Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Driver Support

Getting the correct Wireless Driver.

This is a discussion on Getting the correct Wireless Driver. within the Driver Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello! Thank you for reading this. http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...rs-419050.html I followed those steps all the way until the end. Now I'm confused.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-19-2012, 10:15 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Plorine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
OS: Windows XP



Hello! Thank you for reading this.

How to find drivers I followed those steps all the way until the end. Now I'm confused.

The folder had 3 types of files.
.Inf or something with the DEV and VEN ID wasn't one of them.

I'm going to give all of the information that I can.

I extracted Image - TinyPic - Free Image Hosting, Photo Sharing & Video Hosting .
Here are my specs Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series*-* Compaq Presario C751NR Notebook PC - Product Specifications - c01296384 - HP Business Support Center.

What should I do to proceed?

[ Before today, I was using a wireless adapter that I bought that goes into my USB but it broke. Funny how people only look for fixes when things go wrong. ]

__________________
Plorine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 02:01 AM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Look in the .inf folder and you should see some VEN/DEV listed

Post the hardware id listed from Device Manager.

Quote:
Open the Device Manager
Right Click on the Device in question
Properties
Details Tab

In XP the VEN_ #### and DEV_ #### is located under Device Instance ID
In Vista and Win7 the VEN_ #### and DEV_#### is located under Hardware ID

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 09:05 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Plorine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
OS: Windows XP



I don't understand your directions. I think I already did those things. I opened the device manager, saw what was missing, looked for the driver for it, downloaded what I thought was correct based on the VEN/DEV numbers and didn't see how to implement it.
__________________
Plorine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:50 AM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Can you post the Ven/Dev number from Device Manager and we can see if we can find a working driver.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 12:22 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Plorine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
OS: Windows XP



Ethernet Controller : PCI \ VEN_ 168C DEV_ 001C
What I downloaded : ATHEROS Wireless drivers for Windows AR5006EG for WXP32bit.
__________________
Plorine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 04:16 AM   #6
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


What is listed in Device Manager under network.

If the wireless driver is not loaded it will be under unknown/other devices.

Right-click on the adapter and choose update driver. Point the wizard to the location where the files are extracted.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 09:34 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Plorine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
OS: Windows XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by makinu1der2 View Post

Right-click on the adapter and choose update driver. Point the wizard to the location where the files are extracted.
I followed that and now there's something under Network Adapters.

However, I don't think it worked because I see "no connections found in range."

At one point, the list of local connections appeared and I thought it worked, but now when I try to find network collections, it says no connections found.
__________________
Plorine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 09:45 PM   #8
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Make sure that the wireless is still switched on.

There may be a toggle switch on the front or side or use the Fn key with the corresponding Fkey (maybe fn+F3)
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:10 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Plorine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
OS: Windows XP



Ohhhhh.

You helped me in two ways.

The driver that you showed me how to add works fine, and I now know that the "switch" [button that you press for wireless] doesn't change color. It works, but it stays red the entire time, making it impossible to know if it's on or off unless the list is empty.

:s

I feel silly. They could have at least changed the color or something.

Thank you again, makinu1der2.
__________________
Plorine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:12 PM   #10
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Your Welcome.

Is everything working okay now? Any other issues? All other drivers installed?
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:21 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Plorine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
OS: Windows XP



Uh. Well, since you ask, do you remember the graphics driver you helped me with a while back?

It came with a program that I don't really understand. The program is mostly for settings like screen resolution, color correction, gamma, contrast, and other display settings, but I don't know which settings I should choose. :s

How do you decide?
__________________
Plorine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:25 PM   #12
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


I usually never use it to be honest. As long as the resolution is set to the optimal resolution is good for me.

If there is no need I would bother trying to change the color correction,gamma, or other settings.

But usually the default settings work good.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:32 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Plorine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
OS: Windows XP



Oh, alright. :) I'll leave the settings alone, then.

Hey, I was just looking through Google's results about my switch staying orange/amber and it says that it's supposed to change color. Maybe something happened when the operating system was added or something ; Is there any way to fix that?
__________________
Plorine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:56 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Plorine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
OS: Windows XP



Sorry for double posting. The edit button isn't there atm.

The closest I found to what I'm looking for is this Image - TinyPic - Free Image Hosting, Photo Sharing & Video Hosting

I don't think I'll be able to fix the light myself -- probably need a tech for that or something, so I'll deal with this downloaded program.
__________________
Plorine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:02 PM   #15
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Most likely due to the driver that you are using.

You may be able to install the HP Wireless Assistant to fix the problem.

What version of XP? Home or Pro?
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 02:29 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Plorine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
OS: Windows XP



I downloaded that already. :)
It didn't fix the problem, which is the light, but it shows a notification at the bottom stating if it's on or off.
__________________
Plorine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 06:38 AM   #17
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


I have no other fix for the light.

You could try using other drivers but honestly it's not worth it while everything is working.

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cannot get onto the internet with auto config
I am having a host of problems that just started recently. don't know where to start..so here goes 1. cannot get onto the internet..attached ipconfig/all Microsoft Windows Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. C:\Users\Murielle>sfc /scannow Beginning system...
mrmecki Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 23 03-04-2012 09:10 AM
Steve the Pirate hits a double century
Congratulations:dance:
joeten Comments & Announcements 14 02-26-2012 01:35 PM
PC Stuck in the BIOS
Hello, I have an NVIDIA i695 motherbord, Intell core2 duo, bios= phoenix-AwardBios v6.00pg, etc. The pc will not finish post. The first page displays, and shows the bios version, cpu etc. and recognizes the hdd and dvd drives. "press DEL to enter setup, esc boot menue, alt+f2 AMD flash" are...
michaellbb Motherboards, Bios & CPU 12 02-20-2012 08:52 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts