Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Can't Get Proper Resolution on HP Pavillion or igfxcfg.exe problem?

3K views 3 replies 2 participants last post by  JimE 
#1 · (Edited)
Ok, I am running:
Vista SP2 32bit on a HP Pavillion dv9500 Notebook
Intel Core2 Duo 1.5Ghz
Mobile Intel GM965 Chipset Family with the latest driver:
(26/02/2009-Version: 7.15.10.1666)

My problem is with the resolution and also with the resolutions available
to my laptop now.
Originally I remember being able to use 1400X900 and others, but now
the available resolutions are not like the originals. I can't get the screen to
center and if it does at all I lose the start button and taskbar, which fall beneath the screen.
Is it possible to revert back to some older original driver version?
Also, I am being a noob here, but does the Graphics Properties screen come from the driver? Does it change with drivers? Also, it is a bit flaky as it hangs quite often after changing resolutions for a while and seems to be named "igfxcfg.exe" . I searched this file and found nothing but bogus? sites calling it a virus etc. and offering "tools" to remove it.
I have no idea how to get my screen back to normal.
Thanks!

See less See more
#3 ·
Ok, I located and installed an older version, that most probably was the original version of the driver that came with my laptop. It also doesn't have the resolution that I need, which is 1400 x 900. It is the native resolution and for some reason I can no longer get that. I read that the EDID (?) doesn't read the file properly (or something like that).