Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Driver Support

[SOLVED] Ethernet controller code 28

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Ethernet controller code 28 within the Driver Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've recently had to fit a new hard drive as my old one died, after the long and boring task


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-20-2007, 12:46 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
OS: xp home



I've recently had to fit a new hard drive as my old one died, after the long and boring task of re-installing all my software and updating drivers etc I'm down to a few last tasks, one of which is trying to get my wireless router working again. Every time I try to connect using it I get the cannot connect to server message and so I'm having to use my old USB modem. When I look in the device manager I noticed that ethernet controller has a yellow thingy next to it and it says that the drivers are not installed code 28.
Help..!!

__________________
roblonsdale is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 08:41 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi Roblonsdale,
Welcome to the forum.
Can you give us the specs of your computer?
Thanks,
Bill

__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 10:24 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
OS: xp home



AMD Athlon XP 2800+ 2.09Ghz 1.00 GB Ram
What else do you need to know?
__________________
roblonsdale is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 07:29 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,298
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


Run the motherboard cd and install all the drivers.
What motherboard do you have?
If this is a brand computer tell us the name and model number
__________________
Would you like to help TSF fight cancer and other diseases???

JOIN TEAM TSF
Doby is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 08:41 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


We need to know if this is a laptop or a PC (I am thinking laptop). Please give us the make model etc. If you are not sue run EVEREST under my sig and post the results.
Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 02:58 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
OS: xp home



It's a desktop - details below.

Mainboard : Leadtek Research Inc. WinFast nVidia CR18D/G
Chipset : nVidia nForce2 Ultra 400
Processor : AMD Athlon XP @ 2083 MHz
Physical Memory : 1024 MB
Video Card : ATI Technologies Inc Radeon 9800 SE (R350)
Hard Disk : Hitachi (250 GB)
DVD-Rom Drive : LITE-ON DVDRW LH-20A1P
DVD-Rom Drive : SAMSUNG DVD-ROM SD-616E
Monitor Type : LL-T17A4-B - 17 inches
Network Card : Nvidia Corp nForce MCP-T Networking Adapter
Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.01.2600 Service Pack 2
DirectX : Version 9.0c
__________________
roblonsdale is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 09:40 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Try this link:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/nforce_udp_winxp_2.45
This is a unified driver for your Chipset : nVidia nForce2 Ultra 400.
Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 04:09 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
OS: xp home



Bill,

All ok now, thanks for your help.

Rob.
__________________
roblonsdale is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 04:57 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi Rob,
Glad to help. Was it the unified driver that worked for you? Just like to know in case other members review the thread.
Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:57 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
OS: xp home



Bill,

Yes it was the unified driver, it also fixed some other problems I was having with sound and stuff.

Thanks again.

Rob.
__________________
roblonsdale is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 03:01 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
OS: winxp



hi i'm also having problems with my code 28.

computer model: hp pavilion m7360n
__________________
vuongch1 is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 03:36 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
OS: xp



hi im having same error code 28 im running windows xp pentium 4 its a desk top
__________________
kimmer1966 is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 02:44 AM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi Vuongch1,
Try reinstall the driver. Here is a link to your divers:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/s...roduct=1818344

I am not sure what driver you are reffering to (Network?)

@Kimmer1966 ,

I need to know the make and model of this computer.
Also is it the Network card you are reffering to?


To both of you, I may move your post to thier own threads so there will be no confusion between you two. I will inform you through a PM if I decide to do this.

Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 02:41 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
OS: XP



Hi i'm having the same problem i'm using desktop pc with model no. P5gz-mx series intel 945gz chipset
and the drivers are marvelll yukun 88e8001/8003/8010 pc1 gigabit ethernet controller.
Help me out with this please......
__________________
ashfaq_haseeb is offline  
Old 03-30-2010, 03:49 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
OS: windows7



hello, i hace D725 emachines laptop, mt problem is i have no network controller driver, can anyone pls help?
__________________
marksasori07 is offline  
Old 03-30-2010, 04:14 AM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


http://www.emachines.com/support/drivers.html
Input the model and OS you have
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 09-11-2010, 03:58 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
OS: windows vista



hi, am having the same problem.

its a netbook dell inspirion 1210, intel atom, windows vista.

i can't seem to find the correct driver on the dell website

__________________
sjlay23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts