Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Driver Support

need help am lost

This is a discussion on need help am lost within the Driver Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. i have an ati radeon 9550 256mb agp and am running micro xp with service pack3 every time i install


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-17-2008, 07:16 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
OS: micro xp sp2


Confused

i have an ati radeon 9550 256mb agp and am running micro xp with service pack3 every time i install a driver it will install no problem but after restart my moniter starts to show different colored lines and outlines of windows can barley make anything out bad then when i remove driver goes back normal cant find anything on it.

__________________
billybob77227 is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 04:18 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
OS: micro xp sp2



my pc is a hp pavillion 750n 2.4 ghz just incase you need it

__________________
billybob77227 is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 06:32 AM   #3
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


which driver are you trying to install video card driver

download this one then...
https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206...2_dd_72271.exe

restart in safe mode by pressing f8 repeatedly
uninstall the driver.

restart install new driver in safe mode
restart 3 rd time and you should be good to go
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 07:54 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
What are the specs of your Power Supply Unit (Watts, Voltages and AMP on the rails)
There is a tag on the PSU that has this info.

As far as drivers, have you tried these:
http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_ca...=xp/radeonx-xp

Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 08:16 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
OS: micro xp sp2


Grin

ok thanx will try ideas get back to you soon
__________________
billybob77227 is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 08:57 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
What are the specs of your Power Supply Unit (Watts, Voltages and AMP on the rails)
There is a tag on the PSU that has this info.
Your PSU may not be powerfull enough to run this card, so this info may help.
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 11:25 AM   #7
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


new link I for that old one that had secrity issues

It was just the page for ATI video card driver driver no the catalyst extras drivers
http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_ca...=xp/radeonx-xp

sorry about that I also got that same security warning you got BCCOMP and I'm using Firefox
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 11:29 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi Mcninjaguy
Not a problem. I have posted the same link to billybob77227 on post #4
Just waiting for a response.
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 11:39 AM   #9
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


ok I guess trying to link just the exe will cause that eh?

I've done that a couple times before and have never had that come up
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 11:54 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
OS: micro xp sp2



ok guys sry forgot all about this site was looking franticly for answers lost track sry umm i had a 250 watt supply at time but i got a new ati x1300 pro and a 350w power supply and should be ariving here in the next few days again very sry for wasting your time thank you very much and as for the other drivers did not work same result
__________________
billybob77227 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 12:11 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


The 350W PSU maybe a little low to run this card.
A PCI-e card needs 26A.
I am not sure of your PSU as you have not given the specs.
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 01:28 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
OS: micro xp sp2



http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...5390&CatId=106 this is power supply....
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...2411&CatId=318 video card hope this helps
__________________
billybob77227 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 01:29 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
OS: micro xp sp2



dont have them here yet should be here anywhere from today to the 30th
__________________
billybob77227 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 01:34 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
This is an AGP card (Not a PCI-e).
The power supply meets the minmum requirements for this card (350W)
I can not say the PSU will not run the card, but it maybe stressing the PSU.
I would have gone with a 450w-500W
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 01:38 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
OS: micro xp sp2



my spending money was minimum and i know is agp that is what my pc suports
__________________
billybob77227 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 01:39 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
OS: micro xp sp2



will it not work or just not run at optimal level with min power?
__________________
billybob77227 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 01:45 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
OS: micro xp sp2



i have a cd writer dvd rom and a 40gig hdd that will be running with it to
__________________
billybob77227 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 01:46 PM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


It may work, but for how long is the question.
Manufactures give you the specs based on the test THEY run.
There is no universal test per say that is required, but you are lucky if they are within 60% of what they post for specs. This is why a QUAILITY PSU is recomended
Chances are this PSU will run your card, but seeing a PSU not only runs the video card (it runs the whole system), a quaility PSU is recommended.

This link may help explain it better:
http://www.techsupportforum.com/f210...on-192217.html
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 01:56 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
OS: micro xp sp2



ok thanks alot bill will be sure to let you know how it all goes if you would like me to but untill then will be awaiting the arival of my vid card and psu again thx and happy holidays
__________________
billybob77227 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 01:57 PM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Let me know how you make out.
Bill

__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts