Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Driver Support

Driver for Canoscan N650U with Vista

This is a discussion on Driver for Canoscan N650U with Vista within the Driver Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am trying to install a Canoscan N650U scanner on a PC running Vista. I cannot find the correct driver


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-07-2009, 08:54 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
OS: Vista



I am trying to install a Canoscan N650U scanner on a PC running Vista. I cannot find the correct driver and one google search pulled up a message saying that there were never any drivers released by Canon for this scanner to run under Vista.

Is this correct? Would any other driver work or is my - otherwise perfectly good - scanner now junk?

I'd be greatulf if anyone can help me on this issue.


Bill

__________________
Bill Sooby is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 02:14 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 630
OS: Windows 95/98se/2000 Pro/XP Home, Pro, or MCE/2003 and 2008 Server Enterprise/7, Debian, Ubuntu

My System


Some people have used the XP driver package unpacked and manually have pointed the OS at the driver and found Vista drivers inside.

__________________
zerofire is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 01:12 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
OS: Vista



Apologies if I am being stupid, but could you explain what you mean by 'unpacked' please (and how I would do it).

Bil
__________________
Bill Sooby is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 09:47 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 51,409
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



ok i checked the cannon site and they don't have vista drivers for that model
http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/co...1&modelid=8008
you could try the xp using cmpatibility mode
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...tibility-mode/
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 07:42 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 630
OS: Windows 95/98se/2000 Pro/XP Home, Pro, or MCE/2003 and 2008 Server Enterprise/7, Debian, Ubuntu

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Sooby View Post
Apologies if I am being stupid, but could you explain what you mean by 'unpacked' please (and how I would do it).
Bil
Most drivers come in a packed form. Most normal manufacturers do an automatic installation. There are some other manufacturers that like to make life more difficult. They will do a packing with the installation and you will have to run the installation yourself after the unpacking is done automatically. The state between the unpacking and the installation is unpacked. The installation will work only for XP but if you manually aim Vista to look for drivers in the unpacked XP driver set then Vista drivers might be found.
__________________
zerofire is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 09:45 PM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



i have he same scanner and ended up putting it on my daughters computer with xp to get it going
no updated drivers with scanners is a regular occurance
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 02:25 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
OS: Vista



All,

I have - after spending a lot of time - got the scanner to work under Vista using a program call VueScan which seems to be able to load its own drivers for old scanners with Vista. Unfortunately, the unregistered version prints a series of dollar signs behind any scanned document. To clear this, you need to register the program. Frankly, I don't think the old scanner is worth $40 - it must be 8 years old or more - and I am not much impressed by Vuescan otherwise (it's OK but nothing to write home about).

The Scangear toolbox utility which came with the scanner originally appears to work under Vista but doesn't recognise that the scanner is attached. Is this because it is looking for a TWAIN driver which is not how Vuescan and its driver works??? (This problem is pushing the limits of my PC knowledge).

What I suppose would be good would be a small utility like Scangear Toolbox which can 'see' the scanner using the Vuescan driver but which is either free or much cheaper than Vuescan. This is assuming I can't get the Scangear toolbox to work, of course.

Any ideas? Thanks for the help so far; it would be a shame to throw in the towel now.

Bill
__________________
Bill Sooby is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 10:39 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
OS: vista



Hi tried this and my scanner now works perfectly under Vista. Download the scanner driver (for Me/2000/XP etc) from www.canon.com.au and extract the zip file.

1/ Click Start, Settings, Control Panel.

2/ Double Click SYSTEM, then click DEVICE MANAGER

3/ Locate a reference to your Scanner under "Other Devices or Imaging Devices.

4/ Double click this reference to the scanner, then click "Update Driver" or "Reinstall driver"

5/ Choose "Search For Driver" then click NEXT

6/ Deselect all boxes EXCEPT "Specify Location" which should remain checked.

7/ In the box below "Specify Location" type: "c:\canonscanner\n650u" and click NEXT to complete the installation process.

Driver installs and scanner should function properly.
__________________
n360 is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 10:47 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
OS: vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Sooby View Post
All,

I have - after spending a lot of time - got the scanner to work under Vista using a program call VueScan which seems to be able to load its own drivers for old scanners with Vista. Unfortunately, the unregistered version prints a series of dollar signs behind any scanned document. To clear this, you need to register the program. Frankly, I don't think the old scanner is worth $40 - it must be 8 years old or more - and I am not much impressed by Vuescan otherwise (it's OK but nothing to write home about).

The Scangear toolbox utility which came with the scanner originally appears to work under Vista but doesn't recognise that the scanner is attached. Is this because it is looking for a TWAIN driver which is not how Vuescan and its driver works??? (This problem is pushing the limits of my PC knowledge).

What I suppose would be good would be a small utility like Scangear Toolbox which can 'see' the scanner using the Vuescan driver but which is either free or much cheaper than Vuescan. This is assuming I can't get the Scangear toolbox to work, of course.

Any ideas? Thanks for the help so far; it would be a shame to throw in the towel now.

Bill
Hi tried this and my scanner now works perfectly under Vista. Download the scanner driver (for Me/2000/XP etc) from www.canon.com.au and extract the zip file.

1/ Click Start, Settings, Control Panel.

2/ Double Click SYSTEM, then click DEVICE MANAGER

3/ Locate a reference to your Scanner under "Other Devices or Imaging Devices.

4/ Double click this reference to the scanner, then click "Update Driver" or "Reinstall driver"

5/ Choose "Search For Driver" then click NEXT

6/ Deselect all boxes EXCEPT "Specify Location" which should remain checked.

7/ In the box below "Specify Location" type: "c:\canonscanner\n650u" and click NEXT to complete the installation process.

Driver installs and scanner should function properly.
__________________
n360 is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 02:32 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
OS: Vista



n360

Many thanks for this. I am away from home (and the scanner) this week but I'll give this a try when I get back and post the outcome.

Bill
__________________
Bill Sooby is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 07:02 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1
OS: vista


Grin

n360

I've joined this forum just to thank you for getting my N650U up and running on Vista, following your instructions here. I downloaded the XP driver(s) from the Canon USA site (one 8Mb package) and after a couple of false starts caused by my own ineptitude it all installed like a miracle. I'm so pleased to have this great little scanner working again. Thank you so much.

__________________
smartsetpix is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts