
__________________
white.knight is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 05:44 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



check this out
http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?...Language=en-us
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 01:01 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Vista



Note: i don't have Samsung, but WD Caviar 250 GB disk.
__________________
white.knight is offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 11:26 AM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



this is what you listed
Samsung SATA Spinpoint 250gb
what power supply is in it
brand
wattage
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 08:13 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 4
OS: Vista Home Premium SP1



@ dai. Thanks for your feedback, it's me thats the OP, not white knight.

I have the samsung spinpoint 250gb SATA.

The PSU is an ANTEC 400w - brand new about 9months ago.

Is this the problem? is 400w not enough???

I am only running
1 x HD SATA
1 x DVD/RW SATA
1 x PCI-E GFX (ATi Radeon X1600 pro 256gb)
1 x Artic Freezer 7 Pro

I had 1 x floppy, but have removed this since...

Thanks
Adam
__________________
admur is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 08:15 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 4
OS: Vista Home Premium SP1



@ white knight - I will try disabling the wifi adapter, and use a USB wifi adapter instead...

Will let you know if this works...

Cheers
__________________
admur is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 11:00 AM   #9
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



did you check out the asus link about the samsung drive
i would not run a p5 build with less than a quality 550w
pcie min requirements on the 12v line is 26amps
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 07:12 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 4
OS: Vista Home Premium SP1



@dai

Got fed up trying to resolve, got rid of P5B & E4400 and got new P5K & E8200 - all problems gone away with same 400w antec PSU (and it's much faster, OC'd to 450*8 = 4.6ghz...

Happy days!
__________________
admur is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 11:26 AM   #11
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



glad you have it sorted i have had no problems with the p5k

__________________
dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts