Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Driver Support

[SOLVED] audio drivers problem

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] audio drivers problem within the Driver Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, A few days ago I had someone restore my windows xp on my Dell laptop.And yesterday I realised my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-31-2009, 04:45 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Professional SP2



Hello,

A few days ago I had someone restore my windows xp on my Dell laptop.And yesterday I realised my audio drivers are not working.I tryied to install them from my cd,and didn't work.I also tryied to install them directly from the Dell.com site,and still didn't work.I really don't know what else to do.It always appear an error after installing the drivers and restarting the computer.The error says: "this system does not support the driver you are attempting to install".My laptop model is Dell Amd Turion,Inspiron 1501.Could somebody help me with this???Please,for the last 2 days I've been trying to manage this problem in any possible way...but,I have no more ideas!!!PLEASE!

__________________
monicutza is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 05:10 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
Is this the driver you attempted to install?
http://support.dell.com/support/down...&fileid=235761

Have you tried to install the driver manually through the Device Manager?

If you still get the error go to the Device Manager
Right click on the error (Multimedia Controller)>Properties>Details Tab
Post the DEV/VEN Numbers you find under Device Instance ID.
If you have more than one error in the Device Manager post the DEV/VEN numbers for them.

What service pack do you have installed?

Bill

__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 06:29 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Professional SP2



Hi again,

And thanks for your prompt answer.I did all you told me to do and there is no Multimedia Controller in the Device Manager and no error appears there either.The error only appears after I restart my computer.I have service pack 2.Now what ?
__________________
monicutza is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 11:15 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
Can you run Everest under my signature and attach the report to the thread.
Copy and Paste the Report to Notepad and attach it to the thread using Go Advance option.
This report will allow me to "see" what hardware you have.

Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 02:59 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Professional SP2



Thank you very much for your help...I am sending you now the report...hope you will find out which is the problem...and tell me how to fix it.I'm waiting for your replay.
Attached Files
File Type: txt report.txt (141.5 KB, 5 views)
__________________
monicutza is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 03:44 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
Go into your BIOS setup and make sure that ON-Board Audio is Enabled.

Also can I get a screeshot of the Device Manager with ALL the + opened?
Here is how to post a Screenshot:
http://www.techsupportforum.com/cont...icles/151.html
You may have to take a couple of shots.

Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 06:04 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Professional SP2



HI,
I have to tell you that I don't really handle with technical problems on my computer.So somebody helped me to enter BIOS,but we didn't find any ON-Board Audio.Nowhere!
Maybe If you think it has to be there....and if you explain me how to get there...I will find it...otherwise...I think it's not.Anyway,I managed to make the screenshot and now I am sending it to you.But I couldn't send each .bmp file one by one (I think they were too large) and I compressed them.Hope you can open them.Thanks!

Monica
Attached Files
File Type: zip device manager.zip (173.0 KB, 2 views)
__________________
monicutza is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 06:14 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
Go to this site and install the Q888111 driver for XP SP2:
http://geekswithblogs.net/lorint/arc.../11/81540.aspx
(you will have to scroll down the page a little)

Then reinstall this driver:
http://support.dell.com/support/down...&fileid=235761

Hope you will be hearing shortly.
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 07:02 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Professional SP2



Unfortunately,the same error appears after restarting the computer :(
It's driving me crazy...:((
__________________
monicutza is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 07:24 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Starting to drive me crazy too

In the Device Manager under SYSTEMS DEVICES, do you see Microsoft UAA BUS Driver for HD Audio listed (this was the Q888111 driver)?
Is the error under SYSTEMS DEVICES (PCI DEVICE) gone?
Did you reboot the computer after you installed the QB888111 driver?

We need to correct this error, before the Audio driver is installed.

If the UAA driver is installed try this Audio driver:
http://drivers.softpedia.com/progDow...oad-40965.html


As for the BASE System Device error, it should be this driver:
http://support.dell.com/support/down...&fileid=188377

Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 02:17 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Professional SP2



Well,there is no Microsoft UAA Driver under SYSTEM DEVICES and the PCI DEVICE error is still there?What to do now?I am sorry,I only rebooted the computer after I installed both,not after each one.This was a mistake?I tryied later to reinstall them one bu one and reboot after each one.But still not working.As I didn't find that Microsoft UAA in device manager,I didn't correct the error and I didn't install the last 2 things you gave me:
http://drivers.softpedia.com/progDow...oad-40965.html
http://support.dell.com/support/down...&fileid=188377
__________________
monicutza is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 08:59 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
Lets try this UAA Driver:
http://www.mediafire.com/?4ben9zlesng

See if this removes the PCI Device error under System Devices in the Device Manager.

If it does install the Audio Driver:
http://support.dell.com/support/down...&fileid=235761

How did you make out with the Base System Device Error?
Did the card Reader Driver work for this?

Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 03:51 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Professional SP2



I'm sorry.Both PCI Device and Base System Device errors are still there.I guess this driver didn't work either.Do you think the problem could be somewhere else?

Thanks,
Monica
__________________
monicutza is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 06:27 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi Monica,
Try right clicking on the PCI device error and select update, see if xp can find the driver.
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 06:48 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Professional SP2



Great!! Now it disappeard the PCI error.But in the Device Manager beside the Base System Device it appears Modem Device on High Definition Audio Bus.Is this another error or it's a good think?What should I do next.

Monica
__________________
monicutza is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 06:58 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Professional SP2



I did what you said...and next I really don't know what I did...but IT'S WORKING!!!! I finaly can hear something...and this is all thanks to you!!! THANK YOU VERY MUCH. I don't know you but you've been helping me nore than anyone else aroud here...nobody knew what's wrong...I don't know how to thank you...REALLY!

THANKS,
Monica
__________________
monicutza is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 08:31 AM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi Monica,
Glad to hear you can hear again!

For the Modem try this driver:
http://support.dell.com/support/down...&fileid=150083

Let me know if you have any errors left in the Device Manager.

Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 09:14 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Professional SP2



Hi Bill,

This time I have good news.Thanks to the last driver you gave me,I have no more errors in Device Manager.Thank you again for your patience,and for everything you did for me.

Thanks a lot,
Monica
__________________
monicutza is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 04:14 PM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi Monica,
You are the one who has the patients!
I am glad you did not give up on me

Just to let you know the issue was the UAA driver!
This driver needs to be installed FIRST, so that it detects other cards (Sound/Modem). It was not what you were doing, it was just Windows.

I am glad I could help you. You have the patients of a GODDESS!

I hope if you ever run into another issue I hope you post it on the forum.
It does not hurt to browse the forum, you can learn alot!!!!

Thanks,
Bill

PS- you are always welcome to PM me if I miss one of your post!

__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts