Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Driver Support

How do I figure out what sound driver I need?

This is a discussion on How do I figure out what sound driver I need? within the Driver Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just had a new motherboard installed but the audio drivers don't work. How can I find out which ones


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2007, 08:20 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 281
OS: Millennium



I just had a new motherboard installed but the audio drivers don't work. How can I find out which ones to install?

Thanks.

__________________
haskellbob is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 09:08 AM   #2
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,200
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


Hello Bob, this thread is better suited for "Driver Support" in the Hardware section, so I've requested that admin move it to that forum.

If you have the driver CD for the motherboard the audio drivers will be on there. If not, list the Make and Model of your motherboard, then we can point you in the right direction for your drivers.

Thanks

mattlock is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 09:09 AM   #3
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,400
OS: Win7-64

My System


Download Everest and go to Computer > Summary > Multimedia > Audio Adapter. The blue link will take you to the latest drivers.

If that doesn't work, go to Computer > Summary > Motherboard Name and we'll try and find the correct sound driver (probably Realtek)
__________________
koala is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 09:26 AM   #4
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,200
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by koala View Post
Download Everest and go to Computer > Summary > Multimedia > Audio Adapter. The blue link will take you to the latest drivers.

If that doesn't work, go to Computer > Summary > Motherboard Name and we'll try and find the correct sound driver (probably Realtek)
Nice Koala! I never thought to use Everest to link OPs to driverloads.
mattlock is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 03:17 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 281
OS: Millennium



The motherboard is
Motherboard ID P4M890-8237A-6A7L8B03C-00. I'm not sure of the maker? Under "name" it says "unknown".

It has a VIA high-definition audio controller.

Let me know if you need more info, and thanks!
__________________
haskellbob is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 09:03 PM   #6
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,200
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


Open up Everset and Click Motherboard, the Chipset and tell us what it says for your Southbridge chipset.
mattlock is offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 04:02 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 281
OS: Millennium



When I click on "Chipset" I get no information at all, and under Computer - Summary - the chipset is described as "Unknown" ????????? What's up with that?
__________________
haskellbob is offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 04:28 AM   #8
Not...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22,264
OS: Xp



Try PC Wizard (in my signature). Press summary.
__________________
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 06:46 AM   #9
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,200
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


Give these a try Bob. They are for the P4M890 with the 8237A southbridge.
Motherboard ID P4M890-8237A-6A7L8B03C-00

http://www.viaarena.com/Driver/a1u680c.zip
mattlock is offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 07:53 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 281
OS: Millennium



I ran the VIA driver package recommended, but got "1628: failed to complete installation" and "sorry, some important files of this package are missed (good English, guys). Please download the package again to contact with the service provider (again). Please press OK to terminate the setup wizard."
__________________
haskellbob is offline  
Old 08-30-2009, 09:45 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
OS: Win XP SP2



Hi,

I realise that this thread is over 2 years old, but I just wanted to say "thank you", especially to koala, because I finally solved my own problem with my built-in audio chip not working, after about 4 weeks and at trying at least 4 other different suggested downloads before I even found this site.

I downloaded Everest - the first suggestion didn't work, but the second one DID - I googled the name of my motherboard and downloaded the drivers from the manufacturer's website. And they finally worked.

I'm a total noob when it comes to hardware, so I was running out of ideas. Once again, thank you.

__________________
djackmanson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[resolved]Continous Crashing
Ok this is my problem: Every once in awhile for no apparent reason my computer completely hardlocks. I've only noticed it when playing online games, but those are all i play. A few times i have got BSOD's like DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL and PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA and another had to do...
smit293 Windows XP Support 19 07-10-2007 11:46 PM
Audigy 2 ZS Problem
Every once in a while, if I'm watching a video, the sound will cut out and be replaced by either a high pitched squeal or dead silence. Also, if I'm playing an mp3 on my computer, it also cuts to silence. If I restart my computer, it's fine, but I'd hate to have to restart my computer every single...
SatanZilla Sound Cards 4 04-11-2007 03:11 PM
What ram to get
Hello I am aiming to upgrade my computer. I have a windows xp SP2. My CPU is a Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.66GHz, My current ram or so it says is 224. I am wanting to go to 1 gig. I would like to know if i can do this and if i can. How do i know what to get. Do I want DDR or what I am really...
Frozencrow RAM and Power Supply Support 23 03-25-2007 05:00 AM
Fatal Error: Installation ended prematurely because of an error
OK, I recently purchased Dawn of War Gold Edition (It contains DoW and Winter Assault). When I tried to install it before it even asked for the CD Key I got this error message: Fatal Error- Installation ended prematurely due to an error. I went on THQ.com No Help! I went to Relic Forums Nothing!...
Chrisafp07 PC Gaming Support 2 10-17-2006 08:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts