Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Driver Support

[SOLVED] Ethernet Error Code 28

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Ethernet Error Code 28 within the Driver Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Afternoon all, I am having problems, big problems, with another computer I have, I have re-installed Windows XP on it


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-04-2009, 06:32 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



Afternoon all,

I am having problems, big problems, with another computer I have, I have re-installed Windows XP on it and now am having problems connecting to the Internet, I think it is down to Code 28 driver not installed on the system (Ethernet Driver). I have been on the Compaq website and downloaded all of the drivers that it says and tried to install them but non of them work. Is there a specific driver that i can download from the compaq site or do you have any other suggestions. Your help would be really appreciated.

System Details:

Compaq Presario S0000 (S5100UK)
System Number: DQ077A
Serial Number: CZB3480937
O/S: Windows XP Professional

Many thanks in advance
Ross

__________________
Ross D is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 06:57 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
Thanks for the PM.

Is this the driver you tried to install?
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/s...os=228&lang=en

Can you post ALL the errors you have in the Device Manager?

Also on these errors:
Enter the Device Manager
Right click on the error>Properties>Details Tab
Post the info you find under Device Instance ID.

Thanks,
Bill

__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 08:10 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



Thanks for the responce,

I am not with the other computer so I cant check it but the link you provided is not one I tried to install I will try it. Although, I dont know if I am installing correctly, I have put all on the drivers I downloaded on the the Hard Disk of the computer but when it says install and then it asks automatically or manually I cannot seem to find them when I try manually. Any help on the please.

Cheers Ross
__________________
Ross D is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 09:51 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



Hi Bob,

I have just installed the link you have posted and that has sorted the problem, thanks so much for your help! :D

Ross
__________________
Ross D is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 05:32 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi Ross,
Glad it has worked out for you

Thanks,
BILL

PS-MY name is BILL, not Bob
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 04:31 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



Sorry Bill, Must not have had my eyes in yesterday

Thanks again.
__________________
Ross D is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 04:46 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


You are welcome Ross

I will close this thread.
If you need it reopened for any reason, just PM me and I will reopen it for you
Thanks,
Bill

__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts